Annual SBN Awards Announced at Speed Networking Breakfast

SEMA Member News
January/February 2012

Annual SBN Awards Announced at Speed Networking Breakfast

Bernice Sanders was presented with the Woman of the Year award. 
Amy Faulk was chosen for the Mentor of the Year award.
Jody DeVere was honored with the prestigious Athena award.
On November 3, the SEMA Speed Networking Breakfast, Powered by the SEMA Businesswomen’s Network (SBN), was sold out once again and well attended by both men and women. The breakfast has become the premiere event for networking and provided an avenue for the SBN to celebrate and honor the distinguished careers of three important people.

“The entire SBN membership votes on these coveted awards,” said Marla Moore, chairman of the SBN select committee. “But there were so many exceptional candidates nominated this year that our awards committee was burdened with the task of narrowing the field to the top three finalists. This was an extremely difficult task, since every nominee was outstanding and deserving of the award.”

The prestigious Athena Award was ultimately awarded to Jody DeVere. The honor is given to a person or company that has made a significant contribution to the professional growth of women in the industry. DeVere is the CEO of Inc., a website, blog and marketing agency that provides automotive education to female consumers and includes training, marketing support, education and certifications to a variety of automotive businesses. With more than 25 years in sales and marketing leadership, DeVere is a champion for women in the automotive industry. Her company serves as the first point of contact for many women who are seeking the very best experience in car sales and service across the United States and Canada.

Bernice Sanders was presented with the Woman of the Year award, established in 2002 to recognize the outstanding achievements and contributions of a woman in the automotive aftermarket. Sanders is an icon in the automotive aftermarket, having devoted her entire career to the industry and SEMA. She has held positions with the National Hot Rod Association, SCORE International and Petersen Publishing Company, and she is currently aftermarket sales director for the Motor Trend auto group and senior sales representative for more than 50 Source Interlink Media automotive publications. She serves on SEMA’s Scholarship Fund select committee and the SEMA Cares charity committee. She was an SBN founding member and served on the SBN select committee for many years.

Amy Faulk was chosen for the Mentor of the Year Award, created to acknowledge and honor an individual for his or her wisdom, encouragement and willingness to “help others along” as a foundation for growth within the industry. Faulk is the CEO of Hypertech. She is “The Winningest Woman In Racing” and is the only woman to win national events in three categories: Super Stock, Competition Eliminator and Alcohol Dragster. She was the first woman to win a national event in an alcohol category and is widely respected for her extensive knowledge of cars and the racing/automotive industry. She founded and was the first chairman of the SBN. Her awards and industry accomplishments include 2003 NHRA Division 2 Sportsman Hall of Fame Award, 2003 PWA Person of the Year, 2002 SEMA Hall of Fame, NHRA Appreciation Award, SEMA Person of the Year, SBN Athena Award, Northwoods University Education Award 2000, SBN 2007 Woman of the Year and 2010 MPMC Hall of Fame induction. Faulk has served on numerous SEMA committees as well as the SEMA Board of Directors. She created the SEMA Silent Auction and the MPMC Media Trade Conference.

The SBN Awards Breakfast concluded with 60 minutes of productive speed networking, where attendees were allowed three-minute segments of one-on-one time to exchange information, demonstrating that it doesn’t take long to make a crucial contact. If you didn’t have a chance to attend this year, look for information via the SBN mailings, SEMA eNews or go to

The SBN Select Committee would like to thank the following organizations for their outstanding support. This event would simply not be possible without it.

Platinum Sponsors

  • Magnuson Products
  • RTM Productions

Gold Sponsors

  • COMP Performance Group
  • Kahn Media
  • K&N Engineering
  • Spencer, Fane, Britt & Browne
  • Toyota Motor Sales

Silver Sponsors

  • Adli Law Group, P.C.
  • Alliant Insurance
  • Cal State University San Bernardino
  • Flex-a-lite Consolidated
  • Hypertech
  • Mickey Thompson Performance Tires & Wheels
  • Skyjacker Suspensions
  • The Marx Group