People Places & Racing News

Racing News: James Deane Wins Formula DRIFT St. Louis Round, Alec Robbins Wins PRO 2

Compiled by SEMA Editors

Formula DriftJames Deane defeated Fredric Aasbo in the Formula DRIFT PRO Championship in St. Louis.

James Deane Wins Formula DRIFT St. Louis Round, Alec Robbins Wins PRO 2

James Deane faced Fredric Aasbo in the 2019 Formula DRIFT Black Magic PRO Championship at the World Wide Technology Raceway in St. Louis last weekend. Deane led the first run, drifting close to the wall in the transition and giving Aasbo a serious workout. However, Aasbo remained in close proximity throughout. On the second run, Aasbo’s lines weren’t as deep, but Deane didn’t have the same proximity as his rival. However, Deane won with a split decision and jumped to the top of the 2019 Formula DRIFT Black Magic PRO Championship by a single point.

In the PRO 2 Final, Jorn Charpentier’s green/black E46 BMW lined up alongside the red/white 350Z of Alec Robbins. With Robbins leading the first run, both would make small mistakes and the BMW was forced to make several corrections to catch Robbins. On the second run, with Charpentier in the lead, the two drivers again had flawed runs but Robbins was judged to have superior proximity and took the round win, leapfrogging him up the 2019 Formula DRIFT Link ECU PRO2 Championship table into fifth place. Charpentier is now in second place, just five points behind Championship leader Trenton Beechum.

The 2019 Formula DRIFT series continues on September 12–14 at Texas Motor Speedway in Fort Worth, Texas, for the Advance Auto Parts Showdown presented by Rain-X. It will be the seventh and penultimate round of the Formula DRIFT Black Magic PRO Championship as well as the fourth and final round of the Formula DRIFT Link ECU PRO2 Championship. Visit the Formula DRIFT website for complete event results and more information.

Jr. Dragster
Madison Smith was the Summit Racing Equipment 7.90 class winner.

Winners Crowned at Second Annual American Jr. Dragster Challenge

The second annual American Jr. Dragster Challenge presented by Capco Contractors wrapped up last Saturday with winners in four categories crowned after a day of eliminations. The Texas Motorplex once again played host to the event, which benefitted Children’s Health hospital in Dallas. During the race, Texas Motorplex General Manager Andy Carter and Sales Director Terry Smith presented Kyra Barnett from Children’s Health a check for $1,500 and a commemorative event racing helmet.

The category winners included Summit Racing Equipment 7.90 class winner Madison Smith and runner-up Conner Rivers. The Lucas Oil 8.90 class winner was Brody Tigue, who outlasted Grant Wiley in the final. Tyler Janousek took top honors in the Snap-on Tools 11.90/13.90 class over Caden Keys. Finally, in the Valvoline Instant Oil Changer All Run class, Trent Augustyn defeated Braden Bettis to get the win.

Permatex Sponsors StarCom Racing Team at NASCAR 2019 Bristol Night Race

Permatex will sponsor the StarCom Racing Team at the 2019 Bass Pro Shops NRA Night Race at Bristol Motor Speedway on August 17. The race represents Permatex’s second sponsorship of the season for StarCom’s 00 Camaro and driver Landon Cassill in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series. Permatex kicked off the racing season with a corporate sponsorship of StarCom in the Daytona 500.

For more racing news, visit Performance Racing Industry’s (PRI) website.