People Places & Racing News

Racing News: 1963 Indianapolis 500 Winner Parnelli Jones, 90

By SEMA News Editors

1963 Indianapolis 500 Winner Parnelli Jones, 90
Parnelli Jones

Parnelli Jones, the 1963 Indianapolis 500 winner and accomplished racer across many disciplines, has passed away. He was 90.

Born Rufus Parnell Jones, he was the first driver to qualify for the Indianapolis 500 at an average speed faster than 150 mph, setting track records in 1962 and 1963. After retiring from racing, Jones fielded a team with longtime business partner Vel Miletich, winning the "500" in 1970 and 1971. The team also made ventures into Formula 1 and SCCA.

Additionally, Jones ran in the USAC Stock Car Championship for Bill Stroppe's Mercury team, and later teamed up with Stroppe to score five major off-road wins in the famed "Big Oly" Ford Bronco.

He is a member of the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Hall of Fame, the National Motorsports Hall of Fame and both the National Sprint Car and National Midget Halls of Fame.

To read more about Jones' life and career, visit

FIA Releases New Details of 2026 Formula 1 Regulations

The FIA, based in Paris, France, has released new details regarding the updated regulations for the 2026 Formula 1 World Championship.

Developed in partnership with the FIA Formula 1 Technical Working Groups and Formula 1 management, teams, power-unit manufacturers and others, the new regulations aim to produce smaller and lighter cars than the current generation and include all-new active aerodynamics systems.

The system, involving movable front and rear wings, will feature high-downforce and low-drag configurations used to improve corner and straight-line speeds.

For a detailed look at the new rules, visit

World of Outlaws Docu-Special to Air on CBS
World of Outlaws

A new one-hour special highlighting the World of Outlaws will air on CBS on Sunday, June 9 at 12:30 p.m. EDT.

The documentary-style show, World of Outlaws: The Dirt Road to Stardom, will highlight the World of Outlaws ladder system, ranging from dirt midgets to 410 sprint cars, with a focus on the NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car Series and the Xtreme Outlaw Midget Series.

The special will showcase stars from both series, including 10-time World of Outlaws champion Donny Schatz, current points leader David Gravel, Buddy Kofoid, Cannon McIntosh, Ryan Timms and more.

CBS Sports Network will also broadcast a slate of World of Outlaws NOS Energy Drink Sprint Car, World of Outlaws CASE Construction Equipment Late Model and Xtreme Outlaw Midget Series races from throughout the 2024 season, presented in a half-hour special, beginning on Sunday, June 23, with the Late Model Dairyland Showdown.

For more information, visit

Got racing industry news? Releasing a new product? Contact