SEMA News—October 2016


By SEMA News Editors

Recognizing and Supporting the Industry’s Future

2016 Scholarship
During the 2015 SEMA Show, scholarship winners were introduced at the Student Program Welcome Luncheon.

The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded a total of $168,000 to 61 individuals this year. That includes 50 SEMA scholarships presented to current students and 11 loan-forgiveness awards to employees of SEMA-member companies.

2016 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Award Winners

  • Austin Hiebert, McPherson College Top Student and Jeff Moses-Automotive Restoration Market Organization-ARMO Award
  • Steve Alexander III, Georgia Institute of Technology—Bernie Karp Award
  • David Beahr, West Virginia University
  • Matthew Bisbee, Lake Superior College
  • Joshua Bowman, Pennsylvania State University—Joe Amato Award
  • Michael Bowyer, University of Michigan-Dearborn
  • Skyler Brungardt, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
  • Brenden Bungert, University of Minnesota Duluth—Professional Restylers Organization-PRO Award
  • Spencer Clark, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Gregory Cooke, Georgia Institute of Technology—Bernie Karp Award
  • Ernesto Covarrubias, California State University, Los Angeles—K&N Engineering Award
  • Benjamin Curtis, Clemson University—Wheel & Tire Council-WTC Award
  • Luis de Casenave, University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez
  • Nicholas D’Orazio, Georgia Institute of Technology—Bernie Karp Award
  • Austin Ellis, Colorado School of Mines—Emerging Trends & Technology Network-ETTN Award
  • Dalton Ellis, Aims Community College
  • Logan Farmer, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Matt Fuka, University of North Dakota
  • Lael Gobble, Georgia Institute of Technology—Bernie Karp Award
  • Austin Heinzerling, University of Iowa—Motorsports Parts Manufacturers Council-MPMC Award
  • Ryan Henderson, Pennsylvania State University
  • Benjamin Hoertnagl-Pereira, John Hopkins University
  • Josey Hrbek, Kettering University
  • Almambet Iskakov, Georgia Institute of Technology—Bernie Karp Award
  • Arnav Jain, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Alyssa Kawasaki, California State University, Long Beach—Performance Warehouse Association-PWA Award
  • Conner Knepley, Western Michigan University
  • Caleb Knotts, University of Northwestern Ohio—Joe Hrudka Award
  • Daniel Konzelman, Northwest University
  • Alyson Kuch, Spring Arbor University
  • Adam Lecznar, Kettering University
  • Brian Leung, San Diego City College and University of California, San Diego—Louis L. Borick Award
  • Charles Mancino, Kettering University
  • Gabrielle May, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • Ian McKibben, Savannah College of Art and Design
  • Summer Miller, Brookhaven College—Leo Kagan and SEMA Businesswomen’s Network-SBN Award
  • John Napa, College of Southern Nevada—Melvin Burton Award
  • Jeremy Peterson, University of Wisconsin-Platteville
  • Suong Pham, University of Houston
  • Trevor Sheehan Sr., University of Northwestern Ohio—Dan Borré Award
  • Samuel Shelhoss, Clemson University—Nat Danas Award
  • Sarah Spoto, University of Rochester—Mike Kunzman and Manufacturers Representative Network-MRN Award
  • Spencer Steele, Bradley University—Steve Woomer Award
  • Austyn Sullivan-Watson, University of Idaho—John Menzler and Hot Rod Industry Alliance-HRIA Award
  • Brian Tea, The University of Texas at Austin
  • Alex Van Nest, Clemson University
  • Cora Veltman, Valparaiso University—Wally Parks Award
  • Chase Wilderman, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Adreenah Wynn, University of Florida
  • Bryan Yap, California State University, Long Beach—Thurston Warn Award

2016 SEMA Loan-Forgiveness Award Winners

  • Danielle Campbell, WeatherTech—Trudy Thompson Award
  • Edward Carter, Motor State Distributing
  • Daniel Dokter, General Motors
  • Tate Emerson, A.R.E. Accessories—Harlan Felder and Truck and Off-Road Alliance-TORA Award
  • Collin Gentry, Meyer Distributing—Performance Warehouse Association-PWA Award
  • Robert Haynes, Holley Performance Products—Young Executives Network-YEN Award
  • Robert Martin, Motor State Distributing—Jim A. Borré Award
  • Traci Nigon, QA1 Precision Products—Performance Warehouse Association-PWA Award
  • Michael Robins, Ford Performance Parts
  • Angel Scharklet, Holley Performance Products
  • Heather Wilson, Kahn Media—John Raffa Award

The online application for next year’s awards will be accepted November 1, 2016, through March 1, 2017.

For additional scholarship information, visit

Latest Related News

Women Who Build
April 2023
View Article
2022 SEMA Memorial Scholarship and Loan Forgiveness Award Winners Announced
October 2022
View Article
How to Beware of Ransomware
December 2021
View Article