People Places & Racing News


Robert Oswald, chairman of Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems, was appointed to the DURA Automotive Systems board of directors. Oswald became chairman of Bendix Commercial Vehicle Systems in 2003. He was CEO from March 2002 to September 2003. Prior to Bendix, he was chairman, president and CEO of Robert Bosch Corp., and a member of the board of management of Robert Bosch, GmbH. Oswald joined Bosch in 1989 and held board and North American management positions from July 1996 until his retirement in December 2000.

A.R.E. announced that it is the exclusive U.S. distributor of the SpaceKap, a versatile truck cap manufactured by Canadian-based Fibrocap Inc. "At A.R.E., we pride ourselves on offering quality cargo management and organizational solutions that fit our customers' needs, whether they require a fully equipped fleet of construction trucks or they deliver temperature-sensitive goods that must be kept refrigerated," said Jim Blayne, commercial/fleet sales manager for A.R.E. "The SpaceKap is a great addition to our current line and will provide niche markets with an innovative, unique product to keep their businesses running smoothly."

Josh Barinstein (middle), winner of Yokohama's ecoTreadsetters video contest.

Yokohama Tire Corporation (YTC) announced that Josh Barinstein of West Linn, Oregon, was the grand-prize winner of an all-expense paid trip to Costa Rica for his entry in YTC’s ecoTreadsetters video contest. Titled "Helping the Earth—One Step at a Time," the 60-second clip (available here: stars Barinstein's sons Nathan and Skyler providing tips on how people can protect the environment, including by reusing grocery bags, recycling and using environmentally friendly products. Barinstein will travel to Costa Rica in October 2008.

The WyoTech Campus will host the 1st Annual Wounded Warrior Car Show for the Benefit of the Injured Marine Semper Fi Fund, this Sunday, August 17, 2008, 9:30 a.m.–3:00 p.m. The event is open to all pre-’74 American cars, trucks, special-interest vehicles and motorcycles and is limited to the first 325 entries. WyoTech’s campus is located at 2161 Technology Pl., in Long Beach, California. For more information and an entry form, click here (


Miller Electric Mfg. will provide hands-on welding demos to attendees of the 2008 SEMA Show.

The Miller Electric Mfg. Co. invites attendees of the 2008 SEMA Show to get hands-on experience and expert demonstrations of MIG welding, TIG welding and plasma-cutting at the Miller booth (#23913) in the Racing & Performance section. The company plans to debut its new TIG welder on November 4, the opening day of the Show.

A new exhibit celebrating the 60th anniversary of NASCAR is now open through February 28, 2009, at the Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum, presented by the Automobile Club of Southern California. The exhibit opened on August 6 in conjunction with the Museum's monthly Prolong Twilight Cruise Night. Among the cars on display is Dale Earnhardt's famous #3 Monte Carlo that raced at Daytona. For more information, contact the Wally Parks NHRA Motorsports Museum (1101 W. McKinley Ave., Bldg. 3A, Pomona, California 91768) at 909/622-8562.

The Motorsports Hall of Fame of America inducted seven racing legends at its 20th annual Induction Ceremony (Wednesday, August 13) at the Fillmore Detroit. The class of 2008 includes drag racing king John Force; open-wheel racing champion Michael Andretti; NASCAR great Buddy Baker; sports car champion Richie Ginther; motorcycle hero Wayne Rainey; aerobatic pilot Betty Skelton; and one of America's most versatile competitors, Paul Goldsmith. Legendary Indy car team owner Carl Haas was also recognized as the ninth recipient of the Bob Russo Heritage Award for his significant contribution to American motorsports.