SEMA News—February 2011

SPC Sets Example for Effective Political Action

  SEMA News-February 2011-From the Hill-SEMA PAC
SPC Select Committee members were recognized for winning the Council Challenge at the 2010 SEMA Show (from left) James Yim, Chris Vopat, MK Sathya, Famous Rhodes, Brian Reese, Mike Lovro, Tyler Tanaka, Regis Finn, Gigi Ho, Chris Dye, Ed Burgy, Tracie Nuñez, George Ciordas and Malen Reger.
After an exciting competition late last year, the Street Performance Council (SPC) Select Committee earned the distinction of winning the 2010 SEMA Political Action Committee (PAC) Council Challenge. The contest ran between August and October, and the winner was the council Select Committee that was both 100% “PAC approved” and contributed the highest dollar amount.

The process of becoming PAC approved means filling out an authorization form required by federal law. The form allows SEMA to share information about the PAC. By filling out a form that may be accessed from the newly formatted SEMA PAC website members are only authorizing SEMA to communicate information regarding the PAC. Members are under no obligation to contribute.

To recognize the victory, SPC received $1,000 to be used toward a council activity of its choice, an acknowledgement banner displayed in the Central Hall at the 2010 SEMA Show and reserved seating and a special announcement at the SEMA Show Industry Awards Banquet. At the SPC Reception, Select Committee members were personally commended for their leadership and teamwork as PAC Chairman Doug Evans presented SPC Chairwoman Tracie Nuñez with a plaque commemorating the group’s Council Challenge success.

“I am honored to accept this award on SPC’s behalf in recognition of our commitment to SEMA PAC,” said Nuñez. “I hope this encourages fellow council leaders and all SEMA members to become involved in this important industry resource.”


SEMA News Sponsor

 Official SEMA Political Action Committee Logo
Street Performance Council Select Committee Members
  • Tracie Nuñez, Advanced Clutch Technology (Chairwoman)
  • Tyler Tanaka, Cie Studios (Chair-Elect)
  • Ed Burgy
  • George Ciordas, KW Automotive North America
  • Baadal Deliwala, Titan Motorsports Inc.
  • Chris Dye, Club RSX
  • Regis Finn, B&M Racing and Performance Products
  • Gigi Ho, Digital Performance Inc.
  • Mike Lovro, Auto Meter Products
  • Oliver Rathlein, Eibach Springs Inc.
  • Albert Reda, Vibrant Performance
  • Brian Reese, Competition Cams
  • Malen Reger, FND Clothing
  • Famous Rhodes, eBay Inc.
  • MK Sathya, Keystone Automotive Operations
  • Chris Vopat, ProMedia LLC
  • James Yim, Falken Tire
  • Chris Thomson, Airaid Premium Filter Co. (SEMA Board of Directors Liaison) 
Said Evans: “We are proud of all the SEMA councils that participated in this contest, which yielded significant member awareness of our efforts in Washington and additional financial contributions to our industry’s PAC. With the momentum created by the Council Challenge, SEMA PAC can continue to build and strengthen relationships with lawmakers supportive of our industry and small-business issues. With its exceptional effort, the SPC Select Committee exemplified the involvement and dedication necessary for us to thrive in this current economic and legislative environment.”

SEMA PAC allows SEMA members to pool their resources for a common political purpose. Many issues important to SEMA members are being debated in Washington—from regulatory reform to intellectual property protection and health care. Resolving these issues with a positive outcome for the industry hinges on member support. To learn more about SEMA PAC or to become involved today, please visit or contact Congressional Affairs Manager Dan Sadowski at

SEMA PAC—Your Industry. Your Voice. Your Future.

Latest Related News

From The Hill
February 2024
View Article
From The Hill
The Battle to Save Oceano Dunes Continues
April 2023
View Article
From The Hill
Rep. Brad Schneider Visits HP Tuners
February 2023
View Article