People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Tickets Still Available for Red Bull Global Rallycross Las Vegas

Compiled by SEMA Editors

The Red Bull Global Rallycross season finale will be held at The LINQ Promenade during the 2014 SEMA Show.

Tickets Still Available for Red Bull Global Rallycross Las Vegas

Tickets for the Global Rallycross Las Vegas finals, Wednesday, November 5, are still available online and will also be for sale onsite at the 2014 SEMA Show. Use your SEMA discount code, or show your credential at the time of purchase to receive 30% off tickets. Enter code "SEMAVEGAS" at checkout when visiting

Held in partnership with Caesars Entertainment, which is the host venue, presenting sponsor and event partner, the action will take place at The LINQ Hotel & Casino during the 2014 SEMA Show.

For the first time in series history, four drivers enter the finale with a chance at the championship: Ken Block, winner of the 2013 Las Vegas race; former Formula 1 stars Scott Speed and Nelson Piquet Jr.; and defending GRC Lites champion Joni Wiman. The four championship-eligible drivers have combined for four victories, 16 podiums and eight poles so far in 2014. All four drivers are within 30 points of one another entering the final race, meaning that the best finisher among them in Las Vegas will likely take home the season-long championship.

Other drivers planning to compete include 2012 Las Vegas winner Tanner Foust; multiple X Games gold medalists Brian Deegan and Bucky Lasek; current GRC Lites champion Mitchell DeJong; and Sverre Isachsen, winner of the series’ most recent race at DirtFish Rally School in Snoqualmie, Washington.

The parking lot adjacent to The LINQ Promenade and at the base of the High Roller—the world’s tallest observation wheel—will be transformed into a high-octane motorsports playground, featuring dirt, asphalt and tabletop jumps signature to the series.

Loren Healy took the 4400 “Unlimited Class” West and East title and Nitto Tire Ultra4 National Championship win in Reno, Nevada.

Nitto Tire's Loren Healy Claims Overall 2014 Ultra 4 4400 Unlimited Class Points Title

Nitto Tire performed well in the eight-race 2014 Ultra4 Series this year with its team of drivers. Loren Healy claimed the overall 2014 Ultra4 4400 “Unlimited Class” points title. Driving a new-this-year Jimmy’s 4x4 IFS buggy won at the Nitto Tire National Championships, October 18, at the Wild West Motorsports Park in Reno, Nevada. Healy won his fourth event out of seven this year, beginning with his 2014 King of the Hammers crown win, his second such win. In the Unlimited 4400 Class, Nitto drivers Erik Miller and Jason Blanton joined Healy in the Top 10. Mel Wade Sr. took second in 4400 Stock, Mel Wade Jr. claimed the UTV Sportsman series title and Mike Bou took home Ultra4 “Rookie of the Year Award” in 4400.

Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing Named Finalist for 2014 Museum Collection of the Year Award

The Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing has been informed by Great Britain’s International Historic Motoring Awards selection committee that it has been “short listed” (named as a finalist) for the Museum Collection of the Year Award for 2014.

The Don Garlits Museum of Drag Racing is among five automotive museums or collections selected for the award's finalist group. The Museum was nominated by the British Drag Racing Hall of Fame for the depth of the collection’s historic drag-racing vehicles, including those built and raced by Don Garlits, plus the supporting exhibits of important memorabilia and technological advances made across the sport’s history.

The Museum Collection of the Year Award is connected to the International Historic Motoring Awards—an annual automotive event, which honors a number of individuals and groups for contributions and achievements in several categories. The winners will be honored at the St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel in London, November 20, 2014. On November 22, Garlits will be inducted into the British Drag Racing Hall of Fame at the Savill Court Hotel at Windsor Great Park, near Windsor, Surrey.

Brian Deegan clinched the Pro 2 Unlimited Championship last weekend in Lake Elsinore, California.

Deegan Clinches Sixth LOORRS Championship

A busy weekend on the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series in Lake Elisnore, California, led to many successes for Brian Deegan and his line of #38 trucks. As the Pro 2 points leader, Deegan was in a position to clinch his title in Round 15. Pro 2 was the final event of the evening and Deegan was running third on lap one. The #38 RockstarEnergy Drink/Makita Power Tools Ford moved into second, and by the final lap he tried to take the lead from Carl Renezeder, but Rob MacCachren moved past Deegan. Deegan finished the event in third, which continued his perfect record of podium finishes in Pro 2 for the 2014 season. It was also enough to clinch the Pro 2 Unlimited Championship. This marks Deegan’s third Pro 2 Championship in four years.