People Places & Racing News

Racing News: BJ Baldwin Wins Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 and 2013 Overall Point Championship

Compiled by SEMA Editors

BJ Baldwin drove the entire 883.1-mile Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 course on his own.

BJ Baldwin and Toyo Tires Win Second Consecutive Tecate SCORE Baja 1000 and 2013 SCORE Overall Point Championship
Toyo Tires and Team Toyo racer BJ Baldwin scored their second consecutive Baja 1000 victory and second consecutive SCORE Overall Point Championship last weekend at the Tecate SCORE Baja 1000. Baldwin drove the entire 883.1-mile course on his own. Both starting and finishing in the port city of Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico, this year’s winding course was highly technical with 251 competitors dealing with massive fields of rocks and continuous obstacles. Baldwin finished first for the four-wheel vehicles with a time of 18:36:10.

Baldwin won the 2012 Baja 1000 and SCORE Overall Point Championship in similar fashion, then finished the 2013 Baja 500 in second place behind overall winner and fellow Team Toyo racer Robby Gordon, who was an early contender to win this year’s Baja 1000 until a broken front spindle required a lengthy 1.5-hour pit stop for repairs. Gordon fought his way back to a sixth-place finish in the Trophy Truck division. Winning Class 1 and finishing seventh in the four-wheel category was Damen Jefferies driving his #121 Jefferies-Chevy open wheel buggy.

Formula DRIFT Pro 2 Series Announced; New Series to Begin in 2014
Formula DRIFT has announced the creation of the Formula DRIFT Pro 2 Series. The new series to begin in 2014 with four events in conjunction with Formula DRIFT Pro Championship. The Pro 2 Series will become the primary bridge for Pro-Am drivers to become eligible for the Formula DRIFT Pro Championship. Drivers competing in the Formula DRIFT Pro-Am Series will earn their way into the Pro 2 Series before moving on into the Pro Championship Series. The Series will also be available for Pro Championship drivers that are unable to meet the minimum to renew their Pro Championship license. The Formula DRIFT Pro 2 Series will have the same rules and regulations as the Pro Championship Series. The competition will run as a Top 16 bracket with the qualifying leading into the head-to-head competition.

The new Series will begin operations for the 2014 season and will be fully operational in 2015. The events will be in conjunction with select Formula DRIFT Pro Championship event rounds. The goal will be to help drivers fine tune their driving abilities and skill level along with learn and build the business acumen in a professional competitive environment during a Pro Championship event weekend. For more information visit:

Brian Hobaugh, driving a ’65 Chevy Corvette Stingray, took the overall victory at the sixth-annual Optima Ultimate Street Car Invitational.

Falken Tire Shares Victory in 2013 Optima Ultimate Street Car Title
The sixth-annual Optima Ultimate Street Car Invitational is in the record books and Brian Hobaugh, driving a ’65 Chevy Corvette Stingray, took the overall victory among a crowded field of 58 participants. Hobaugh earned the win by a 10-point margin over last year’s champion and second-place finisher Mark Stielow. Danny Popp took the final podium, just one point behind.

2014 NMCA Flowmaster Muscle Car Nationals Event Schedule
The NMCA Flowmaster Muscle Car Nationals Series has announced its 2014 event schedule:

March 20-23, 2014
12th Annual NMCA Muscle Car Nationals
Featuring the Big Buck Bracket Challenge
Bradenton Motorsports Park – Bradenton, Florida

April 10-13, 2014
Sixth Annual NMRA/NMCA All-Star Nationals
See NMRA & NMCA Stars Racing the Same Weekend at the Same Event!
Atlanta Dragway – Commerce, Georgia

May 23–25, 2014
Inaugural Quick Fuel Technology NMCA Muscle Car Nationals
Featuring the Dave Duell Nostalgia Super Stock Classic
Gateway International Raceway – Madison (St. Louis), Illinois

July 10–13, 2014
Ninth Annual NMRA/NMCA Super Bowl of Street Legal Drag Racing
Watch as Team NMRA Takes on Team NMCA for Nitto Tire Diamond Tree Super Bowl Rings
Route 66 Raceway – Joliet, Illinois

August 21–24, 2014
Eighth Annual NMCA Muscle Car Nationals
Featuring the Detroit Big 3 Shootout and Chevrolet Performance LSX Challenge Series
Summit Motorsports Park – Norwalk, OH

October 9–12, 2014
13th Annual NMCA World Street Finals
Featuring the 8th Annual Chevrolet Performance LSX Shootout
Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis – Indianapolis, Indiana

Special Event:

May 30–June 1, 2014
Third Annual Chevy High Performance Nationals Presented by Scoggin-Dickey Parts Center
Featuring the Chevrolet Performance LSX Challenge Series
The Largest All-GM Drag Race & Car Show of the Year!
Atlanta Dragway – Commerce, Georgia

2014 SCCA Board Election Results Announced
The Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) has announced the results of the SCCA Board of Directors elections that were held in four of the SCCA’s geographic areas. Three new board members were elected, with one incumbent rejoining the board for a second three-year term in office. Incumbent Area 10 director John Walsh of Honeoye Falls, New York, ran unopposed to retain his position on the Board of Directors. Terry Hanushek of Mullica Hill, New Jersey, won the Area 2 election with 831 votes, topping Michael Collins of Mount Airy, Maryland, (535 votes) and Stephen Hyatt of Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, with 208 votes. Hanushek fills the seat vacated by Jerry Wannarka. Peter Zekert of Maryland Heights, Missouri, defeated Michael West of Munford, Tennessee, for the Area 6 position, 413 votes to 367. The Area 6 seat was previously held by Lisa Noble. Tere Pulliam of Oxford, Georgia, fills the Area 12 seat vacated by Philip Creighton. Pulliam received 673 votes, defeating Bob Horansky of Jackson, Georgia, who received 496 votes.

The current board members will gather for their final meeting of the year in Topeka, Kansas, December 5–7, joined by incoming board members Hanushek, Zekert and Pulliam. The new board members will officially assume their duties January 1, 2014.