People Places & Racing News

Racing News: 15th Annual NMCA All-American Nationals Race Wrap

Compiled by SEMA Editors

Rick Riccardi’s 8.151 at 166.76 mph pass took out Vince Khoury Jr. and his 8.329 at 164.29 mph effort.

Race Wrap: 15th Annual NMCA All-American Nationals

Held at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis, nearly 20 classes were hotly contested at the 2016 NMCA All-American Nationals:

VP Racing Fuels' Xtreme Pro Mod: Billy Banaka ran the eighth-mile in 3.914 seconds at 198.38 mph defeating Steve Summers, who ran 3.995 at 204.76 mph.

Dart Machinery Pro Stock: Merv Moyer in Leonard Long’s ’04 Mustang took a huge holeshot (.046 to .195) and that would help his slower 7.50 at 182.18 mph run defeat Stephen Graham’s 7.37 at 192.60 mph effort in his Bob Book Racing Engines–powered ’12 Pontiac Grand Prix.

Holley EFI Factory Super Cars: Chuck Watson pushed his ’16 Mustang Cobra Jet to a final time of 8.549 at 159.51 mph to edge out Clay Arnett and his ’15 COPO Camaro that ran 8.566 at 158.13 mph.

Mickey Thompson Radial Wars: DeWayne Mills in his ’68 Camaro defeated Keith Berry in his C5 Z06 Corvette with a 3.948 at 197.86 mph pass over Berry’s 3.990 at 188.20 mph blast.

Wiseco Performance Products Street Outlaw: Jacky McCarty threw down in the finals with a 4.432 at 167.01 mph from his ’91 Mustang, taking out Phil Hines who went 4.567 at 161.21 mph in his ’03 Mustang.

ARP Nitrous Pro Street: Joe Bucaro pushed his ’04 Mustang to a final-round time of 7.280 at 187.42 mph to take the win over Jim Beil who had trouble at the start and fouled.

Edelbrock Xtreme Street: Louie Filippides in his ’10 Camaro defeated Henry Lee in his ’90 Mustang with an 8.790 at 146.30 mph pass over Filippides’ 7.696 at 180.45 mph trip.

MX235 Shootout: Brad Medlock’s ’95 Mustang’s 4.803 at 150.35 mph pass secured the win when Shane Halleman’s ’88 Mustang went 5.052 at 146.11 mph with a -0.002-second reaction time and a red light at the start.

Quick Lane of Downs Ford NA 10.5: Rick Riccardi’s 8.151 at 166.76 mph pass took out Vince Khoury Jr. and his 8.329 at 164.29 mph effort.

Fastest Street Car Top Sportsman: Shawn Morrow and his ’03 Mustang cruised to a 7.746 at 173.90 mph run on his 7.72 dial in over Kynon Dinkel’s 6.758 at 206.45 mph on his 6.79 dial.

Chevrolet Performance Stock: Glenn Pushis drove to a 10.44 at 127 mph and the win over Kevin Lumsden.

ATI Performance Products Nostalgia Super Stock: Al Corda drove his ’69 Dodge Dart to a final time of 9.825 at 133.58 mph to earn the win over Jeff Frees’ 9.837 at 130.10 mph run.

Detroit Truetrac Nostalgia Muscle Car: Tim Boggs clicked off a 12.134 at 106.89 mph pass on a 12.00 dial in with his ’67 Chevy II. Andy Warren had the better pass when his ’71 Caprice went 10.510 at 124.25 mph on a 10.50 dial in and triggered the win light in his lane.

MagnaFuel Open Comp: Donnie Bowles drove his ’05 Mustang to a 10.220 at 126.67 mph on his 10.18 dial in to get the win over Jenna Pierce-Wilson in her ’12 COPO Camaro who ran 9.800 at 137.36 mph on her dial in of 9.76.

Y-Block: After three rounds of eliminations, the win went to Ted Eaton in his ’23 Altered with a 9.008 a 145.75 mph run on his 8.99 dial in, while his opponent Harry Hutten Jr. triggered a red light with his ’60 Monterey.

True Street and Y-Block: Harry Hutten Jr. was the overall winner in Bracket 3. His 12.974 at 105.37 mph hit with an 0.066-second reaction time got the job done against Marvin Knack, who clicked off a 12.016 at 108.45 mph pass.

Gear Vendors True Street: Taking the overall win with his ’90 Mustang is Lonnie Tibbs who posted a 7.93, an 8.05, and an 8.11 to average 8.03—nearly two seconds faster that the runner up. Chasing down Tibbs was Robert Mandabach, whose nitrous-enhanced ’70 Chevy Nova went 9.94, 9.64 and 9.61 to average 9.73 for the runner-up honors.

The next stop for the NMCA Drag Racing Series presented by E3 Spark Plugs will be the 11th Annual Nitto Tire NMRA/NMCA Super Bowl of Street-Legal Drag Racing at Route 66 Raceway in Joliet, Illinois, July 28–31.

Hindman Cassels
Hindman and Cassels won the Continental Tire 150 for Bodymotion Racing.

Hindman, Cassels Grab Continental Tire 150 Win at Watkins Glen International

Bodymotion Racing has grown accustomed to winning in the IMSA Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge, earning trips to victory lane in each of the series’ past two races. On July 2, Trent Hindman and Cameron Cassels ensured that trend was alive and well with a triumph in a Continental Tire 150 at Watkins Glen International. Hindman, a 2014 series champion, led a Porsche sweep of the podium following a late-race battle that included both CJ Wilson Racing Caymans. Nick Galante and Spencer Pumpelly earned their first win of the season in the Street Tuner class, outlasting fellow Cayman duos of Jason Rabe/Devin Jones and Matthew Dicken/Corey Lewis. For Galante, it was the first win of his Continental Tire SportsCar Challenge career. His co-driver, Pumpelly, picked up yet another victory at the site of his first series win.

Barbosa and Fittipaldi Sail to Victory in Sahlen's Six Hours of The Glen

Barbossa Fittipaldi
Joao Barbosa (left) and Christian Fittipaldi celebrated their win in victory lane at Watkins Glen.

Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi were rewarded for a smooth, consistent run in the Sahlen's Six Hours of The Glen. Dane Cameron and Eric Curran finished second, completing a 1-2 finish for Action Express Racing. Other category winners in the 2016 edition of the Sahlen's Six Hours of The Glen included Renger van der Zande and Alex Popow (Prototype Challenge), Ryan Briscoe and Richard Westbrook (GT Le Mans), and Christina Nielson, Alessandro Balzan and Jeff Segal (GT Daytona).

Precision Turbo to Sponsor BangShift LIVE Streaming Coverage of 11th Annual NMCA/NMRA Super Bowl Event will provide live streaming video coverage, courtesy of Precision Turbo & Engine, of the 11th Annual Nitto Tire NMRA/NMCA Super Bowl of Street-Legal Drag Racing, July 29-31.  Watch the NMRA Keystone Automotive Ford Nationals and the NMCA E3 Spark Plugs Muscle Car Nationals series compete at the same track the same weekend with class winners from Team NMRA and Team NMCA taking each other on at the finale for an all-out slugfest for Nitto Tire Diamond Tree champions rings.