People Places & Racing News

NHRA: Stanfield, Isbell Team Up for 2014 Season

Compiled by SEMA Editors



STANFIELD, ISBELL TEAM UP FOR THE 2014 SEASON: Pro Stock veteran Greg Stanfield and Jeff Isbell, a former national event winner in Top Alcohol Dragster, will team up for the 2014 season in the Pro Stock ranks. Stanfield will drive the Chevy Camaro Pro Stock entry owned by Isbell and built by Jerry Haas.

“I’m excited for him, knowing his goal and what he wants to do," said Stanfield of Isbell. "He’s not about just going out and leasing motors. He wants to build his own motors. I can get him a good foundation, get him set up on his cars and get him going, and who knows, we might have two cars someday. I think the ultimate goal knowing the situation he’s in is I get to drive and help him get set up, and maybe by then we can find sponsor dollars to have two.”

For more on this story visit,

MOONEYES RETURNS TO CIRCLE K WINTERNATIONALS: Jim Dunn Racing will once again sport the familiar colors and logo of Mooneyes during the Circle K NHRA Winternationals February 6–9. “The fan response when we unveiled the car at the NHRA Finals was incredible,” said team manager Jon Dunn. “It just made perfect sense for us to bring the Mooneyes car back for the Winternationals in Pomona.”

For more on this story visit,


BEADLE TO BE INDUCTED INTO MOTORSPORTS HALL OF FAME OF AMERICA: Three-time former NHRA Funny Car champion Raymond Beadle will be among the seven motorsports figures inducted into the Motorsports Hall of Fame of America’s 26th class of racing legends, Wednesday, August 6, 2014, at Detroit’s historic Fillmore Theater. Beadle, driver of the famed Blue Max Funny Car, won three straight NHRA Funny Car championships, from ’79–’81. His first title in ’79 ended Don Prudhomme’s four-year reign atop the class. Before beginning his Funny Car career, Beadle drove front-engine Top Fuelers out of his native Texas. For more on this story visit


CIRCLE K NHRA WINTERNATIONALS, Auto Club Raceway at Pomona, February 6–9: The Circle K NHRA Winternationals starts the 2014 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series at one of the most historic facilities on the NHRA circuit, Auto Club Raceway at Pomona. Shawn Langdon (Top Fuel), Courtney Force, pictured, (Funny Car) and Vincent Nobile (Pro Stock) will attempt to defend their 2013 wins and start the season on a positive note.

CARQUEST AUTO PARTS NHRA NATIONALS, Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park, February 21–23:
For the 30th season, the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series races into the Valley of the Sun for the CARQUEST Auto Parts NHRA Nationals. The facility south of Phoenix has hosted many historic performances throughout the years. Tony Schumacher (Top Fuel), Ron Capps (Funny Car) and Erica Enders-Stevens (Pro Stock) recorded wins at the track in 2013 and will again be among the favorites to claim early-season victories.



“I think one of the biggest things I have up my sleeve, which isn't necessarily a driving-related thing is the fact that I've just worked with this team for so long. The team chemistry is there right away. I've seen the way this team operates and how I paid close attention to how Morgan goes about handling things during the race weekend as a driver. I think the fact that I've been around it for so long is probably my biggest benefit.”

—Richie Crampton on replacing Morgan Lucas in the GEICO/Lucas Oil Top Fuel dragster for the upcoming season.


10: Number of consecutive seasons Jason Line has won an event during the course of NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series career. His first win came at the 2004 event in Chicago and his most recent win was at the AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals in Dallas. He has two career wins at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona both coming at the season opening event. He and Pro Stock Motorcycle racer Andrew Hines lead all NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series racers in the win streak category.



FORCE AND LANGDON HONORED BY MOTORSPORTS WRITERS: The NHRA was well represented as the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association (AARWBA) announced its 2013 All-America First Team. Sixteen-time NHRA Mello Yello Funny Car champ John Force was voted to the All-America team and was also recognized as the Jerry Titus Memorial Trophy winner for the driver having the most overall votes. It’s the fifth time that Force has won the Titus award.

“It is always an honor to be recognized as an All-America First Team driver,” said Force. “This award is very special because the media is so important to growing our sport."

The 2013 Top Fuel world champion Shawn Langdon was also voted to the First Team. "I am honored to represent NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing and the Al-Anabi Racing team on the prestigious AARWBA All-America team," Langdon said. "To have my name mentioned with drivers like John Force, Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth, Helio Castroneves, Scott Dixon and the rest of the drivers on the team is really special."

For more on this story visit