People Places & Racing News

Racing News: NMRA Drivers Battle It Out in Ohio

Compiled by SEMA Editors

The 14th Annual NMRA Ford SuperNationals presented by WyoTech—was held June 8–11, at the recently renovated National Trail Raceway in Hebron, Ohio.

NMRA Drivers Battle it Out in Ohio

The fourth of six events on this year’s NMRA tour—the 14th Annual NMRA Ford SuperNationals presented by WyoTech—was held June 8–11, at the recently renovated National Trail Raceway in Hebron, Ohio.

VP Racing Fuels Street Outlaw: Dwayne Barbaree in the ’95 SVT Cobra met madman Manny Buginga, who ran a 4.49 at 165 mph to win over Barbaree, who ran 4.52 at 163 mph.  

Edelbrock Renegade: Alton Clements cruised to the win over Brian Mitchell with a 7.49 at 184 mph over Mitchell’s 10.27.

ProCharger Coyote Modified: John Kauderer turned on the win light with an 8.49 at 167 mph while Haley James-Schneider ran into issues and was forced to get out of the throttle.  

Richmond Gear Factory Stock: Bart Welte got the best of Matt Amrine and won with a 10.80 at 121 mph to Amrine’s 11.01 at 122 mph.

G-Force Racing Transmissions Coyote Stock: Shane Stymiest sailed to the win over Charlie Booze Jr. with a 10.33 at 128 mph to Booze, Jr.’s 10.36 at 128 mph.

Detroit Locker Truck and Lightning: Gerry Van Veen won with an 11.36, while Bob Dill clocked a 9.59.

Exedy Racing Clutch Modular Muscle: Bobby Barrick had ran a 11.75 to win over Don Jones Jr., who turned in an 11.19.

Roush Performance Super Stang: Chris Parisi pulled out yet another victory with a 14.48 over Chad Wendel, who stopped clocks with an 11.46.

Aerospace Components Open Comp: Michael Lewandowski took the win over Terry Haynal with a 9.20 while Haynal put up an 11.67.

Race Pages Ford Muscle: Mike Roup ousted Dave Mormann with a 13.94 to Mormann’s 14.33.

QA1 True Street, presented by Muscle Mustangs & Fast Fords: Jeremiah McGreevy was declared the overall winner with a 9.05 average. Kevin McCotter was the 9-second winner, Jeff McCool was the 10-second winner, Robert Ball was the 11-second winner, Shannon Jones was the 12-second winner, Katrina Wiggins was the 13-second winner, Anthony Jager was the 14-second winner and Brian Flanagan was the 15-second winner.

Race Pages Bracket: On June 10, Greg Myers won in Bracket 1, Gary Fitzgerald was the winner in Bracket 2, Tristyn Strouse was the winner in Bracket 3 and Tom Brown was the winner in Bracket 4. On June 11, Dan Chiles won in Bracket 1, Jeff McMillen won in Bracket 2, Daniel Inhoff was the winner in Bracket 3 and Brian Kuta was the winner in Bracket 4.

Trick Flow Super Ford Showdown: Pitted the June 10 and June 11 Race Pages Bracket winners against each other, and Brian Kuta earned the win over Gary Fitzgerald.

The action continues with the 12th Annual Nitto NMRA/NMCA Super Bowl of Street Legal Drag Racing, where the NMRA will take on the NMCA, July 27–30, 2017, at Route 66 Raceway in Joliet, Illinois.

Four Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GTs finished the Le Mans 24 Hours.

Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Grabs Second Place in GTE Pro at Le Mans 24 Hours

The #67 Ford Chip Ganassi Racing Ford GT of Andy Priaulx, Harry Tincknell and Pipo Derani grabbed the runner-up spot of the 2017 Le Mans 24 Hours at the final corner of the final lap.  Last-minute struggles for the second-placed Corvette gave Tincknell the opportunity to pounce at the Ford Chicane and take the place just as the chequered flag fell. All four Ford GTs finished the Le Mans 24 Hours, which has been one of the most brutal 24-hour races at the Circuit de la Sarthe for many years. 

Millican, Capps and Laughlin Take Home Wallys at the NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals

Clay Millican piloted his Parts Plus/Great Clips dragster to his first career Top Fuel victory last Sunday at the 17th annual NHRA Thunder Valley Nationals at Bristol Dragway. Ron Capps (Funny Car) and Alex Laughlin (Pro Stock) were also winners in their respective categories at the 11th event of 24 on the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series schedule. Millican raced a 3.825-second pass at 316.38 mph to defeat Leah Pritchett, who raced a 3.881 at 307.09 in her Papa John’s dragster. Steve Torrence now has possession of the Top Fuel points lead. Defending Funny Car world champion Capps raced to his fifth victory this season and 55th of his career in the NAPA Auto Parts Dodge Charger R/T. He won on a holeshot against Don Schumacher Racing teammate Jack Beckman in his Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge Charger R/T with a pass of 4.054 at 317.05. In Pro Stock, Laughlin clinched his first Wally of the season and second of his career with a perfect reaction time in the finals. He powered his Gas Monkey Energy Chevrolet Camaro to a 6.718 at 205.04 to defeat Bo Butner in his Jim Butner’s Auto Chevy Camaro. Laughlin is the eighth different Pro Stock winner this season. The 2017 Mello Yello Drag Racing Series season continues at the 11th annual Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals, June 22–25, at Summit Racing Equipment Motorsports Park.

Tanner Foust took his second win of the season and second podium finish of the weekend. 

Three More Podiums, Including 1–2 Finish, for Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross in Ottawa

A difficult track on the grounds of the Canada Aviation and Space Museum and fierce competition from its rivals tested Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross in Ottawa, but by the end of last weekend, the team had recovered to collect another 1–2 finish in Race 2 on Sunday. After a red flag and restart for a first-lap incident, Tanner Foust leapt to the lead and never looked back, taking his second win of the season and second podium finish of the weekend. Scott Speed—who had enjoyed a similarly strong take off during the race’s initial launch—got shuffled back on the restart and spent most of the race stuck behind a slower car. On the final lap, the driver of the No. 41 ORAFOL Beetle GRC took advantage of a competitor’s mistake, earning a last-gasp second-place finish. With last Sunday’s victory, Foust assumed the championship lead for the first time this season. Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross will return to action for Red Bull Global Rallycross’s inaugural visit to Indianapolis, Sunday, July 9.

Forrest Lucas

Forrest Lucas To Receive Bob Russo Heritage Award at 29th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America (MSHFA) has announced that Forrest Lucas will receive the Bob Russo Heritage Award at the 29th Annual MSHFA Induction Ceremony Presented By Bridgestone, June 28, at The Shores Resort & Spa in Daytona Beach, Florida. The award, named in honor of the longtime motorsports journalist and historian Bob Russo, is presented at the recommendation of the MSHFA Board of Directors in recognition of the recipient's contributions to motorsports throughout his or her career. According to the MSHFA Board of Directors, few people have done more to support motorsports at every level in the United States than Forrest Lucas, the founder of Lucas Oil Products Inc. Lucas and his wife Charlotte founded the company in 1989 and motorsports became the cornerstone of the company’s marketing strategy a few years later. Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri, is a multisport complex encompassing a state-of-the-art dirt track, a newly built short-course off-road race track and a purpose-built drag boat lake. The company owns and operates seven race series, works with other track owners and promoters and supports the sponsorship of hundreds of race teams, series and individuals. Lucas Oil also has the naming rights to Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis.