People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Hot Shot's Secret-Sponsored Firepunk Diesel S10 Becomes First-Ever Diesel to Achieve 3-Second Pass


Compiled by SEMA Editors

L–R: Cody Fischer, Larson Miller, Lavon Miller and son Braxton, Lyn

Hot Shot’s Secret-Sponsored Firepunk Diesel S10 Becomes the First-Ever Diesel to Achieve a 3-Second Pass

The Hot Shot’s Secret-sponsored Firepunk Diesel S10 truck added a new chapter to the drag-racing history books by being the first ever diesel-powered vehicle to run an 1/8th-mile pass in less than four seconds. Based out of Ohio, the Firepunk Diesel team brought the Hot Shot’s Secret-wrapped S10 to Georgia to compete on Lights Out 12 at South Georgia Motorsports Park, where participants raced for more than $120,000 in cash and prizes. Larson Miller from Firepunk Diesel was behind the wheel of the only diesel-powered vehicle in the Radial vs. The World Class. The Hot Shot's Secret-sponsored Firepunk Diesel S10 achieved the world’s first-ever three-second diesel pass with a time of 3.998 seconds at 182.67 mph. Click here for video footage of the record-breaking win.

CMS Announces 30% Capacity For Coca-Cola 600

North Carolina Governor Roy Cooper and state health officials have announced a plan to allow outdoor sports venues, including Charlotte Motor Speedway, to host events with fans up to 30% of their capacity. The announcement paves the way for a limited number of fans to be part of the action when NASCAR returns to the track for the first-ever tripleheader weekend–featuring the North Carolina Education Lottery 200, Alsco Uniforms 300, and the 62nd running of the Coca-Cola 600–at Charlotte Motor Speedway, May 28–30. The track will require health and safety protocols similar to those used during its Bank of Ameria ROVAL 400 event last fall, including mask requirements, cashless transactions and social distancing. For more information and tickets, visit

Michelle Lackey Maynor
Michelle Lackey Maynor

Alaska Raceway Park Names New President

Michelle Lackey Maynor has been promoted to president and majority owner of Alaska Raceway Park. Her promotion comes as current owners Karen and Earl Lackey transition to advisory roles. As president, Lackey Maynor will be responsible for all aspects of track operation for the NHRA- and NASCAR-sanctioned motorsports facility. In addition to running day-to-day operations, her duties include facility growth, event management, marketing and promotions, staffing, sponsorships, and community relations. Lackey Maynor has served as the operations manager of the motorsports facility in Palmer, Alaska, since 2016. She has worked in many different capacities at the track since joining in 1997.

Ferrari Commits to FIA WEC With New Hypercar

Ferrari has confirmed that it will enter the FIA World Endurance Championship’s new Hypercar category in 2023. The Italian automaker will return to the top class of endurance racing for the first time since 1973 and join the likes of Toyota, Glickenhaus, Peugeot, Porsche and Audi, which have all committed to the Hypercar category. The new-for-2021 Hypercar category is where teams and drivers can compete for overall championship victory in the FIA WEC and at the 24 Hours of Le Mans.

NHRA, Mattel Partner in the Fast Lane With Hot Wheels

NHRA and Mattel have announced their licensing partnership to develop collectible die-cast vehicles under the Hot Wheels brand, hitting stores in June. The new partnership will see die-cast versions of classic hot rods, including a ’74 Chevrolet Vega Pro Stock car and a ’71 Ford Mustang Funny Car. NHRA fans young and old can host their own drag races in living rooms across the world.

LIQUI MOLY Announced as Presenting Sponsor of the 9th Annual PASMAG Tuner Battlegrounds Championship

LIQUI MOLY will be the presenting sponsor for the ninth annual championship of PASMAG’s Tuner Battlegrounds (TBG). PASMAG's Tuner Battlegrounds is an online bracket-style tournament where automotive enthusiasts compete with their modified cars and trucks and vote for their favorite modified vehicles and builders. Featured at more than 30 in-person events each year, with winners receiving a print-feature, the annual championship culminates with the champion receiving the ultimate award: the front-cover of PASMAG. Competitors and voters also receive giveaways and awards from sponsors throughout the year.

For more racing news, visit Performance Racing Industry’s (PRI) website.