People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Chip Ganassi Selected 2010 Economaki Champion of Champions

THE BEST: Chip Ganassi, based on his outstanding season as a car owner, was selected by the staff of National Speed Sport News as the 2010 Economaki Champion of Champions. For more, click here.

Mazda has signed on as the title sponsor of the Road to Indy developmental ladder.

AMERICAN GUARD: J.R. Hildebrand will join Panther Racing and drive the No. 4 National Guard Dallara Honda in the IZOD IndyCar Series next year.

REVIVAL: The United States Auto Club (USAC) will revive Thursday Night Thunder at O’Reilly Raceway Park in Clermont, Indiana, next year. The series will feature the USAC Pavement Sprint Car Series exclusively.

NOW ALLOWED: The Federation Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA) has removed from the 2011 World Driving Championship regulations the ban forbidding Formula One teams from issuing team orders.

SIGN AND DRIVE: Nelson Piquet Jr. will drive full time for Kevin Harvick Inc. in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series next season.

SPLIT CITY: The USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series will feature an all-dirt slate next year, with pavement sprint cars getting their own championship series in 2011.

NOW IN CHARGE: Penske Racing has appointed Travis Geisler as the competition director for the organization’s NASCAR racing programs.

WELCOME BACK: Martin Brundle, a former winner of the Rolex 24 at Daytona in 1988, will return to Daytona in January as part of the United Autosports Daytona Prototype team with co-drivers Zak Brown, Mark Blundell and Mark Patterson.

NEW PACKAGE: A new rules package has been approved for use by teams in the Formula One World Championship in 2013, bringing an end to the normally aspirated engine era.

NATIONAL LEVEL: USAC will partner with the ARCA Racing Series to present National Championship weekend at Toledo (Ohio) Speedway October 15–16, 2011. USAC’s Silver Crown Series and the ARCA Racing Series will each crown their champions that weekend.

SUBSCRIBE: National Speed Sport News has been published weekly since 1934. To subscribe to National Speed Sport News, visit