SEMA Member News - November/December 2009

Young Executive Network to Honor Industry Leaders at Annual Reception


The winner of the 2008 Young Executive of the Year Award, Tim Watts of Superlift Suspension, was the first YEN select committee member to be elected to the SEMA Board of Directors. 

The annual Young Executives Network (YEN) reception will be held on Tuesday, November 4, from 5:00 p.m.–7:30 p.m. during the 2009 SEMA Show. The reception affords attendees the opportunity to network with industry leaders, including members of the SEMA Board of Directors and SEMA staff.

The YEN Reception has become a must-attend event at the SEMA Show,” said Chairman Greg Parker. “As with all YEN events, the reception will provide a great opportunity for members to network and establish valuable industry contacts.”

The recipient of the 2009 Young Executive of the Year award will be announced at the reception. The YEN Young Executive of the Year Award is presented to an individual who has had a positive impact on the industry. The recipient of the award must be a member of YEN and have demonstrated exceptional service, integrity, professional growth and business ethics throughout the last 12 months. The honoree also must have demonstrated exemplary performance and/or provided growth for his/her company or industry through his/her actions, visions and/or contributions for the present and future.

Being honored with YEN’s Young Executive of the Year award was one of the highlights of my career,” said 2008 winner Tim Watts. “The fact that the award is voted on by your peers makes it even that much more special. Becoming involved with YEN helped give me the jumpstart I needed to reach further than I ever planned. I wanted to become involved with the industry, make a positive impact and network with other like-minded people—YEN allowed me to do just that. I have no doubt that I would not be a sitting member of the SEMA Board of Directors today if I had not taken that first step of becoming involved with YEN. Don’t miss the opportunity to grow professionally and personally. Take that first step today.”

Van Woodell (center) of Weathers Auto Supply was recognized for his contributions to the industry with a 2008 YEN Vanguard Award.
The YEN Vanguard Award will also be presented at the reception. It is bestowed on an individual, business, organization or sanctioning body that has influenced the professional growth and/or cultivation of talent for young executives through its actions, mentoring, visions and/or contributions for the past, present and future. The honoree must be a current or past member of SEMA (no age requirement) and must have demonstrated exceptional service, integrity and business ethics.

For more information on the YEN reception and awards, contact Jason Tolleson.

Previous Honorees 
Young Executive of the Year Award

2008 - Tim Watts
2007 - Jason Bruce
2006 - John Cobb and Nick Gramelspacher    

Jeep Worthan of Auto Meter Products was also honored with a Vanguard Award. Worthan as elected to the SEMA Hall of Fame in 2009.  

2005 - Laurel Dasher
2004 - David Crockett
2003 - Kelli Willmore
2002 - Tammy Holland
2001 - Rich Barsamian
2000 - Doug Frymer
1999 - Scott Lazarus
1998 - Cory Watkins
1997 - Fred Show
1996 - Alan Budnik
1995 - David Stutts
1994 - Wade Kawasaki
1993 - Camee Edelbrock 

Vanguard Award

2008 - Van Woodell and Jeep Worthan
2007 - Rick Rollins
2006 - Paul “Scooter” Brothers
2005 - Mickey Thompson




Latest Related News

Member News
SEMA Member News
April 2023
View Article
Member News
SEMA Member News
January 2023
View Article
Member News
SEMA Member News
October 2022
View Article