SEMA News—October 2015


Recognizing and Supporting The Future of The Industry

SEMA Scholarship
Scholarship winners, students and faculty attended a welcome luncheon during the 2014 SEMA Show.

The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund has awarded $150,000 to 58 individuals this year. This includes 45 SEMA scholarships presented to current students, and 13 loan-forgiveness awards presented to employees of SEMA-member companies. On behalf of the industry, we offer congratulations and continued success to the following award winners.

The online application for the 2016 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund will accepted now through April 1, 2016.

To apply or for more information, visit

2015 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Award Winners

  • Tyler Bagby, University of Central Missouri
  • Steven Baltzell, Western Technical College (Jim A. Borré Award)
  • Charles Becker III, University of Northwestern Ohio (Motorsports Parts Manufactures Council (MPMC)–Dan Borré Award)
  • Jordan Belcher, Appalachian State University
  • Matthew Bisbee, Lake Superior College (Top Student Award)
  • Courtney Bisnee, Lake Superior College
  • Skyler Brungardt, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
  • Brenden Bungert, University of Minnesota-Duluth
  • Erik Cahill, California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo (Hot Rod Industry Alliance (HRIA)—John Menzler Memorial Award)
  • Cody Casale, Art Center College of Design (Phil Weiand Award)
  • Trevor Chaney, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Brain Choe, University of Washington-Seattle Campus
  • Joel Cosby, Western Governors University
  • Elijah DeWitt, Iowa Central Community College
  • Nicholas D’Orazio, Georgia Institute of Technology (Bernie Karp Award)
  • Austin Ellis, Colorado School of Mines
  • Elizabeth Ellis, Texas A&M University
  • Almon Evans, University of Northwestern Ohio (Joe Hrudka Award)
  • Logan Farmer, University of Northwestern Ohio (Leo Kagan Award)
  • Lael Gobble, Georgia Institute of Technology (Bernie Karp Award)
  • Austin Hiebert, McPherson College (Automotive Restoration Market Organization (ARMO)–Jeff Moses Award)
  • Cynthia Jones, Tyler Junior College
  • Jeffery Kesterson, Oregon Institute of Technology (Thurston Warn Award)
  • Carl Klamn, Western Governors University (Louis L. Borick Award)
  • Daniel Konzelman, Northwest University (Manufacturers Representative Network (MRN) Award)
  • Bryan Kuhn, Walsh University (Performance Warehouse Association (PWA) Award)
  • Anna Layer, Western Michigan University
  • Kevin Letterman, Stanford University (Louis L. Borick Award)
  • Lillian Macaruso, University of Northwestern Ohio (Leo Kagan Award)
  • Alison Queener, Kettering University
  • Garrett Rider, University of Missouri-Columbia, (Wheel & Tire Council (WTC)–Michael Kunzman Award)
  • Bobby Robertson Jr., McPherson College
  • Robert Rose, University of Northwestern Ohio (Dick Dixon Award)
  • Michael Shinkarenko, Spokane Community College (Steve Woomer Award)
  • Kaylynn Simmons, University of Northwestern Ohio (SEMA Businesswomen’s Network (SBN) Award)
  • Allen-Michael Skowron, Kettering University
  • Sarah Spoto, University of Rochester
  • James Stray, School of Automotive Machinists
  • Patrick Stroupe, Art Center College of Design (Phil Weiand Award)
  • Ryan Talaga, Northwood University (Nat Danas Award)
  • Stephen Toth Jr., Ohio University (Harlan Felder Award)
  • Byron Walker, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Travis Walters, University of Northwest Ohio
  • Thomas Wee, Rosedale Technical Institute (Joseph B. Amato, Sr. Award)
  • Christopher Zendejas, California State University Northridge (K&N Engineering Award)

2015 SEMA Loan Forgiveness Award Winners

  • Robert Baldwin, Motor State Distributing (Performance Warehouse Association (PWA) Award)
  • Benjamin Bosworth, Pratt & Miller Engineering
  • Eric Burnett, Holley Performance Products
  • Andrew Clutter, A.R.E. Accessories, LLC (Truck and Off-Road Alliance (TORA) Award)
  • Calen Cussimanio, Nissan North America
  • Collin Gentry, Meyer Distributing
  • Robert Martin, Motor State Distributing/Lane Automotive (Performance Warehouse Association (PWA) Award)
  • Gregory Masterson, Smart Inc., Chemical Guys (Professional Restylers Organization (PRO) Award)
  • Bryan Newman, Coker Tire (Young Executives Network (YEN) Award)
  • Steven Reini, Pratt & Miller Engineering
  • Michael Robins, Ford Racing/Ford Performance
  • Jessica Smith-Tarry, Summit Racing Equipment
  • Jordan Sneathen, SEMO Classic Mustang Inc. (Wally Parks Award)

The online application for the 2016 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund will accepted now through April 1, 2016.

To apply or for more information, visit

Latest Related News

Women Who Build
April 2023
View Article
2022 SEMA Memorial Scholarship and Loan Forgiveness Award Winners Announced
October 2022
View Article
How to Beware of Ransomware
December 2021
View Article