People Places & Racing News


MIDGET MADNESS: Anderson (Indiana) Speedway, long the home of the annual Little 500 sprint-car race, has scheduled a 400-lap midget race for its quarter-mile asphalt oval. The event is scheduled July 26 and is expected to pay $7,000 to the winner.

TOP DOGS: Donny Schatz, Jon Stanbrough and Gary Wright were voted the Drivers of the Year by the respective North American 410, Non-winged and 360 Sprint Car Polls. The combined polls also awarded the Outstanding Contribution to the Sport Award to longtime USAC media director Dick Jordan.

PROMOTED: Lowe’s Motor Speedway issued promotions to longtime employees Lauri Wilks, Roger Slack and Scott Cooper. Wilks is vice president of management and administration, while Slack will serve as vice president of events. Finally, Cooper was promoted vice president of communications.

NEW SPONSOR: NASCAR announced Camping World as the new title sponsor for the NASCAR East and West Series, with the divisions renamed the NASCAR Camping World Series. As well, NASCAR extended its sponsorship agreement with Whelen for the Whelen NASCAR Modified Series and the Whelen Southern Modified Series.

TV: The IRL IndyCar Series will return to ABC, ESPN and ESPN2 television in 2008.

SPEED DEMON: Rookie James Buescher turned the fastest lap during three days of ARCA RE/MAX Series testing at Daytona International Speedway.

SUBSCRIBE: National Speed Sport News has been published weekly since 1934. To subscribe to National Speed Sport News, click on the following link for a special industry rate: