People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Tony Stewart Captures NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship


Tony Stewart has captured his third NASCAR Sprint Cup title.

Tony Stewart Captures NASCAR Sprint Cup Championship, Extends MOOG Winning Streak to 46 Years
It took a tiebreaker to decide it, but Tony Stewart's come-from-behind victory in Sunday's Ford 400 at Homestead-Miami (Florida) Speedway gave the 40-year-old driver his third NASCAR Sprint Cup title and extended the MOOG steering and suspension brand's Cup Series championship streak to 46 years.

Stewart and the MOOG-equipped No. 14 Office Depot/Mobile 1 Chevrolet entered the race just three points behind leader Carl Edwards (No. 99 Aflac Ford). Edwards led most of the race, while Stewart faced a number of challenges, including front-end damage sustained during the first 20 laps. Yet, each time it seemed Stewart was out of contention, he somehow fought his way back to the front. He took the lead for good with 34 laps remaining and fought off the No. 99 car's challenge for his fifth win in 10 Chase starts.

Stewart's win continues the MOOG brand's Cup Series dominance, which began with 1966 champion David Pearson. All three of Stewart's Cup Series titles have come in MOOG-equipped cars, as did each of the previous champion, Jimmie Johnson's, five consecutive titles. Among the other Cup racing legends who have relied exclusively on MOOG parts to capture their championships are Bobby Allison, Dale Earnhardt, Jeff Gordon, Richard Petty and Cale Yarborough.