SEMA News - May 2010 

The Congressional Automotive Performance and Motorsports Caucus


United States Senator Jon Tester takes a ride in a classic Cobra. Senator Tester is an avid auto enthusiast who enjoys restoring cars with his son when not in Washington.  

For the past 14 years, a coalition of lawmakers who support the specialty-equipment aftermarket and recognize our industry’s positive economic impact has been growing on Capitol Hill.

The Congressional Automotive Performance and Motorsports Caucus is now nearing 100 members and pays tribute to America’s ever-growing love affair with the car and motorsports.

The caucus also helps SEMA develop lasting working relationships with U.S. representatives and senators who share a love for the automobile and are working to promote the growth and advancement of the auto hobby. SEMA began working with some caucus members when they served as state legislators, before their election to national office. In Washington, SEMA works in partnership with caucus members to amplify the message among national policymakers that the automotive performance industry is a vital engine in today’s economy, employing more than a million Americans and generating $32 billion in sales annually.

The legislators listed below have publicly shown their appreciation for our industry by joining the caucus. If you recognize your representative or senator, please consider taking a moment to thank them for their participation in the caucus. If you do not see your representatives on the list, consider contacting their offices to encourage them to join. Visit for information on how to contact your officials.


Congressional Automotive Performance and Motorsports Caucus Members



Sam Brownback (R-KS)
Richard Burr (R-NC)
Michael Crapo (R-ID)
Jim DeMint (R-SC)
John Ensign (R-NV)
Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX)
John Kerry (D-MA)
Jon Kyl (R-AZ)
Mary Landrieu (D-LA)
Carl Levin (D-MI)
Debbie Stabenow (D-MI)
Jon Tester (D-MT)


Brian Baird (D-WA)
Joe Barton (R-TX)
Shelley Berkley (D-NV)
Sanford Bishop (D-GA)
Marsha Blackburn (R-TN)
John Boozman (R-AR)
Leonard Boswell (D-IA)
Rick Boucher (D-VA)
Allen Boyd (D-FL)
Kevin Brady (R-TX)
Ginny Brown-Waite (R-FL)
Michael Burgess (R-TX)
Dan Burton (R-IN)
Ken Calvert (R-CA)
John Campbell (R-CA)
André Carson (D-IN)
Howard Coble (R-NC)
Jim Cooper (D-TN)
Jerry Costello (D-IL)
Lincoln Davis (D-TN)
Mike Doyle (D-PA)
John J. Duncan (R-TN)
Bob Etheridge (D-NC)
Randy Forbes (R-VA)
Trent Franks (R-AZ)
Elton Gallegly (R-CA)
Bob Goodlatte (R-VA) 
Bart Gordon (D-TN)
Gene Green (D-TX)
Ralph Hall (R-TX)
Doc Hastings (R-WA)
Jeb Hensarling (R-TX)



Bob Inglis (R-SC)
Darrell Issa (R-CA)
Walter Jones (R-NC)
Paul Kanjorski (D-PA)
Marcy Kaptur (D-OH)
Dale E. Kildee (D-MI)
Steve LaTourette (R-OH)
Sander M. Levin (D-MI)
John Linder (R-GA)
Frank LoBiondo (R-NJ)
Donald Manzullo (R-IL)
Patrick McHenry (R-NC)
Mike McIntyre (D-NC)
Howard McKeon (R-CA)
Gary Miller (R-CA)
Jeff Miller (R-FL)
Dennis Moore (D-KS)
Sue Myrick (R-NC)
Tom Petri (R-WI)
Bill Posey (R-FL)
Adam Putnam (R-FL)
George Radanovich (R-CA)
Nick Rahall (D-WV)
Silvestre Reyes (D-TX)
Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA)
Mike Rogers (R-MI)
Steven R. Rothman (D-NJ)
Edward Royce (R-CA)
Loretta Sanchez (D-CA)
Adam Schiff (D-CA)
Jean Schmidt (R-OH)
Pete Sessions (R-TX)
Joe Sestak (D-PA)
Brad Sherman (D-CA)
Adam Smith (D-WA)
Vic Snyder (D-AR)
Mark Souder (R-IN)
John Spratt (D-SC)
Cliff Stearns (R-FL)
Bart Stupak (D-MI)
Todd Tiahrt (R-KS)
Patrick J. Tiberi (R-OH)
Michael Turner (R-OH)
Fred Upton (R- MI)
Zach Wamp (R-TN)
Joe Wilson (R-SC)    



Latest Related News

Cover Story
Tracking The Growth of an Ever-Evolving Industry
June 2023
View Article
Cover Story
Truck and Off-Road Market Trends
April 2023
View Article
Cover Story
The 2021 SEMA Show
January 2022
View Article