People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Race Wrap From 16th Annual Honeywell Garrett NMCA All-American Nationals

Compiled by SEMA Editors

There were wheelies, wild rides and elapsed times at the 16th Annual Honeywell Garrett NMCA All-American Nationals, August 24–27, at Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio.

Race Wrap From the 16th Annual Honeywell Garrett NMCA All-American Nationals

Sensational racing took center stage at the 16th Annual Honeywell Garrett NMCA All-American Nationals, August 24–27, at Summit Motorsports Park in Norwalk, Ohio. There were wheelies, wild rides and elapsed times, and when it was all said and done, the Aerospace Components Winner’s Circle welcomed winners.

VP Racing Fuels Xtreme Pro Mod: Jason Hamstra and his Camaro hauled to a 3.86 to win over Billy Banaka’s 4.05.

Dart Pro Stock: Kevin Lawrence in his Cobalt fell to Rob Pearce and his Studebaker in the final at 7.29 for the win.

Mickey Thompson Radial Wars: Issac Preston and his Camaro collected the win with a 4.01 to Josh Preston’s 4.08.

Holley EFI Factory Super Cars: David Barton in his ’17 COPO Camaro took the win light with an 8.12 to Carl Tasca’s 8.19.

VP Racing Fuels Street Outlaw: Manny Buginga’ 4.38 defeated Andrew DeMarco with a 4.42.

ARP Nitrous Pro Street: Don Baskin’s 7.41 wasn’t enough for the 7.39 Andy Vogt uncorked in his Trans Am.

Edelbrock Xtreme Street: Jessie Coulter and his Camaro collected the win in the final with a 4.71 to Alex Hays’ 4.78.

Boninfante Racing NA 10.5: David Theisen and his Firebird took the win with a 7.96 over Leonard Long’s 9.26.

Chevrolet Performance Stock presented by Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center: Jesse Wilson in Kelly Pierce’s ’15 Camaro won with a 10.15 over Haley Rounsavall, who ran to a 10.22 in her ’13 CRC Camaro.

FSC Stock/Super Stock presented by E3 Spark Plugs: Daryl Bureski blasted to the win in his Olds with an 11.45 over Ricky Pennington, who pushed his Cobra Jet to a 10.66.

FSC Top Sportsman: Dave Granger drove his Henry J to a 7.57 on a 7.24 and won over Chris Osborn, who had issues in his Camaro and couldn’t complete his pass.

ATI Performance Nostalgia Super Stock: Doug Wright drove his Belvedere to a 9.30 and the win over Rick Neumeyer, who drove his Fury to an 11.06 for the runner-up.

Detroit Truetrac Nostalgia Muscle Car: Andy Warren won with a 10.03 in his Caprice over Carl Gilbert, who was 10.55 in his Nova.

MagnaFuel Open Comp: Susan Roush McClenaghan drove her Mustang to a 9.48 on a 9.46 dial over Larry Geddes, who recorded a 10.86 on a 10.83 dial in his Mustang.

Gear Vendors True Street: Justin May was the overall winner with an 8.23 average in his Firebird and Mike Martyn was the runner-up with an 8.72 average in his Mustang. George Chaboudy III was the 9-second winner in his Mustang, Jeff Brady was the 10-second winner in his Camaro, Scott Smith was the 11-second winner in his Camaro, Nicholas Massengale was the 12-second winner in his Camaro, Pat Tyner took the 13-second win in his Mustang and Anthony Jager took the 14-second win in his Mustang.

Ford Performance Cobra Jet Showdown presented by Diversified Products Marketing: Paul Roderick won with a 9.07 on a 9.04 over Rick Rodgers, who turned in an 8.90 on an 8.92. John Calvert won the Cobra Jet Challenge.

FSC Bracket 1 Box: Bryan Yaeger opted to split the purse with Bracket 2 finalists AJ Buchanan and Tim Jordan.

Season championships are on the line at the conclusion to this year’s NMCA race season, the 16th Annual Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center Raceshop 16th Annual NMCA World Street Finals, September 21–24, at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis.

land speed
Rocky Robinson Reached 378 mph in the TOP 1 ACK ATTACK, breaking their own existing land-speed record of 376.363 mph, set in 2010.

TOP 1 ACK ATTACK Is Still the World’s Fastest Motorcycle

Chief Engineer Mike Akatiff and the world’s fastest motorcyclist Rocky Robinson took the TOP 1 ACK ATTACK to the Salar De Uyuni salt flats high in the Bolivian Andes with the express goal of exceeding 400 mph and breaking the team’s own LSR mark of 376.363 mph set in 2010. On August 5, at 1:00 a.m., three weeks later than scheduled, the trailer containing the ACK ATTACK finally arrived. While they didn’t achieve 400 mph, Robinson said they did reach 378 mph—faster than their own existing land-speed record.

Coca-Cola Extends Its Sponsorship With NHRA Under Mello Yello Brand
Mello Yello, the Coca-Cola Company’s citrus-flavored soft-drink brand, will extend its relationship with the NHRA. Racquel Mason, vice president, Sprite & Flavors brands for Coca-Cola North America, and NHRA President Peter Clifford will join NHRA Top Fuel driver Antron Brown to celebrate the announcement on Friday evening at Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis during the Chevrolet U.S. Nationals prior to the first round of qualifying for Nitro Funny Car and Top Fuel dragster. The group will unveil a new and exclusive car design for Brown’s Matco Tools Toyota dragster, prominently featuring the Mello Yello brand.