People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Jean Todt Replaces Max Mosley as FIA President

ELECTED: Jean Todt has been elected FIA President and will replace Max Mosley, who has held the position since the early '90s.

HVM Racing team owner says he is committed to improving his team for the 2010 IRL IndyCar Series season. Robert Doornbos will remain as one driver for the two-car operation while the team is currently exploring options for a second driver who would replace E.J. Viso, whose contract has expired.

BACK ON THE SCENE: Dan Andersen, co-founder of the U.S. F2000 National Championship during the '90s, is recreating the series with sanctioning from the Indy Racing League.

Elliott Sadler, one of four members of the Richard Petty Motorsports NASCAR team, will make the switch to a Ford this weekend at Talladega (Alabama) Superspeedway. The entire team will move to Fords during the off-season.

PAVE IT: Albany-Saratoga Speedway in Malta, New York, and Devil’s Bowl Speedway in West Haven, Vermont, will both be paved prior to the 2010 racing season. Both tracks are operated by the Champlain Valley Racing Association.

NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Jimmie Johnson remained at the top of the National Speed Sport News Power Rankings. The rankings appear weekly in America’s Motorsports Authority.

SUBSCRIBE: National Speed Sport News has been published weekly since 1934. Subscribe to National Speed Sport News for a special industry rate.