People Places & Racing News

Racing News: ReadyLIFT, Marty Hart Join Forces in 2012 Lucas Oil Off Road Series Championship

  Marty Hart and ReadyLIFT have joined forces.
Team ReadyLIFT Racing, Marty Hart Join Forces in 2012 Lucas Oil Off Road Series Championship
Team ReadyLIFT Racing has announced that veteran racer and multi-time champion Marty Hart and ReadyLIFT have joined forces. Hart will pilot the ReadyLIFT Off Road Suspension Unlimited Pro 2 as he seeks to secure yet another championship in the 2012 Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series.

Hart joined Team ReadyLIFT in 2010 where he dominated the Unlimited Pro Lite class and captured yet another championship trophy. In 2011, Hart and Team ReadyLIFT joined up with Johnny Greaves Motorsports where Hart piloted Greaves Pro 2 for the first time in his career.

Co-sponsors of Hart’s #15 ReadyLIFT Off Road Suspension Unlimited Pro 2 include Maxxis Tires,, Fox Shocks, Duncan Racing, Fiberwerx, Simpson Race Products and Walker Evans Racing Wheels.

Race fans will have the opportunity to watch Marty dig hard for the 2012 Pro 2 championship while his up-and-coming son Kyle will pilot his matching ReadyLIFT Off Road Suspension #523 Modified Kart.

The 2012 Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series will begin March 31, 2012, at Firebird Raceway in Chandler, Arizona. Races will be broadcast on SPEED Channel, NBC Sports Network, CBS Sports and MavTV. For more information about the 2012 LOORRS season check out


Champion Oil Seeking Additional Distribution for Racing and Performance Motor Oils, Chemicals and Additives
Champion Oil has recently announced numerous new geographical locations and opportunities available in North America for qualified wholesalers who have customers with hot rods, sprint cars, midgets, modifieds, drag racers, road racers, off-road, diesel pullers, etc.

Inquiries should be from established race and performance businesses interested in acquiring this racing and performance line of products.

World of Outlaws "NAPA Know How So Cal Showdown" Saturday at Perris Auto Speedway
The "Greatest Show on Dirt," the World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series, will make its only Southern California appearance of 2012 this Saturday, March 10, at 6:30 p.m. in the "NAPA Know How So Cal Showdown" at Perris Auto Speedway. Joining the stars and cars of the Outlaws on the program will be the California Lighting Sprint Car Series.

The event will feature some of the world's fastest dirt track Sprint Car drivers, including 20-time World of Outlaws champion Steve Kinser of Bloomington, Indiana, four-time series champ Donny Schatz (driving for Tony Stewart) of Minot, North Dakota, two-time defending champion Jason Meyers of Clovis, California, Joey Saldana (driving for Kasey Kahne), Danny Lasoski, Craig Dollansky, Kraig Kinser, Paul McMahon, Lucas Wolfe, Jason Sides, Sam Hafertepe Jr. and the rest of the World of Outlaws stars.

Tickets are available at the gate on Saturday and in advance online or by calling 877-395-8606.

  Jim Clark addresses those in attendance at the SCCA Hall of Fame induction. Photo: SCCA

2012 SCCA Hall of Fame Induction, Awards Presentation Caps Convention
With 444 Sports Car Club of America (SCCA) members and guests in attendance at the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, the 2012 SCCA National Convention came to a close last Saturday night with the induction of five legendary members into the club’s Hall of Fame.

The SCCA National Hall of Fame was created in 2004 to preserve, protect and record the history and accomplishments of the club by acknowledging those members who have made a significant impact on the development of SCCA, be it through service to the national organization, achievements in national competition or brining national recognition to SCCA. The 2012 class consisted of Charlie Earwood, Jim Hall, Gene Henderson, Dr. Peter Talbot and Bryan Webb.

Several other awards were handed out during the evening’s ceremony, including the Woolf Barnato Trophy. SCCA’s highest award, the honor is presented to the member who has made the most outstanding long-term contribution to the club. Winners are nominated by the last three recipients and approved by the Board of Directors. This year’s recipient was Dick Templeton.

The convention concluded with a final message from SCCA President Jeff Dahnert. The 2013 SCCA National Convention will return to the South Point Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, February 28–March 2.

   united autosports
  Matt Bell and Charles Bateman will be aiming for British GT title honors in the United Autosports Audi R8 LMS this year.

United Autosports Bids for British GT Crown With Young Chargers
Leeds-based United Autosports has announced it will campaign an Audi R8 LMS GT3 in the 2012 Avon Tyres British GT Championship for Matt Bell (Newcastle-upon-Tyne) and Charles Bateman (Boston, Lincolnshire) in a bid to lift the title it so narrowly missed out on last year.

The team was one of the front-running outfits in 2011, having taken several pole positions and led the championship for the majority of the season with drivers Bell and Mike Guasch. Bateman too was a double race winner in the series last year.

The Audi R8 is one of the most successful GT cars in the history of the sport, having taken more than 100 race wins to date, and the United Autosports car will be updated to the latest 2012 specification.

ISMA's ‘Timmy J’ is Late Providence Indoor Race TQ Entry
A late driver change in the entry roster for the 2012 “Coffee Cup Classic” Indoor Race Weekend in Providence, Rhode Island’s Dunkin Donuts Center March 10–11, has the potential to affect the outcome of the races in a big way. Tim Jedrzejek, aka "Timmy J," an International Super Modified Association (ISMA) Supermodified driver from Independence, Ohio, is replacing owner-driver Mike Dicely, Lewisberry, Pennsylvania, who last year had Ryan Smith, Kunkletown, Pennsylvania, steer his car to a close second-place feature finish. Dicely had intended to drive himself this year.

The race meet format calls for two days of qualifying races and feature events for the Three Quarter (TQ) Midgets and Champ Karts, culminating on Saturday with the running of “The Coffee Cup Classic,” a 40-lap TQ Midget feature, paying $2,000 to its winner.

Jedrzejek was ranked eighth in the 2011 ISMA Supermodified season standings, driving the Dan Soule-owned car. One of Jedrzejek’s main competitors will be Canadian Mike Lichty—a past winner indoors at Providence and a fellow ISMA Supermodified campaigner. New England favorite Ted Christopher of Plainville, Connecticut, is the race’s defending champion.

On Sunday, the feature for TQ Midgets is a first-time event, to be run over a 100-lap distance with a planned mid-race break to allow teams to make adjustments and, if possible, re-enter the race. This all-new race format will place a premium on endurance and could tend to favor ISMA Supermodifed drivers Jedrzejek and Lichty and Modified favorite Christopher, who are used to driving in longer-distance races in open-wheeled cars.

For tickets, call the Dunkin’ Donuts Center Box Office at 404-331-6700 or Ticketmaster at 800-745-3000.