People Places & Racing News

Racing News: 20-Year-Old Trevor Bayne Wins Daytona 500

UNBELIEVABLE: In only his second NASCAR Sprint Cup Series start, 20-year-old Trevor Bayne shocked the world by driving the No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford to victory in the 53rd running of the Daytona 500 Sunday at Daytona International Speedway.

VIVA LAS VEGAS: After months of speculation, it was confirmed Tuesday that the IZOD IndyCar Series and Firestone Indy Lights will conclude the season October 16 at Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

The season-opening Formula One Bahrain Grand Prix has been canceled because of the violent protests calling for democratic reform, which have erupted in the country in recent weeks.

Chase Elliott, the 15-year-old son of 1988 NASCAR Sprint Cup champion Bill Elliott, has signed a driver-development contract with Hendrick Motorsports.

SANCTIONED: The Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals at Knoxville (Iowa) Raceway will receive sanctioning from the Lucas Oil Late-Model Dirt Series this year.

SPONSORED: DHL, a leading logistics company, has signed a multi-year sponsorship agreement with Andretti Autosport to serve as the co-primary sponsor of IZOD IndyCar Series driver Ryan Hunter-Reay.

LIMITED: Conor Daly, the 2010 Star Mazda Championship Series champion, will compete in five Firestone Indy Lights events with Sam Schmidt Motorsports this year.

IN HONOR OF: To honor Jeff Byrd, the late president and general manager of Bristol (Tennessee) Motor Speedway and Bristol Dragway who died in October, Food City will step aside as sponsor of the March 20 NASCAR Sprint Cup event so it can be known as the Jeff Byrd 500.

Steve Sexton, former president and CEO of Churchill Downs Entertainment and former president of Churchill Downs, has joined the Formula One United States Grand Prix management team as president.

The 100th anniversary Indianapolis 500 will start an hour earlier this year, as 33 of the best drivers in the world will take the green flag at Indianapolis Motor Speedway at 12:00 p.m. on May 29.

CASHING IN: Daryn Pittman pocketed $10,500 by winning the Ronald Laney Memorial for 360 sprint cars as part of the 13th King of the 360s Saturday night at Florida’s East Bay Raceway Park.

SUBSCRIBE: National Speed Sport News has been published weekly since 1934. To subscribe to National Speed Sport News, click here for more information.