People Places & Racing News

Racing News: TREMEC Stick Shift Shootout & Racer Appreciation Party Announced

One-hundred racers will battle for top True Street honors at Bradenton Motorsports Park.

By SEMA Staff

TREMEC Stick Shift Shootout & Racer Appreciation Party Announced
Long-time NMRA True Street sponsor, TREMEC, in part with presenting sponsor Muscle Mustangs & Fast Fords magazine, has announced that they will hold the first-ever “Stick Shift Shootout” as part of this year’s 19th Annual NMRA Nitto Spring Break Shootout, March 7–10, 2013, in Bradenton, Florida.

One hundred racers will battle for top True Street honors at Bradenton Motorsports Park, with the fastest eight stick cars receiving a special shootout plaque. The quickest two manual-equipped vehicles will engage in a winner-takes-all best two-out-of-three heads-up finale. The winner will be highlighted in a special event feature by Muscle Mustangs & Fast Fords and go home with a brand-new TREMEC Magnum XL six-speed transmission system, which fits all S197 Mustangs, handles up to 700 lb.-ft. of torque and comes with an SFI-certified bellhousing.

TREMEC has also announced a Racer Appreciation Party will take place before the True Street awards ceremony. Open to all True Street racers, along with their families and crew, the gathering will feature hot food and cold drinks.

For more information on the NMRA Bradenton, Florida, event, or for True Street class rules, visit or call 714-444-2426.

Irwindale Dragstrip Announces 2013 NHRA Summit Series Events
The National Hot Rod Association Summit Series has announced the 2013 scheduled for the 660-ft.-long San Gabriel strip. There are four competition divisions in the 2013 series: Super Pro, Pro, Sportsman and Pro Bike. Each division has a set ET range: Super Pro: 5.50–7.49, Pro 5.75–8.59, Sportsman 7.50–12.60 and Pro Bike 5.50–slower. The first event will be held Sunday, March 10. Summit Series racers will race April 14, May 5, June 9, July 14 and August 4.

Cameron Steele, a two-time SCORE Person of the Year, campaigned his 800hp Open Truck at the HDRA South Point Vegas 250 last weekend.

Yokohama Tire Wins HDRA Season Opener
Yokohama Tire Corp. and the Desert Assassins’ quest to be the first-time recipient of the recently created World Championship of Desert Racing, jumped off to a great start last weekend with Cameron Steele’s win at the High Desert Racing Association (HDRA) South Point Vegas 250 in Jean, Nevada, January 12.

The race (four 62-mile laps) was the season opener for HDRA, which recently bought Southern California Off Road Enthusiasts (SCORE). The two racing associations will run separate events but share points to determine the off-road desert series world championship.

In the race, Steele, a two-time SCORE Person of the Year, campaigned his 800hp Open Truck fitted with purpose-built 40-in. Yokohama Geolandar A/T-S R tires.

  off road
Bryan Folks won the Best in the Desert's 1100 Class.

Off-Road Desert Championship Winners Announced
Champions who went all out in the 2012 Best in the Desert (BITD) series from Las Vegas to Reno include Steve Sourapas and Rob MacCachren for the Trick Truck Class, Bryan Folks in the 1100 Class, Troy Vest in the 1200 Class, Troy Messer in the 6000 Class, Jim Riley in the 6100 Class, James Burman in the 7100 Class and Sean Backus in the 7200 Class.

Cody Parkhouse won the 2012 SCORE Class 1 championship. Other 2012 winners in the SCORE Series are Cody Robinson in the 1/2-1600 Class, Elias Hanna in the 7SX Class and Otoniel Huerta in the Score Lite Class.

Winners in the 2012 High Desert Racing Association (HDRA) include Mike Mitchell in Class 1, Rob Archibald in the 1/2-1600 Class, David Norris in Class 10, Todd Stemmerman in Class 12 and Brandon Arthur in Class 1400.