People Places & Racing News

Racing News: NASCAR Changes Start Times for Next Season to Help Boost Ratings

STANDARD TIMES: Next season, 28 of the 36 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series events are scheduled for 1:00 p.m. Eastern time television starts as NASCAR and the networks attempt to move to a standard starting time in an attempt to raise ratings.

TELEVISION: The American Le Mans Series announced its 2010 season of events will be televised by the combination of Speed TV and CBS.

THE STANG: Ford Motor Company and Roush Fenway Racing unveiled the racing version of the Ford Mustang, which will compete in four NASCAR Nationwide Series events in 2010 before joining the series fulltime in 2011 as part of NASCAR’s Car of Tomorrow program.

Goodyear signed a three-year contract as title sponsor of the Knoxville Nationals, beginning with next year’s 50th anniversary of the prestigious sprint-car racing event at Iowa’s Knoxville Raceway.

SIGNED: Robert Kubica has signed to drive for Renault during the 2010 Formula One season.

CHAMPIONS: Dario Franchitti claimed the IRL IndyCar Series championship. Justin Lofton held on to take the ARCA RE/MAX Series title. Jon Fogarty and Alex Gurney claimed the Grand Am Rolex Series Daytona Prototype crown, and David Brabham and Scott Sharp earned the American Le Mans Series LMP1 title.

TO THE TOP: NHRA Pro Stock point-leader Mike Edwards moved to the top of the National Speed Sport News Power Rankings. The rankings appear weekly in America’s Motorsports Authority.

SUBSCRIBE: National Speed Sport News has been published weekly since 1934. Subscribe to National Speed Sport News for a special industry rate.