People Places & Racing News

Racing News: McLeod Racing-Equipped Mustang Breaks 8-Second Barrier


Don Fezell in his ’08 Ford Mustang Cobra Jet is the first to break the eight-second barrier in the NHRA Stock Eliminator Class.


McLeod Racing-Equipped Mustang Breaks 8-Second Barrier
McLeod Racing LLC has announced its role in Don Fezell and his ’08 Ford Mustang Cobra Jet being the first to break the eight-second barrier in the NHRA Stock Eliminator Class. Running in the Four-Wide Nationals at the z-Max Dragway in Charlotte, Fezell ran a record-setting 8.954 at 153.88 mph on the 10.00 AA/S index. This was the first-ever eight-second pass in NHRA Stock Eliminator history.

linda vaughn  
Linda Vaughn  

Tickets for Linda Vaughn Roast Now Available Online
Ticket sales for the Linda Vaughn Roast, August 29, 2012, at the Lucas Family estate in Carmel, Indiana, are now underway at the Quarter Mile Foundation website by clicking the bright pink “Buy tickets here” link, or on the Eventbrite website.

Individuals and businesses can order seats and sponsorships online and pay via credit or debit cards or with PayPal. Tickets are delivered to the customer via e-mail for redemption at the event. Each ticket holder will receive a souvenir ticket featuring artwork by drag-racing artist Kenny Youngblood, who will also design the stage backdrop.

Confirmed roasters include Joe Amato, John Force, Don Garlits, Bob Glidden and Jack “Doc” Watson, with the remainder of the panelists to be announced shortly. NHRA event announcer Bob Frey will serve as the master of ceremonies. In addition to the roast, an auction of racing memorabilia from drag racing, IndyCar and NASCAR notables will be a part of the gala evening.

Proceeds will benefit Linda Vaughn, plus the Quarter Mile Foundation and its mission to capture the first-person stories of drag racing’s pioneers beginning in the late ’40s through the ’80s; plus the performance aftermarket to produce a multi-episode television documentary series. A major portion of each ticket/sponsorship is tax deductible (USA only).

Tickets may also be ordered by mail by sending a check or money order (in U.S. currency) to the Quarter Mile Foundation, 6210 Beverly Dr., Parma Heights, OH 44130.

  Yokohama Tire Corp. has signed a five-year extension to sponsor Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, California.

Yokohama Tire Corp. Extends Infineon Raceway Sponsorship for Five Years
Yokohama Tire Corp. announced it has signed a five-year extension to sponsor Infineon Raceway in Sonoma, California. The new deal continues Yokohama’s designation as Infineon’s “Official Tire Manufacturer” at the track through 2016, where it has been a sponsor since 2003.

According to Fred Koplin, Yokohama director of marketing communications, sponsorship elements include Yokohama signage around the track, company ads in all racing programs, corporate logos posted on, public address announcements during all major events and display space at Infineon Raceway during races. The sponsorship also includes membership in Infineon’s Sustainable Partnership Program.

Bloomquist Wins Tazewell, Sets Track Record
Roush Yates engines captured wins and set track records with drivers Scott Bloomquist, Greg Satterlee and Tim Isenburg on the Dirt Late Model circuit last weekend.

Bloomquist swept the night's activities at Tazewell Speedway last Sunday by setting the track record in time trials with a lap of 10.822 seconds, winning his heat, and dominating the feature to win his third Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race of the season. Leading all 50 laps, Bloomquist held off Don O'Neal for most of the race in Tazewell, Tennessee, to capture the win. The win marked Bloomquist's 45th of his Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series career and moved him to third in the championship standings. Bloomquist drives a Roush Yates-powered Ford 436 Dirt Late Model engine.

Isenberg found Victory Lane twice this weekend with his 410 Ford Roush Yates Dirt Late Model engine, once at Mississippi Thunder Speedway (Fountain City, Wisconsin) and once at Lafayette County Speedway in Darlington. Isenberg led the majority of last Friday night's Corn Belt Clash in Fountain City and held off Jimmy Mars (also running a Roush Yates engine) to capture his first victory on the tour.

Satterlee found power with his Ford 436 Dirt Late Model engine last Sunday night at Winchester Speedway in Winchester, Indiana. Satterlee out-dueled series regulars Dan Stone and Jason Covert to win his first speedweek event. This was Satterlee's fifth win of the season in his first year driving a Roush Yates engine.

  Heidi Steele took second place at the June 1–3 SCORE Baja 500 in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico.

Yokohama Tire-Sponsored Off-Road Racer Heidi Steele Takes Second at Baja 500
In her first race of the season, Yokohama Tire Corp.
-sponsored off-roader Heidi Steele took second place at the June 1–3 SCORE Baja 500 in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico. Steele and co-driver/Desert Assassins teammate Rene Brugger battled the treacherous Baja terrain in a Ford Ranger equipped with off-the-shelf Geolandar M/T+ tires.

Steele is the wife of Trophy-Truck veteran and two-time SCORE Person of the Year, Cameron Steele, who entered two 800hp Geiser Brothers Trophy-Trucks in the Baja 500. Each were shod with newly developed 40-in. Yokohama Geolandar A/T-S R tires specially engineered for extreme off-road conditions. Both trucks suffered major mechanical issues that slowed them down, but they fought back to complete the race and finish inside the top 20.

The Desert Assassins' Brent Parkhouse and co-driver Brian Burgess claimed victory in the Class 12 (SCORE Lite) division, piloting their winning buggy on Yokohama tires.

Formula Drift defending champion Daijiro “Dai” Yoshihara took third place in Round 3 of the 2012 Formula Drift Championship in Palm Beach.

Team Falken's Dai Yoshihara Takes Third in Formula Drift Palm Beach
Formula Drift defending champion Daijiro “Dai” Yoshihara, competing in his Discount Tire/Falken Tire Nissan 240SX, took Team Falken to third place in Round 3 of the 2012 Formula Drift Championship at Palm Beach International Raceway. Dai defeated teammate Justin Pawlak in his Ford Mustang, who spun during their consolation round.

While this is the second time on the podium this season for Yoshihara, Pawlak leads the Formula D championship. Daigo Saito took the win.
Forty-five entrants attempted to qualify for the 32 positions. Team Falken’s Vaughn Gittin Jr., qualified first; with teammate Darren McNamara in fifth; Falken privateer Walker Wilkerson in eighth; Pawlak, ninth; and Yoshihara, 14th. All five entrants won in the Top 32 Round, while Gittin Jr., Pawlak and Yoshihara advanced to the top eighth.

Ultimately, the Top 8 battle between Pawlak and Gittin Jr., proved to be the most exciting of the evening. With both Falken drivers running virtually the same Ford Mustang, this was a close contest with a “One More Time” called to get a clear winner. Pawlak ended up defeating Gittin Jr., and moved forward.

 McNamara went down to eventual event winner Saito, who then defeated Pawlak in the Top 4 Round. Chris Forsberg beat Yoshihara in the same round, leading the two Falken drivers to run against each other for third place. Pawlak then had to compete against yet another Falken teammate and spun during the round. 

In three weeks, Team Falken will travel to New Jersey to take on The Gauntlet at the Wall Speedway, June 22–23, for Round 4 of the 2012 Formula Drift Championship.