People Places & Racing News

NHRA: Worsham, Enders Extend Points Leads With Dallas Wins

Compiled by SEMA Editors



WORSHAM, ENDERS EXTEND POINTS LEADS WITH DALLAS WINS: Erica Enders became the winningest female in a single season in NHRA history with her victory in Pro Stock last Sunday at the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals. Richie Crampton (Top Fuel), Del Worsham (Funny Car) and Jerry Savoie (Pro Stock Motorcycle) were also victorious at the 22nd of 24 events of the 2015 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series season and the fourth of six races in the Countdown to the Championship. Enders powered her Elite Motorsports Chevy Camaro to a 6.467-second run at 214.48 mph to defeat Jonathan Gray and earn her eighth victory of the year, breaking Pro Stock Motorcycle’s Angelle Sampey’s record of seven wins in 2001. The Houston native also claimed her 20th career victory and first victory at Texas Motorplex just outside of Dallas.

"I have been talking about a cowboy hat for months—wanting to come here and win a cowboy hat—so I’m excited to be able to get that done in front of all of our friends and family," said Enders, who extends her points lead to 154 over Greg Anderson heading to Las Vegas. "It’s just a huge blessing. You know I didn’t drive my best in the final round, and my guys stepped up to the plate and picked up my slack, so I’m so appreciative to them. We just have such great team chemistry and great horsepower, so I’m a happy girl."


LEGENDS OF DRAG RACING TO BE HONORED AT CALIFORNIA HOT ROD REUNION PRESENTED BY AUTOMOBILE CLUB OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA: The legends of drag racing will be celebrated during the 24th annual California Hot Rod Reunion presented by Automobile Club of Southern California, October 23–25, as those who shaped the sport will be celebrated during the weekend. Grand Marshal Jim Dunn and honorees Paul Althouse, Cub Barnett, Don Gaide and Don Ratican, John Jodauga and Doug Kruse will all be honored during the course of the weekend. They will take part in the Honoree Reception, taking place at the DoubleTree hotel at 7:30 p.m. in Bakersfield, California. They will also be honored during the course of the day on Saturday in many functions, including an autograph session at the Dynamat Legends tent at 2:00 p.m. Also taking place will be the honoree presentation and twilight memorial at 5:30 p.m. on the starting line.


COUGHLIN TO RACE FULL SCHEDULE WITH ELITE MOTORSPORTS IN 2016: Jeg Coughlin Jr., who sat out all but three races of the 2015 season, will return to racing on a full-time basis next year as a member of Richard Freeman’s Elite Motorsports team. Coughlin joins the existing Elite roster of 2015 defending Pro Stock champion and current points leader Erica Enders, rookie sensation Drew Skillman and past national event winner Vincent Nobile.

"I am excited to return to the driver’s seat in Pro Stock as part of Elite Motorsports in 2016," Coughlin said. "I have known Richard for years, and he has assembled a great team. The three races I ran earlier this year with Richard and the Elite Motorsports team made it very clear to me the commitment they have to winning; we look for this to be a great partnership."

He Said, She Said


"I think we may have stolen this one today. It was definitely a challenge because we didn’t have the fastest car all day, so in between rounds the whole DHL Toyota team had to go back to work. The final was crazy. We got a good start and we were cruising along and all of a sudden the car just made a hard right hand turn. I let off and we hit the finish line, and I didn’t know if we won or not until I heard it on the radio. Now we’ve got a week off and we aren’t looking at the championship; we’re just going to prepare for Las Vegas and that’s the only thing that matters."

—Funny Car points leader Del Worsham, who raced to his third win of the season and increased his series lead to 38 point lead over Jack Beckman, who he defeated in the final. Worsham, the 2011 Top Fuel world champion, was the No. 1 qualifier and defeated John Hale, Alexis DeJoria, Ron Capps and Beckman for his 36th career NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series win. If Worsham were to win the Funny Car world championship, he would join Kenny Bernstein and Gary Scelzi as the only drivers to win series crowns in both Top Fuel and Funny Car.

Inside the Numbers


5: Number of Top Fuel wins Richie Crampton has in his sophomore season with Morgan Lucas Racing. Crampton, the 2014 Automobile Club of Southern California Road to the Future winner, defeated Steve Torrence for his fifth victory of the season. Crampton trails Antron Brown who has seven wins in the 10,000hp category. Crampton is third in points and trails second-place Tony Schumacher by 71 points.

"I think Texans and Australians are very similar in their independent spirit and work ethic," Crampton said. "And the landscape is the same, with the heat and all that. It feels very natural here, and the fans are always welcoming. I've never even tried on a cowboy hat before, but I sure like this one. I might just have to wear it the next time I go back to Oz. That'll show 'em something. It's really kind of special for (track owner) Billy Meyer to give us these hats, and this year with it being the 30th annual race, we got belt buckles as well. Plus, I'll have a brick with my name on it in the winner's circle. There's lots to be excited about."

Did You Know


NHRA NAMES VETERAN AUTOMOTIVE MEDIA EXECUTIVE TYLER SCHULZE VICE PRESIDENT AND CFO: The NHRA has announced that Tyler Schulze, a versatile executive who has excelled in the management of multi-media content publishing enterprises, has been named vice president and chief financial officer, effective immediately. In his new role with NHRA, Schulze will direct fiscal functions. As a member of NHRA’s leadership team, he also will oversee several administrative departments, assist with developing NHRA’s strategic vision and implement new business initiatives to help achieve financial objectives. He will report directly to NHRA President Peter Clifford.