People Places & Racing News

Racing News: New IndyCar Engine Formula Allows 2.4L Turbo Sixes in 2012

HORSEPOWER: The IZOD IndyCar Series has opened the door for more engine manufacturers to enter the series with its new engine formula, which will allow turbocharged engines at a maximum of six cylinders and a maximum displacement of 2.4 cu. l. The new rules are scheduled to go into effect for the 2012 season.

TRIPLE: Levi Jones won three of the four USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series events during the “Eastern Storm” tour. Chris Windom broke the streak with a victory in the tour finale at Big Diamond Raceway in Minersville, Pennsylvania, Friday.

STICKING AROUND: Formula One World Championship leader Mark Webber has signed a one-year contract extension to remain with the Red Bull Racing team.

ABC BODIES WELCOME: The Sunoco ASA LMS National Tour will allow ABC-bodied cars to race alongside the division’s new Mustang and Camaro body styles for the remainder of the year.

SUSPENDED: Will Vaught has been suspended for one year by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, Lucas Oil Midwest Latemodel Racing Association and Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Missouri, for his actions during the DART Show-Me 100 at Lucas Oil Speedway May 29.

LONG LASTING: Interstate Batteries officials have signed a long-term extension with Joe Gibbs Racing (JGR) that will keep the company associated with JGR for the foreseeable future.

WELCOME TO MARYLAND: The IZOD IndyCar Series will make its first visit to Baltimore next year. The series will race on a 2.4-mile street course with several support divisions August 5–7, 2011.

BIGGER IS BETTER: NASCAR officials announced Monday that NASCAR Sprint Cup teams will use carburetor restrictor-plate openings of 1 1/32 inches for the Coke Zero 400 at Daytona International Speedway July 3, the largest such plates since their introduction in 1988.

IN THE HALL: Champion drivers Fred Linder and Bobbie Adamson, mechanic Don Shepherd and car owner Casey Luna led a class of 12 new members inducted to the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame in Knoxville, Iowa, June 5. Other inductees were Frank Riddle, Hal Robson, Fred Brownfield, Ben Krasner, Hank Arnold, Herman Schurch, Clyde Adams and George Bentel.

SUBSCRIBE: National Speed Sport News has been published weekly since 1934. Subscribe to National Speed Sport News for a special industry rate.