People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Over $30K Up for Grabs in Hot Shot's Secret NTPA Challenge

Hot Shot's Secret Expands NTPA Sponsorship for 2023

Hot Shot's SecretHot Shot's Secret has announced an expansion of its National Tractor Pullers Association Championship Pulling Series sponsorship for 2023. The new accord establishes a six-event bonus series and point fund titled the Hot Shot's Secret Challenge. This points challenge will provide a payout in excess of $30,000 to the top three-point earners per division. The challenge is open to Grand National competitors in all 13 premier-level divisions.

All divisions that appear at each qualified event are participating in the program. This challenge establishes a four-hook series for Light Modifieds, a six-hook series for two divisions (Light Super Stock and Super Semi), an eight-hook series for seven divisions (Super Stock Open, Super Farm, Pro Stock, Four Wheel Drive, Super Stock Diesel 4x4, Modified, and Unlimited), a 10-hook series for two divisions (Super Stock Diesel, Two Wheel Drive) and a 12-hook series for Modified Minis.

To be eligible for a payout, a vehicle must be registered for the 2023 Grand National series and also prominently display Hot Shot's Secret point fund decals on both sides of the participating vehicle.

Locations for the 2023 Hot Shot's Secret Challenge include the Farley Nationals in Farley, Iowa (June 9-10); the Budweiser Dairyland Super Nationals in Tomah, Wisconsin (June 22-24); the Lions Super Pull of the South in Chapel Hill, Tennessee (July 21-22); the Fort Recovery Grand Nationals in Fort Recovery, Ohio (July 28-29); the North Iowa Nationals in Rockwell, Iowa (August 3-5); and concluding at the National Tractor Pulling Championships in Bowling Green, Ohio (August 17-19).

Additionally for 2023, Hot Shot's Secret will be the prime sponsor of five "Hot Shot's Secret Spotlight" segments to appear during NTPA's weekly "Championship Pulling" television show on RFD-TV. The company will maintain its visibility in trackside signage, public address announcements, and in graphics that will appear on NTPA's official mobile videoboard.

Prock, Hight, Kramer and Herrera Pick Up Wins at Circle K NHRA Four-Wide Nationals

John Force Racing swept the nitro classes last Sunday at zMAX Dragway, as Austin Prock and Robert Hight rolled to wins in Top Fuel and Funny Car, respectively, at the Circle K NHRA Four-Wide Nationals. Deric Kramer (Pro Stock) and Gaige Herrera (Pro Stock Motorcycle) also won the fifth of 21 races during the 2023 NHRA Camping World Drag Racing Series season.

In the Top Fuel final quad, Prock went 3.684 seconds at 330.88 mph in his 11,000hp Montana Brands/Rocky Mountain Twist dragster, beating a group that also included points leader Steve Torrence, Josh Hart and Leah Pruett. He finished first in all three quads, posting a 3.686 in the opening quad and then making the quickest run of eliminations in the final round. Pruett finished as the runner-up with her run of 3.708 at 329.99, with Hart taking third. Torrence maintains his points lead in the class.

In Funny Car, Hight powered to a 3.888 at 328.30 in his 11,000hp Flav-R-Pac Chevrolet Camaro SS to beat John Force, defending world champ Ron Capps and Alexis DeJoria. The multi-time champ and his team rolled to the win in every quad as he collected his 63rd career Wally. DeJoria finished as the runner-up as she continued her solid season, while Capps was third. Despite a first-round exit, Hagan maintained the points lead in Funny Car over DeJoria.

Kramer drove to his first win in nearly four years by going 6.555 at 208.88 in his Get BioFuel Chevrolet Camaro in the championship round. Kramer ousted the likes of points leader Dallas Glenn, who was after his third straight win, No. 1 qualifier Matt Hartford and Fernando Cuadra Jr. to earn his fifth career victory.

In Pro Stock Motorcycle, Herrera stayed perfect, breaking the track E.T. record with a run of 6.710 at 202.00 in the final round on his Vance & Hines/Mission Foods Suzuki. After qualifying No. 1 for the second straight race, Herrera made the quickest run in two of the three rounds on Sunday, defeating teammate Eddie Krawiec, defending world champ Matt Smith and defending event winner Steve Johnson. Herrera finished first in both quads heading into the final and then ran away from his competition in the final round, posting a .013 reaction time and making the quickest PSM run at zMAX Dragway.

The NHRA Camping World Drag Racing Series returns to action May 19-21 with the Gerber Collision & Glass Route 66 NHRA Nationals presented by PEAK Performance at Route 66 Raceway in Chicago.

Candidates Named for 2024-2025 IMSA Diverse Driver Development Scholarship

Officials with IMSA have announced the finalists for the 2024-2025 IMSA Diverse Driver Development Scholarship. The recipient, to be named later this year, will receive benefits worth more than $250,000 to assist them in competing in one of three IMSA-sanctioned series during the 2024 season.

Over the next few months, the 10 selected candidates will participate in a series of learning modules to bolster their off-track skills and assist them in approaching teams and submitting their final business plans. The 2024-2025 scholarship recipient will be announced in the fall.

The list of candidates for the third annual IMSA Diverse Driver Development Scholarship consists of eight men and two women, and four of the candidates were finalists in past years. The candidates are Antonio Abrom (21; Winston, Georgia); Andrea Castro (24; New York, New York); Sabre Cook* (28; Carmel, Indiana); Ken Fukuda (35; Beacon, New York); Heather Hadley (21; Sherrills Ford, North Carolina); Bryson Lew* (20; Salt Lake City, Utah); Kyle Loh* (24; San Jose, California); Baley Monette (27; Alpharetta, Georgia); Brad Perez* (26; Kannapolis, North Carolina); and Westin Workman (18; Charlotte, North Carolina). [An asterisk (*) indicates a finalist in a previous year.]

For more racing news, visit Performance Racing Industry’s (PRI) website.