Breaking News

SEMA Scholarship and Loan Forgiveness Recipients for 2014

By Becca Butler

2013 SEMA Scholarship and Loan Forgiveness recipients.

The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund has awarded $152,000 to 61 individuals this year. This includes 44 SEMA scholarships presented to current students, and 17 loan-forgiveness awards presented to employees of SEMA-member companies. In addition, one student was awarded a full-tuition scholarship to Ohio Technical College for the 2014–2015 academic year.

Recipients of these scholarships will enter into the disciplines of automotive engineering and technology, automotive aftermarket, mechanical engineering, business management, electrical engineering, education, industrial engineering and design, automotive machinist and public affairs/administration.

More than $2 million has been awarded to more than 1,000 deserving students since the program’s establishment in 1984. The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund and the SEMA Loan Forgiveness Program are dedicated to fostering the next generation of automotive aftermarket industry leaders and innovators by helping them get off to a successful start in their education and automotive aftermarket career.

The online application for next year’s awards will be accepted November 3, 2014, through April 1, 2015, at For questions or additional information, contact SEMA Education Manager Juliet Marshall by phone at 909-978-6655 or e-mail

2014 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Award Winners

  • Tyler W. Bagby, Johnson County Community College
  • Damian T. Begler, School of Automotive Machinists
  • Brandon J. Belcher, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Brenden D. Bungert, University of Minnesota-Duluth
  • Alexis Art Cadiao, Mira Costa College (Steve Woomer Award)
  • Ryan A. Call, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Trevor A. Chaney, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Dalyn M. Cirac, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Austin T. Ellis, Colorado School of Mines
  • Lee S. Engelhardt, Northwood University
  • Sara J. Erhart, Wyoming Technical Institute (SEMA Businesswomen’s Network Award)
  • Chester L. Fisher, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Justin L. Furman, Washtenaw Community College
  • Matthew Fusco, Northwood University
  • Hugo Hernandez, California State University-Northridge (Louis L. Borick Award)
  • Austin W. Hiebert, McPherson College (John Menzler & HRIA Award)
  • Nicholas V. Hines, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Leonard R. Howe, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Eric A. Jiskra, Eastern Michigan University
  • Jeremy Johnson, Columbus State Community College (Melvin Burton Award)
  • Jeffery Kesterson, Oregon Institute of Technology
  • Thomas C. Klein, University of Northwestern Ohio (Don Turney Award)
  • Mark Lopresto, Cleveland Institute of Art (Harlan Felder Award)
  • Brent Maynard, University of Northwestern Ohio (MPMC Award)
  • Shaun Michael McCarthy, Stanford University
  • Jacob E. Mischel, North Dakota State University-Main Campus
  • Sara E. Mohon, Clemson University
  • Tyler K. Nelson, Brigham Young University-Idaho (PWA & TORA Award)
  • Harmon L. Newhouse, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Kaj Niegmann, Georgia Institute of Technology (Bernie Karp Award)
  • Joel R. Ortberg, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Amir Sadeghi Pari, Austin Community College
  • Masey S. Peone, Central Washington University (Thurston Warn Award)
  • Kyle D. Peterson, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Garrett Rider, University of Missouri-Columbia (Mike Kunzman Award)
  • Bobby J. Robertson, Jr., McPherson College
  • Juan Rodriguez, Jr., Universal Technical Institute-Sacramento
  • Robert S. Rose, University of Northwestern Ohio (Joe Hrudka Award)
  • Mclane T. Rowley, University of Northwestern Ohio (K&N Engineering Award)
  • Paul J. Sakalas, Kent State University (Jeff Moses ARMO & MRN Award)
  • Andrew J. Smallman, Kettering University (ETTN Award)
  • Zachariah J. Sprenger, De Anza College (K&N Engineering Award)
  • Michael C. Sydow, Ferris State University
  • Sarah K. Wilkerson, Santa Barbara City College (Louis L. Borick Award)

2014 SEMA Loan Forgiveness Award Winners

  • David M. Chamberlain, COMP Performance Group/Lunati LLC (Dan Borré Award)
  • Laura M. Conrad, Mitsubishi Motor Sales of America Inc. (Trudy Thompson Award)
  • Michael DiCanzio, Turn 5 Inc.
  • Debra S. Dixon-Coen, Nissan North America (Leo Kagan Award)
  • Kyle J. Fichtner, DEEZEE Manufacturing (Joseph Amato Award)
  • William Filter, Dana Holdings/Spicer
  • Mitchell R. Kaup, BluePrint Engines (YEN Award)
  • Jennifer LaFever, Roush Yates Racing Engines (Top Student Award)
  • Adam C. Lovelady, Toyota Motor Sales USA
  • Joshua Mishler, Advanced Plating
  • Kelly A. Muldoon, Venchurs, Inc.
  • Philip F. Muscat, Pratt & Miller Engineering
  • Thomas Rousseve III, Falken Tire Corporation (JA Borré and WTC Award)
  • Jordan S. Sneathen, SEMO Classic Mustang Inc.
  • Kirstin E. Stone, Turbosmart USA (Wally Parks Award)
  • Heather Vance, Tenneco (Nat Danas Award)
  • Joshua C. Wang, JE Pistons