People Places & Racing News

Racing News: 14th Annual Nitto Tire NMRA/NMCA Super Bowl of Street-Legal Drag Racing Results

Compiled by SEMA Editors

Don Walsh Jr. in his Corvette pulled off the win with a 3.72 over Randy Adler, who was not far behind with a 3.77 in his Bel Air.

NMRA Race Wrap: 14th Annual Nitto Tire NMRA/NMCA Super Bowl of Street-Legal Drag Racing Presented by FST Carburetors

NMCA and NMRA drivers teamed up to put down twice as much power in the Prairie State for the 14th Annual Nitto NMRA/NMCA Super Bowl of Street Legal Drag Racing presented by FST Carburetors, July 25–28 at Route 66 Raceway in Joliet, Illinois.

VP Racing Fuels Xtreme Pro Mod: Don Walsh Jr. in his Corvette pulled off the win with a 3.72 over Randy Adler, who was not far behind with a 3.77 in his Bel Air.

NMCA Mickey Thompson Street Outlaw and NMRA VP Racing Fuels Street Outlaw: The final round belonged to Shane Fisher and Shawn Pevlor and their Mustangs. When the tree came down, both drivers recorded comparable reaction times, and Fisher flew to the win with a 4.45 over Pevlor’s 7.91.

Holley EFI Factory Super Cars: Bill Skillman in his Mustang Cobra Jet sailed to a 7.98 to win over Terry Munroe, who turned in an 8.06 in his COPO Camaro.

ARP Nitrous Pro Street: Tony Gillig and his Cutlass faced reigning category champion Jordan Ensslin and his Trans Am, and Gillig, who had a slightly better reaction time, took the win on a holeshot after both drivers put identical 4.41 runs on the board.

NMCA Edelbrock Xtreme Street and NMRA Edelbrock Renegade: Making it to the final were NMCA newcomer Mike Thompson and Paul Smith and their Camaros. Thompson took it all the way to the Aerospace Components Winner's Circle with a 4.72 to Smith’s 4.83.

FST Carburetors NA 10.5: Leonard Long and his Mustang made it all the way to the final round of eliminations where, in the heat of the day, he recorded a 7.95 to win over Dwight Ausmus, who wheeled his wheel-standing Firebird to an 8.10.

Chevrolet Performance Stock presented by Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center: Haley Burkhammer in her Camaro won in the final round with a 10.23 to Jesse Wilson’s 10.32.

Coan Engineering Stock/Super Stock Combo: The final round featured Jeffrey Frees and his Drag Pak Challenger and Terry Knott and a Dart. In the double-breakout race, Frees picked up the win with a 9.84 on a 9.86 dial, while Knott was 11.17 on an 11.20 dial.

Quick Fuel Technology Nostalgia Super Stock: Kevin Gass in his Chevelle took the win in the final with a 9.77 on a 9.75 index over Tim Frees, who drove to a 10.56 on a 10.50 index in his Savoy.

Detroit Truetrac Nostalgia Muscle Car: Andy Warren in his Caprice made it to another final round where he broke out with a 10.23 on a 10.25 index, but still earned the win as Audrey Baize also broke out with an 11.72 on an 11.75 index.

MagnaFuel Open Comp: Kurt Anderson in his Camaro won with a 9.98 on a 10.01 dial over Scott Williams, who was 8.48 on an 8.53 in his Chevelle in the double-breakout bout.

NMCA Gear Vendors True Street: Eric Olson stood out as the overall winner with an 8.54 average in a Ranger, and Randy Thomas was the runner-up with an 8.72 average in a Mustang Shelby GT500. Bill Unkel ran to the nine-second win in a Mustang, Heinz Stock picked up the 10-second win in a Mustang, Robert Ball drove to the 11-second win in a Mustang and Mike Baker picked up the 12-second win in a Mustang. Rounding out the category were Jeff Buck, who was the 13-second winner, Wayne Haley, who was the 14-second winner and Belinda Moore, who was the 15-second winner.

Dodge // Mopar HEMI Shootout at NMCA: Victor Cervantes was the overall winner with a 10.11 average, while Derrick Roderweiss was the runner-up with an 10.16 average. John Ridings was the 11-second winner, Pat Baldezier was the 12-second winner, Ken Mason was the 13-second winner and Dana Baker was the 14-second winner. Brandon Alley wrapped things up as the 15-second winner. Then, after the eight quickest drivers in the category came together for the Arrington Performance HEMI Quick 8 presented by Red Line Oil, Wade Atchison arrived at the win with a holeshot and a 10.41 in his Demon over Derrick Roderweiss, who was 10.22 in his Demon.

Chevrolet Performance Street Car Challenge: Louis Truffa was the overall winner with a 9.22 average in his Monte Carlo, while Kevin Rowand was the runner-up with an 11.03 average in his Corvette. Robert Peter picked up the 12-second win in his Camaro, Greg Jessup pushed to the 13-second win in his Camaro, Jeremy Billecki was the 14-second winner in his Camaro and Steve Weigl was the 15-second winner in his Caprice.

NMCA Gear Vendors True Street, NMRA QA1 True Street, Chevrolet Performance Street Car Challenge and Dodge // Mopar HEMI Shootout drivers who wanted even more track-time were able to take part in the True Street Bracket. Six rounds later, Rodney Ward wrapped up the win with a 15.12 on a 15.10 dial, while Keith Saymore was the runner-up with a break out time of 10.65 on a 10.69.

To begin the newly named Bob Curran Memorial Super Bowl Shootouts featuring NMCA and NMRA drivers who won in their categories, Bob Curran's son, Jeremy Curran, slowly drove his late father's Xtreme Street Corvette down track, as his mother, Sue Curran, and fellow racers watched. Then, drivers faced off as flocks of fans rooted for their favorite series. After the last pair of cars had trampled the track, Team NMRA earned the title for the 10th time.

Next up on this year’s NMCA tour is the highly anticipated 18th Annual NMCA All-American Nationals, August 22–25 at Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio.

For more racing news, visit Performance Racing Industry’s (PRI) website.