People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Rob MacCachren Takes SCORE Trophy Truck Win at Baja 500

Compiled by SEMA Editors

Rob MacCachren Takes SCORE Trophy Truck Win; Justin Davis Wins Class 1 at 50th BFGoodrich Tires SCORE Baja 500

Rob MacCachren, in the No. 11 Rockstar Energy MacCachren Motorsports Ford F-150, took his second straight overall SCORE win last Saturday in the 50th BFGoodrich Tires SCORE Baja 500. Round 2 of the four-race 2018 SCORE World Desert Championship was held last week in Mexico’s Baja California, starting and finishing in Ensenada. MacCachren earned a victory margin of 3 minutes, 32 seconds over Luke McMillin, who finished second overall in 11:24:47 at 47.50 mph in the No. 83 Mark Racing Ford F-150. For MacCachren, it was his sixth class win and second overall triumph in the SCORE Baja 500, as he increased his SCORE-record total of career SCORE Trophy Truck race wins to 17. Ryan Arciero drove himself to the final spot on the podium with a third-place overall and SCORE Trophy Truck finish in his No. 32 Ford F-150 in 11:29:06 while averaging 47.20 mph. For the second straight race, Justin Davis captured the unlimited Class 1 while finishing 12th overall in the No. 185 Green Army Motorsports Chevy-powered Jimco open-wheel desert race car. His winning effort was completed in 12:25:39 with a victory margin of more than 45 minutes.

Clay Millican
Clay Millican piloted his Parts Plus/Great Clips dragster to a 3.894-second pass at 289.32 mph to secure his third career win.

Millican, Hight, Coughlin Jr. and M. Smith Victorious at JEGS Route 66 NHRA Nationals

Clay Millican raced to his second straight victory of the season with a win last Sunday at the 21st annual JEGS Route 66 NHRA Nationals at Route 66 Raceway. Robert Hight (Funny Car), Jeg Coughlin Jr. (Pro Stock) and Matt Smith (Pro Stock Motorcycle) were also winners in their respective categories at the ninth of 24 events on the 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule. Millican piloted his Parts Plus/Great Clips dragster to a 3.894-second pass at 289.32 mph to secure his third career win. With his second straight win, Millican moved to second in points behind No. 1 qualifier Steve Torrence, who was upset in the first round. Leah Pritchett, who beat teammate Antron Brown, Kyle Wurtzel and Blake Anderson, climbed to third in the standings after her second final-round appearance of 2018. Hight, the defending Funny Car world champion, powered his Auto Club Chevrolet Camaro SS to a pass of 4.073 at 310.63 to defeat 2016 world champion Ron Capps in the final round. Pro Stock’s Coughlin grabbed his 59th career victory after going 6.574 at 210.67 in his Performance Chevrolet Camaro to beat No. 1 qualifier Greg Anderson in the final round, jumping to 10th in points. In Pro Stock Motorcycle, two-time world champion Smith earned his first victory of 2018 with a run of 6.816 at 195.87 on his Victory Magnum in the final round and moved to sixth in the points standings. The Mello Yello Drag Racing Series continues June 8–10 at the NHRA Virginia Nationals at Virginia Motorsports Park in Richmond.

Formula Drift
James Deane defeated Matt Field in the final at the Wall Stadium Speedway in New Jersey last weekend.

Formula DRIFT New Jersey: Four Rounds Into the Season and the Fourth Different Winner Is Crowned 

Four events into the 2018 Formula DRIFT Black Magic Pro Championship, and a fourth driver (James Deane) climbed to the top step of the podium to claim the victory over Matt Field at the Wall Stadium Speedway in New Jersey last weekend. With his second place finish, Field moves to ninth in the 2018 Formula DRIFT championship. Deane moves to first, displacing Fredric Aasbo for the first time since he won the opening round. Justin Pawlak’s third-place finish elevates him to fifth in the championship and gave Falken Tire a clean sweep of the podium. The result also allowed Falken to jump ahead of Nexen at the top of the 2018 Formula DRIFT Tire Cup. And finally, Ford moves to second place in the 2018 Formula DRIFT Auto Cup, ahead of Nissan. They sit behind Toyota in first place. Round Five: Autozone Throwdown presented by Rain-X takes place in Monroe, Washington, July 20–21.

VP Racing Fuels Powers Michael Dunlop to Two Wins at the Isle of Man; Named Official Fuel of USAC

VP Racing Fuels Inc. has announced it is again fueling Michael Dunlop and MD Racing at the Isle of Man TT international motorcycle road-racing event. To date, Dunlop has won two 2018 events—the RTS Superbike and the Monster Energy Supersport. VP also has announced it has signed a multi-year agreement to become the official fuel of the United States Auto Club (USAC). USAC’s heritage is steeped in open-wheel racing, including a long history with Silver Crown, Sprint Car, Midget and .25 Midget racing. Also, USAC is the sanctioning body for the Pirelli World Challenge, TORC and the ARA American Rally Association.

For more racing news, visit Performance Racing Industry’s (PRI) website.