People Places & Racing News

Racing News: WeatherTech Racing Audi R8 Wins GT Title in Rolex 24 at Daytona

The WeatherTech Audi R8 GRAND-AM racing team won the GT class of the 51st GRAND-AM Rolex 24 at Daytona.

By SEMA Staff

WeatherTech Racing Audi R8 Wins GT Title in Rolex 24 at Daytona
The WeatherTech Audi R8 GRAND-AM racing team of Felipe Albuquerque (Portugal), Oliver Jarvis (England), Eduardo Mortara (Italy) and Dion von Moltke (Coral Gables, Florida) won the GT class of the 51st GRAND-AM Rolex 24 at Daytona.

With nearly three-and-a-half hours left in the race, the Alex Job Racing team had to serve a 60-second, green flag penalty for avoidable contact with another car. That judgment call nearly cost them the race. But, the team gave Audi its first Rolex 24 win, first in the GRAND-AM Series and Alex Job Racing their second Rolex 24 victory (1999).

Granatelli Motor Sports Sponsored Racer Joe Charles Wins NMRA Strange Engineering Coyote Stock Class Championship
Granatelli Motor Sports’ sponsored racer Joe Charles won the 2012 NMRA Strange Engineering Coyote stock class championship. The class requires that the engine and computers are left stock and untouched. “HiPo Joe’s” ’01 Ford Mustang Bullitt, built by MV Performance, has run a quarter-mile time of 10.901 at 118.87 mph. The championship-winning Mustang is powered by a stone stock ’12 5.0-liter Coyote engine and Granatelli Hot Street Coils.

Ross Martin finished second taking the silver and his fourth X Games medal.

Ross Martin Brings Home His Fourth Medal From ESPN's Winter X Games
Ross Martin qualified and hammered the holeshot off the line in the Final at the Winter X Snocross Competition in Aspen, Colorado, last weekend. By lap two of 16, the leaders were set and continued to pull away from the competition. Martin finished second taking the silver and his fourth X Games medal.

NAPA Auto Parts Indoor Auto Racing Weekend Set for February 1–2
A massive field of Three Quarter Midget, 600cc Micro, Slingshot and Champ Kart drivers will make their way from across the northeast  to Atlantic City’s Boardwalk Hall this Friday and Saturday, February 1–2, for NAPA Auto Parts Indoor Racing Weekend. The 11th running of the event is the third and final race of the Fatheadz Eyewear Indoor Series.

Overall, 213 teams are entered among the four divisions of competition; less than half of them will transfer to the feature races, making the qualifying events intense affairs in their own right.

TQ Midgets and 600 Micros race feature events on both Friday and Saturday with the ultimate prize—the Gamblers Classic the main TQ race on Saturday. Champ Karts and Slingshots complete the majority of their qualifying Friday and their features on Saturday night.

Last year’s winners indoors in Atlantic City were Erick Rudolph, who won the Gamblers Classic TQ race and both 600cc Micro main events; Ted Christopher, winner of the remaining TQ race; Simon Egan, winner of the Slingshot race and Chris Daley, victor in the Champ Kart main event. All 2012 winners are among the entries for the 2013 NAPA Auto Parts Racing Weekend. There are 78 entries in the TQ Midget field. 

In the 600cc Micro class, 39 drivers have filed entries. Several of the TQ drivers have separate cars for the 600cc Micro race. Micro specialists entered include Jimmy Carpenter, Manchester, New Jersey; Slingshot specialists Gary and Kyle Hieber, Langhorne, Pennsylvania; past Bridgeport, New Jersey Sprint Car champion Tim Iulg, Bridgeton, New Jersey; Jason Ormsby, Warsaw, Indiana, and Rob Vivona, Staten Island, New York.

Fifty-six Champ Karts are heading to Boardwalk Hall. Major contenders, besides defending race winner Daley, include Justin Bonsignore, West Islip, New York; Danny Bouc, Plumsteadville, Pennsylvania; Glen Meisenhelder of Feeding Hills, Massachusetts; Ron Midford, Tolland, Connecticut; Michael Pares Jr., Wayne, New Jersey; Brandon Rusczek, Wallingford, Connecticut; DJ Shaw, Center Conway, New Hampshire; and Andrew Swisher, West Chester, Pennsylvania.

Forty entries have been filed for the Slingshot class. Prominent among these are Andy Bachetti, Sheffield, Massachusetts; Bobby Dmuchowski, Manville, New Jersey; Anthony Perrego, Montgomery, New York; and Ricky Yetter, Easton, Pennsylvania.

Tickets for the Atlantic City events are on sale at Ticketmaster outlets and at the Boardwalk Hall box office.