People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Toyo Tires Racers Capture Six Stage Wins and 13 Podiums at 2013 Dakar

Robby Gordon and his #315 SPEED Energy/Toyo Tires/MAPEI HUMMER captured eight podiums during the 2013 Dakar.

Toyo Tires Racers Capture Six Stage Wins and 13 Podiums During the 2013 Dakar
Toyo Tires racers captured six stage wins and a total of 13 podiums during the running of the 2013 Dakar, which completed its final stage this past weekend. Running from Lima, Peru, to Santiago, Chile, the roughly 5,000-mile, 14-stage rally wound its way south along the Pacific Coast, while sweeping inland through parts of Argentina. Competitors were challenged with extreme off-highway conditions, which included huge sand dunes, rock-strewn desert roads, deep river crossings and treks through high mountains.

In addition to Team Toyo’s Robby Gordon, two past Dakar champions, Carlos Sainz and Nasser Al-Attiyah, also took on the Dakar. Immediately, Sainz captured Stage 1 with his American-built #303 Team Qatar Red Bull buggy. Al-Attiyah then responded by winning Stages 3, 4 and 6 with his #300 Team Qatar Red Bull buggy.

This year, Gordon and his #315 SPEED Energy/Toyo Tires/MAPEI HUMMER rebounded from challenges early in the rally to win Stages 11 and 13, capturing a total of eight podiums along the way. Gordon ultimately finished 14th overall in this year’s endurance rally.

Another driver that impressed the fans this year was Eric Vigouroux driving his #319 Herock/ Toyo Tires Chevrolet Silverado trophy truck. Vigouroux is a veteran of endurance rallies, and finished this year in 22nd overall.

Check out the Toyo Tires Dakar Rally blog for a recap of this year’s Dakar.

2013 NMRA WEST Street Car Nationals Event Schedule Announced
The second annual Lucas Oil NMCA WEST Street Car Nationals opens the season April 5–7, 2013, at Auto Club Famoso Dragway in Bakersfield, California. View the complete 2013 schedule.

Registration Continues for SCCA Convention, Hall of Fame Induction In Las Vegas
Spaces are still available for those wishing to attend the Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) Convention presented by SafeRacer at the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, February 28–March 2. The annual gathering includes informative sessions for members and region leadership, awards luncheons and the Hall of Fame Induction ceremony for 2013 class members: Skip Barber, Bobby Rahal, Bill Noble, Carroll Shelby and Andy Porterfield.

Registration is available online at

The2013 Lucas Oil Drag Boat Series will have expanded TV coverage.

Lucas Oil Drag Boat Racing Series Expands TV
The 2013 Lucas Oil Drag Boat Series blasts into the New Year with expanded TV coverage, a new rule book, increased safety and a 10 national championship race series.

Expanded TV coverage will air on CBS, CBS Sports Network, NBC Sports Network, SPEED and the MAVTV American Real network. Up from 30 minutes last year, each Lucas Oil Championship event will run a full hour allowing fans to peek behind the scenes. In addition to the professional show, which consists of Top Fuel Hydro, Top Alcohol Hydro, Top Alcohol Flat and Pro Mod running the 1,000-ft. course, there are four Sportsman classes ranging from 8 to 11 seconds and three bracket (dial-in) classes in the quarter-mile. The Top Fuel Hydro class features nitro-methane-powered V8s breaking speeds of more than 250 mph and covering the liquid 1,000 ft. in an elapsed time (ET) of 3.39 seconds.

For an events schedule, visit the Lucas Oil website.