People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Fredric Aasbo Takes First Place at Formula DRIFT’s Round 3 Atlanta

Compiled by SEMA Editors

Formula DRIFT
Fredric Aasbo finished in first place at Formula DRIFT’s Round 3, Road to the Championship.

Fredric Aasbo Takes First Place; Team Falken and Defending Formula DRIFT Champion James Deane Takes Third in Round 3 Atlanta

Black Magic Formula DRIFT Defending Champion and Team Falken driver James Deane took home third place honors from Round 3, Road to the Championship, Saturday, May 11, gaining points in his quest for a third consecutive driver’s championship. Deane defeated Falken teammate Aurimas “Odi” Bakchis before losing to Fredric Aasbo, who won the night’s event. Falken teammate Piotr Wiecek was sixth among qualifiers, followed by Daijiro “Dai” Yoshihara in seventh, Matt Field in 17th and Justin Pawlak in 18th. Standings after round one place Bakchis in first, Wiecek in fifth, Deane in sixth, Yoshihara in 11th, Field in 12th and Pawlak in 13th. Falken continues to lead in the Tire Manufacturers Cup. The 2019 Black Magic Formula DRIFT Pro Championship Series heads north to The Wall Speedway in New Jersey for “The Gauntlet,” Round 4, set for June 7–8. For more information and full standings, visit

Hot Rodders of Tomorrow
Team Summit Racing from Lakeshore High school finished in first place at the Dual Qualifier held May 4, in Champaign, Illinois, with a time of 19:59. 

Five More Teams Qualify for Hot Rodders of Tomorow Dual National Championship

Hot Rodders of Tomorow held its Dual Qualifier, May 4, at Edelbrock headquarters in Torrance, California, and Parkland College in Champaign, Illinois. In Torrance, Team Edelbrock from Santiago High School qualified first for the Dual National Championship, to be held later this year at the SEMA Show and PRI Tradeshow, with a time of 26:36, and Team Hedman from Rancho Alamitos High School qualified second with a time of 30:39. In Champaign, Team Summit Racing from Lakeshore High school qualified first with a time of 19:59. Team JEGS Performance from South Elgin High School also qualified, with a time of 24:19, and Team Performance Quotient from Fremd High School qualified with a time of 32:45. For more information, visit


For more racing news, visit Performance Racing Industry’s (PRI) website