Scholarship Committee

SEMA Member News - September/October 2010

2010 Scholarship and Loan Forgiveness Awards Announced 

  SEMA Member News-SEMA Scholarship Committee 
  The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund fosters the next generation of industry leaders and innovators, offering scholarships to today’s brightest students at universities, colleges and/or vocational schools in both the United States and Canada. Such future leaders also take part in other industry activities, such as the Manufacturers’ Rep Council Student Intern Breakfast at the annual SEMA Show.   
Through the SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund, the association is dedicated to fostering the next generation of industry leaders and innovators, offering scholarships to today’s brightest students at universities, colleges and/or vocational schools in both the United States and Canada. Four-year, two-year, graduate and member dependent scholarships range from $1,000–$2,000, with $4,000 going to the top student.

The SEMA Loan Forgiveness Program, meanwhile, is dedicated to aiding recent graduates in getting their auto aftermarket careers off to a successful start, offering a minimum of $1,000 toward outstanding student loans for individuals employed by SEMA-member companies.

Scholarships are awarded based on the selections of SEMA judges and the Scholarship Committee. To qualify, the applicant must have a 2.5 minimum GPA, 25 minimum credits for two-year scholarships, 50 minimum credits for four-year awards, proof that the student is in an automotive field of study and a completed application. The applicant also needs to supply SEMA with two letters of recommendation, an essay and current official transcripts. Working for a member company or being a dependent of an employee of a member company significantly enhances the applicant’s chances.

The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund distributes more than $100,000 each year to the top students seeking careers in the automotive industry. Since the founding of the program in 1984, SEMA has distributed more than $1 million to nearly 800 students. The 2010 Scholarship and Loan Forgiveness Programs received 256 eligible applications. The Scholarship Committee reviewed and approved 67 total winners and awarded $108,000. There were 54 scholarship awards and 13 loan-forgiveness awards. A total of 27 awards went to students affiliated with SEMA-member companies as either employees or dependents of employees.

SEMA and the Scholarship Committee congratulate the following award winners and wish them the best of luck with their continuing education and careers within the automotive industry.


Scholarship Awards

  • Adedotun Adeluyi, St. Francis College
  • David Arnouts, University of Michigan: Dearborn, John Raffa Award
  • Katelyn Bailey, Lincoln Technical Institute
  • Kirk Barber, Indiana University-Purdue University, Indianapolis, Dan Borre Award
  • Andrew Baum, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Yana Briggs, Art Center College of Design
  • Ryan Brimhall, Weber State University
  • Devin Butterbrodt, Iowa State University
  • Joseph Campbell, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Bradley Cannon, California State Polytechnic University: Pomona, Harlan Felder Award
  • Meghan Chamberlain, Oakland University, Truck and Off-Road Alliance Award
  • Thomas Colvin, University of Toledo
  • Jennifer Cook, Antelope Valley College, Performance Warehouse Association Award
  • Douglass Coppage, Georgia Institute of Technology, Bernie Karp Award
  • Cayle Damrow, University of Wisconsin-Stout, Street Performance Council Award
  • Christopher Day, San Bernardino Valley College, K&N Engineering Award
  • Krystle Dozier, California State University, Chico
  • Lee Esten, Rio Hondo College, Eastwood Award
  • Thomas Fischer, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, Michael A. Kunzman Award 
  • Daniel Fourie, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Top Student Award
  • Samuel Gage, Indiana University
  • Anthony Gregory, University of Texas at Austin
  • Dylan Hellman, Art Institute of Colorado, Jim A. Borre Award
  • Jared Hokanson, Brigham Young University, Idaho
  • Amy Kao, Carnegie Mellon University



Scholarship Awards (cont.)

  •  Donovan Krehbiel, Kansas State Universit
  • Soochan Lee, College For Creative Studies, Yee Award
  • Jessica Martens, University of Michigan
  • Brandon Mase, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Joe Amato Award
  • Ashley Matejka, University of Akron
  • Andrew Mattord, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Grant Maus, Montana State University: Billings College of Technology, Hot Rod Industry Alliance Award
  • Isaac McAllister, Virginia Western Community College
  • Walter McAllister, Virginia Western Community College
  • Jack McCulloch, Gwinnett Technical Institute
  • Thomas McDuffee, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
  • Steven McKee, University of Missouri: Columbia, Jeff Moses Automotive Restoration Market Organization Award
  • Aaron Miller, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Bradley Miller, Pennsylvania College of Technology

Loan Forgiveness Awards

  • Eric Bailey, Summit Racing Equipment
  • Matthew Bowles, Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., Wheel & Tire Council Award
  • Christopher Brown, Petersen Automotive Museum, Phil Weiand Award
  • Mike Clark, Dee Zee, Dee Zee Award
  • Sara Crooks-Naze, BCS International
  • Debra Dixon-Coen, Nissan USA, Trudy Thompson-Top Female Award
  • Chris Gray, Marquez Design
  • Jaclyn Kilani, Garage Equipment Supply, Young Executive’s Network Award
  • Yamuna McGuire, Skyjacker Suspensions, SEMA Businesswomen’s Network Award
  • Lynn Meredith, TruXedo, Inc., Professional Restylers Organization Award
  • Terri Northup, Auburn Gear Inc.
  • Brandon Whitsell, Competition Cams, Joe Hrudka Award