SEMA News—October 2014


Recognizing and Supporting the Future of the Industry

SEMA President and CEO Chris Kersting posed with students at the Scholarship Winner Pitstop at the 2013 SEMA Show.

SEMA President and CEO Chris Kersting posed with students at the Scholarship Winner Pitstop at the 2013 SEMA Show.

The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund has awarded $152,000 to 61 individuals. The awards include 44 SEMA Scholarships, which are presented to current students, and 17 loan-forgiveness awards presented to employees of SEMA-member companies. In addition, one student was awarded a full-tuition scholarship for the 2014–2015 academic year to Ohio Technical College.

On behalf of the industry, we offer congratulations and continued success!

2014 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Award Winners
  • Tyler W. Bagby, Johnson County Community College
  • Damian T. Begler, School of Automotive Machinists
  • Brandon J. Belcher, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Brenden D. Bungert, University of Minnesota-Duluth
  • Alexis Art Cadiao, Mira Costa College (Steve Woomer Award)
  • Ryan A. Call, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Trevor A. Chaney, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Dalyn M. Cirac, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Austin T. Ellis, Colorado School of Mines
  • Lee S. Engelhardt, Northwood University
  • Sara J. Erhart, Wyoming Technical Institute (SEMA Businesswomen’s Network Award)
  • Chester L. Fisher, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Justin L. Furman, Washtenaw Community College
  • Matthew Fusco, Northwood University
  • Hugo Hernandez, California State University-Northridge (Louis L. Borick Award)
  • Austin W. Hiebert, McPherson College (John Menzler & Hot Rod Industry Alliance Award)
  • Nicholas V. Hines, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Leonard R. Howe, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • SEMA Education InstituteEric A. Jiskra, Eastern Michigan University
  • Jeremy Johnson, Columbus State Community College (Melvin Burton Award)
  • Jeffery Kesterson, Oregon Institute of Technology
  • Thomas C. Klein, University of Northwestern Ohio (Don Turney Award)
  • Mark Lopresto, Cleveland Institute of Art (Harlan Felder Award)
  • Brent Maynard, University of Northwestern Ohio (Motorsports Parts Manufacturers Council Award)
  • Shaun Michael McCarthy, Stanford University
  • Jacob E. Mischel, North Dakota State University-Main Campus
  • Sara E. Mohon, Clemson University
  • Tyler K. Nelson, Brigham Young University-Idaho (Performance Warehouse Association & Truck and Off-Road Alliance Award)
  • Harmon L. Newhouse, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Kaj Niegmann, Georgia Institute of Technology (Bernie Karp Award)
  • Joel R. Ortberg, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Amir Sadeghi Pari, Austin Community College
  • Masey S. Peone, Central Washington University (Thurston Warn Award)
  • Kyle D. Peterson, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Garrett Rider, University of Missouri-Columbia (Mike Kunzman Award)
  • Bobby J. Robertson Jr., McPherson College
  • Juan Rodriguez Jr., Universal Technical Institute-Sacramento
  • Robert S. Rose, University of Northwestern Ohio (Joe Hrudka Award)
  • Mclane T. Rowley, University of Northwestern Ohio (K&N Engineering Award)
  • Paul J. Sakalas, Kent State University (Jeff Moses-Automotive Restoration Market Organization & Manufacturers Representative Network Award)
  • Andrew J. Smallman, Kettering University (Emerging Trends & Technology Network Award)
  • Zachariah J. Sprenger, De Anza College (K&N Engineering Award)
  • Michael C. Sydow, Ferris State University
  • Sarah K. Wilkerson, Santa Barbara City College (Louis L. Borick Award)
2014 SEMA Loan Forgiveness Award Winners
  • SEMA Scholarships Loan Forgiveness ProgramDavid M. Chamberlain, COMP Performance Group/Lunati LLC (Dan Borré Award)
  • Laura M. Conrad, Mitsubishi Motor Sales of America Inc. (Trudy Thompson Award)
  • Michael DiCanzio, Turn 5 Inc.
  • Debra S. Dixon-Coen, Nissan North America (Leo Kagan Award)
  • Kyle J. Fichtner, DEEZEE Manufacturing (Joseph Amato Award)
  • William Filter, Dana Holdings/Spicer
  • Mitchell R. Kaup, BluePrint Engines (Young Executive’s Network)
  • Jennifer LaFever, Roush Yates Racing Engines (Top Student Award)
  • Adam C. Lovelady, Toyota Motor Sales USA
  • Joshua Mishler, Advanced Plating
  • Kelly A. Muldoon, Venchurs Inc.
  • Philip F. Muscat, Pratt & Miller Engineering
  • Thomas Rousseve III, Falken Tire Corp. (JA Borré and Wheel & Tire Council Award)
  • Jordan S. Sneathen, SEMO Classic Mustang Inc.
  • Kirstin E. Stone, Turbosmart USA (Wally Parks Award)
  • Heather Vance, Tenneco (Nat Danas Award)
  • Joshua C. Wang, JE Pistons

The online application for next year’s awards will be accepted November 3, 2014 through March 27, 2015.

For additional information, visit


Latest Related News

How to Beware of Ransomware
December 2021
View Article
2021 SEMA Memorial Scholarship and Loan Forgiveness Award Winners Announced
October 2021
View Article
Letting Go to Get Ahead
August 2021
View Article