People Places & Racing News


TOYOTA TIME: Toyota is scheduled to debut its new 360 c.i. sprint-car engine Thanksgiving night at Irwindale Speedway. Bobby Santos III will pilot a Western Speed Racing entry equipped with the Toyota powerplant during the sprint-car portion of the Turkey Night Grand Prix.

DENIED: McLaren’s appeal of the finish of the Brazilian Grand Prix, which concluded the Formula One season, was denied last week by the FIA’s International Court of Appeals. Kimi Raikkonen was thus confirmed as World Driving Champion.

NEW DRIVES: Brad Keselowski will drive Dale Earnhardt, Jr.’s U.S. Navy Chevrolet in the Nationwide Series next season, while 18-year-old road racer Colin Braun will drive Roush Fenway Racing’s No. 6 entry in the Craftsman Truck Series.

NATIONWIDER: Dario Franchitti will share a Fastenal-sponsored Dodge in the NASCAR Nationwide (Busch) Series next season with Reed Sorenson.

NEW OUTLAW: Second-generation Pennsylvania sprint-car driver Lucas Wolfe will race full time with the World of Outlaws next season. Wolfe and the Allebach Motorsports team, with which he won 10 races this past season, will hit the road with Wolfe’s father Randy as crew chief.

ADD ONE: The American Sprint Car Series will add a Northwest Region for the 2008 season.

NUMBER ONE: After clinching the Nextel Cup championship, Jimmie Johnson remained atop the National Speed Sport News Power Rankings.

SUBSCRIBE: National Speed Sport News has been published weekly since 1934. To subscribe to National Speed Sport News, click on the following link for a special industry rate: