People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Denny Hamlin Earns First Road Course Win at Watkins Glen

Compiled by SEMA Editors

Denny Hamlin’s victory last weekend at Watkins Glen International was the first in his first career on a road course, and his second trip to Gatorade Victory Lane this season.

Denny Hamlin Earns First Road Course Win in Cheez-It 355 at Watkins Glen International

Denny Hamlin outlasted a slew of late-race crashes and a final-lap charge from Martin Truex Jr. to win the Cheez-It 355 at The Glen last Sunday afternoon. The victory was the first in his career on a road course, and his second trip to Gatorade Victory Lane this season. The race totaled eight cautions for 24 laps, two red flags for 30 minutes and one more dramatic NASCAR Sprint Cup Series finish at The Glen. Watkins Glen International’s race season continues September 1–4 with the return of the IndyCar Series.

NMCA action continued last weekend for the 11th Annual Nitto Tire NMRA/NMCA Super Bowl Of Street Legal Drag Racing.

NMCA Race Wrap for the 11th Annual Nitto Tire NMRA/NMCA Super Bowl Of Street Legal Drag Racing

VP Racing Fuels Xtreme Pro Mod: Kevin Fiscus in the twin-turbo FKR Mustang drove past the nitrous-injected Musi mountain motor, grabbing the win with a 3.84 at 209 mph to Tim Savell’s 3.86 at 200.

Dart Pro Stock Shootout: Steve Graham took the win over Nino Cavallo, who had clocked a quicker, but losing 7.01 at 196.

Mickey Thompson Radial Wars: DeWayne Mills narrowly drove past Mark Micke in Jason Carter’s Malibu for the trip to the Aerospace Components Winner’s Circle.

Wiseco Performance/VP Racing Fuels Street Outlaw: Jacky McCarty was victorious over Charles Hull as Hull went -.009 red in the 4.436 to 4.438 final-round contest.

Holley EFI Factory Super Cars: Kevin Skinner in his new 2016 Cobra Jet faced Chuck Watson in the final where Skinner edged past Watson at the stripe, 8.38 to 8.40.

ARP Nitrous Pro Street: Andy Vogt in his third-gen Trans Am defeated the Mercury Cyclone of Randy Dolensek in a 7.52 to 8.03 matchup.

Quick Lane of Downs Ford NA 10.5: Mike DeMayo Jr. defeated Dwight Ausmus with a 7.98-second top-end charge.

Edelbrock Xtreme Street: Glenn Pushis took the event win in a 10.37 to 10.42 contest with Ronnie Hackelton.

National Parts Depot Factory Appearing Stock Tire (FAST): Dave Dudek proved unstoppable in his ’69 Roadrunner, and while he faced a capable machine in Terry Pennington’s ’69 Camaro—driven by Ed Keim—Dudek’s 10.26 at 136 mph was far too quick to beat this weekend.

Redline Motorsports MX235: Brad Medlock powered past Brian Edwards for the win, 4.72 to 5.55.

Fastest Street Car Top Sportsman: Eddie Banderowicz in his ’68 Camaro defeated Benjamin Board in his ’12 Camaro.

MagnaFuel Open Comp: Chuck Hockenberry drove his Mustang to the win over Jason Coomer, with a 10.02 on a 10.00 to Coomer’s 9.06 on a 9.03.

ATI Performance Products Nostalgia Super Stock: The winner was decided at the start with D.W. Hopkins going -.005 red, but Jeff Frees was worse with a -.021 and subsequently took the runner-up spot.

Detroit Truetrac Nostalgia Muscle Car: Jerry Stamps and his ’73 Duster used a 12.08 on his 12.00 index to defeat Brenda Blair and her ’77 Caprice, who went 12.18 on her 12.00 index.

Gear Vendors True Street: Adam Hodson was the overall winner after piloting his ’73 Camaro to a 9.47 average, and Tom Javan of South Elgin, Illinois was the runner-up with a 9.88 average. Dan Pachar of Orange, Texas, wheeled his ’16 Camaro to the 11-second win, while Bob Hoffman of Sandwich, Illinois pushed his ’87 Grand National to the 12-second win. Morgan Hixon of Plainfield used a ’92 Firebird to take the 13-second win, while Al Gvorra flew to the 14-second win. Dan Lambert relied on his ’12 Challenger to achieve the 15-second win.

True Street B3: In the final round, Chris Parisi went -.005 red and handed the win to Gavin Hanson.

In the Super Bowl runoffs, it was a back and forth battle with the NMCA taking an early two-point lead, followed by the NMRA rallying back to a two-point lead as well. The NMCA needed to sweep the final three pairings, and Kevin Fiscus led the charge, followed by Louie Filippides and DeWayne Mills to secure the team win and pick up the Nitto Tire Diamond Tree rings and bonus money.

The NMCA moves to Summit Motorsports Park next, where the 15th Annual NMCA World Street Finals will go down, and class champions will be crowned.

Callaway Competition remains title contender, leading in teams’ championship points.

Callaway Competition remains Title Contender at Nürburgring

With last weekend's ADAC GT Masters round at the Nürburgring, Callaway Competition has entered the decisive phase in the final part of the season. The Leingarten, Germany-based race team remains title contender, leading in teams’ championship points. Jules Gounon and Daniel Keilwitz qualified the #77 ROLLER/Valvoline Corvette C7 GT3-R in a sixth-place for the Saturday race. Finishing the race in fifth place extended the duo’s lead in the ADAC GT Masters Drivers’ Championship. The sister Callaway Corvette, driven by Patrick Assenheimer and Dominik Schwager secured a Top-10 finish in P10.