People Places & Racing News

Racing News: Petty Motorsports and Yates Racing Join Forces

MERGER: Richard Petty Motorsports and Yates Racing have agreed in principle to a merger that would combine the two teams, which would field Fords for drivers A.J. Allmendinger, Kasey Kahne, Elliott Sadler and Paul Menard in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series next season.

Veteran second-generation racer Bart Hartman, the son of Butch Hartman, won the prestigious World 100 dirt-late-model race at Ohio’s Eldora Speedway.

The 12 drivers qualified for The Chase for the Cup in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series are: Tony Stewart, Carl Edwards, Greg Biffle, Mark Martin, Jimmie Johnson, Jeff Gordon, Juan Pablo Montoya, Ryan Newman, Kasey Kahne, Kurt Busch, Denny Hamlin and Brian Vickers.

ON THE MOVE: Pat Tryson, crew chief for Kurt Busch, will leave Penske Racing and join Michael Waltrip Racing to call the shots for Martin Truex, Jr. at the end of this season.

ON SALE: Tickets for the 2010 Indianapolis 500 went on sale to the general public Monday at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

TO THE TOP: With a victory in the Gold Cup Race of Champions at Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico, California, Joey Saldana remained at the top of the National Speed Sport News Power Rankings. The rankings appear weekly in America’s Motorsports Authority.

SUBSCRIBE: National Speed Sport News has been published weekly since 1934. Subscribe to National Speed Sport News for a special industry rate.