People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Formula DRIFT to Kick Off Next Week in Streets of Long Beach

Compiled by SEMA Editors

Ford Motor Co. will support Mustang driver Vaughn Gittin Jr.

Formula DRIFT Continues Partnership With GoPro for 2015 Season; Ford Returns for Third Year as Official Sponsor

Formula DRIFT and GoPro continue their partnership for the 2015 season. GoPro will remain the exclusive and official camera partner for the Series. Tickets are now available for Round 1: Streets of Long Beach, April 10–11, via, Ticketmaster outlets and the Long Beach Convention Center box office.

In its third year as official sponsor of the series, Ford Motor Co. will support Mustang drivers Vaughn Gittin Jr. and Justin Pawlak, while ramping up its “Drift with Ford” sweepstakes giveaway and track activities at all seven Formula DRIFT events. The custom Focus ST giveaway kicks off April 10–12 at the season opener in Long Beach, California. Ford is stepping up the “Drift with Ford” sweepstakes, giving away to one lucky fan a custom EcoBoost-powered Focus ST. Fans can enter the sweepstakes at any Formula DRIFT event or through the Formula DRIFT website.

VP Racing Fuels to be Official Fuel of TORC Series for 2015

TORC: The Off-Road Championship Presented by AMSOIL has announced VP Racing Fuels as its Official Fuel for the 2015 season. TORC competitors will be powered by VP’s high-performance racing fuels beginning with the April 24–25 season opener at Texas Motor Speedway near Dallas. As the Official Fuel of TORC, VP will provide trackside fuel service at each event, which will include an online pre-order procedure to provide for convenient delivery of specific fuels to teams at the track.

ProMedia Events has announced the signing of a three-year contract with the Chevrolet Performance Challenge Series.

ProMedia Events Announces Chevrolet Performance Challenge Series 2015 Schedule

ProMedia Events, home of the NMCA Flowmaster Muscle Car drag-racing series, has announced the signing of a three-year contract with Chevrolet Performance and the following 2015 schedule for the Chevrolet Performance Challenge Series.

May 29–31, 2015
4th Annual Chevrolet Performance Nationals
Presented by Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center
The Largest All-GM Event of the Year
Atlanta Dragway – Commerce, Georgia

June 18–21, 2015
14th Annual NMCA Muscle Car Nationals
Featuring the 9th Annual Chevrolet Performance Shootout
The Largest LS Drag Race of the Year
Lucas Oil Raceway – Indianapolis

August 27–30, 2015
14th Annual NMCA World Street Finals
Featuring the Chevrolet Performance Challenge Series
Summit Motorsports Park – Norwalk, Ohio

September 11–13, 2015
6th Annual Holley LS Fest
Final Event of the 2015 Chevrolet Performance Challenge Series
Beech Bend Raceway Park – Bowling Green, Kentucky

Toyo Tires Named the Official Tire of SPEED Energy Formula Off-Road for 2015

Toyo Tires will be the Official Tire of SPEED Energy Formula Off-Road for 2015. This marks the third season that Toyo Tires has supported the series, and the second year that all Stadium SUPER Trucks (SST) will compete on Toyo Open Country A/T II tires. The race series was founded by Team Toyo off-road champion and former NASCAR and IndyCar driver Robby Gordon. This weekend, drivers will compete in front of IndyCar fans during the Streets of St. Petersburg in St. Petersburg, Florida. In addition to the series sponsorship, six races will also feature a Toyo Tires-branded SST truck with a Team Toyo Off-Road driver at the wheel. The Toyo Tires big rig and models will also attend SPEED Energy Formula Off-Road events around the country.

The 4th Annual Nitto Tire NMCA WEST Spring Nationals marked the start of the 2015 season for the NMCA WEST VP Racing Fuels Drag Racing series.

7th Annual Nitto Tire NMCA WEST Spring Nationals Official Race Wrap

The 4th Annual Nitto Tire NMCA WEST Spring Nationals, held March 27–29, 2015, at Auto Club Dragway in Fontana, California, marked the start of the 2015 season for the NMCA WEST VP Racing Fuels Drag Racing series. The results:

Garrett Turbo Pro Mod: In a close race, Mark Luton snagged the holeshot, but Rick Snavely in the Turbos Direct '69 Camaro Snavely was able to get around him 5.24 to 5.50 for the win.

Mickey Thompson True Ten 5: Dana Cook's faster 4.67 fell to Johnny Coleman's 4.69—his holeshot earning him the True Ten 5 win in his '69 Camaro.

Lucas Oil N/A 10.5: Vic Brum was able to drive around Ryan Bell's holeshot to take the win, 8.22 to 8.37.

ARP Outlaw 8.5: George Raygoza streaked to a 5.17 for the win after Anthony Smith struck the tires early in the pass.

SCAT Crankshafts Open Comp: Justen Spencer and Brent Calvert squared off in a close race, but Spencer pushed Calvert out the back, forcing Calvert to dip .014 under his index and turn on Spencer's win light.

Edelbrock Super Quick: Ricky Deuschle and Michaelyn Roelle left with .004 of a second separating them, and on the top end, Roelle broke out by .012, allowing Deushle's .035 package to take the win.

Calvert Racing Quick Street: Chris Davis lit the Crimson Bulb of Despair, handing Dutcher the Quick Street win.

MMR Mustang Madness: Greg Dreher got the holeshot, but Brent Calvert was able to run him down and take the win light with an 8.617 on an 8.58 index.

Champion Cooling Systems Pro Comp: Doug Crumlich put together a .022 package pushing Hollis Colleasure to break out by .002-second.

Hedman Hedders Nostalgia Street Car: Steve Cox and Jim Losquardo were running on the E index of 10.50, but Losquardo left with a stout holeshot and took just enough stripe to turn on the win light.

Vortech Superchargers True Street: Dan Geis averaged 10.064 on his three passes for the overall True Street title.

Edelbrock Bracket Showdown: Joe Henchy defeated Steve Watkins in Bracket 2, Jack Swanson took the win light over Dave Boydstein in Bracket 3 and in a father-son final, Kevin McClelland defeated his son Daniel in Bracket 1. In Sunday's action, Katelyn Whynaught defeated Justin Rebrovich in Bracket 1, Frank Malone took the win light over Charlie Allen in Bracket 3, and Jeff Interlicchia beat Donald Horn in Bracket 2.

WELD Takes Top Two Spots in 2015 World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series Race

WELD's Daryn Pittman won in the 30-lap main feature at the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series race at Antioch, California, Speedway, March 29. Pittman’s victory with WELD Racing wheels marked his second World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series win of the year. Paul McMahan, also a WELD racer, finished a close second.

The week before at the FVP Western Spring Shootout at the Stockton, California, Dirt Track, Rico Abreu registered his second win of the season and WELD racers took the top six spots. Terry McCarl took second, followed by McMahan in third, David Gravel in fourth, Jason Johnson in fifth and Tim Kaeding in sixth. Shane Stewart is second in the current 2015 series championship standings.