People Places & Racing News

Racing News: NASCAR Announces Nominees for Hall of Fame Class of 2023, Landmark Award

NASCAR Announces Nominees for Hall of Fame Class of 2023, Landmark Award

NASCAR has announced the 15 nominees for the NASCAR Hall of Fame’s (NHOF) class of 2023, a group that will comprise the first Hall of Fame ballot in two years following the pandemic. Award winners are also eligible for NHOF enshrinement. The NASCAR Hall of Fame Voting Panel, comprised of 62 industry professionals, will vote for the class of 2023 and Landmark Award on Wednesday, May 4. The 63rd vote goes to winners of a Fan Vote (, which is will close on April 29. Following are the NASCAR Hall of Fame Class of 2023 nominees and Landmark Award nominees:

Modern Era Ballot

  • Neil Bonnett, won 18 times in the NASCAR Cup Series including consecutive Coca-Cola 600 victories.
  • Tim Brewer, two-time NASCAR Cup Series champion crew chief.
  • Jeff Burton, won 21 times in the NASCAR Cup Series including the Southern 500 and two Coca-Cola 600s.
  • Carl Edwards, winner of 28 NASCAR Cup Series races and 2007 Xfinity Series champion.
  • Harry Gant, winner of 18 NASCAR Cup Series races, including two Southern 500 victories.
  • Harry Hyde, 1970 NASCAR Cup Series championship crew chief.
  • Matt Kenseth, 2003 NASCAR Cup Series champion and winner of 39 Cup races.
  • Larry Phillips, first five-time NASCAR weekly series national champion.
  • Ricky Rudd, won 23 times in NASCAR Cup Series, including the 1997 Brickyard 400.
  • Kirk Shelmerdine, four-time NASCAR Cup Series champion crew chief.

Pioneer Ballot

  • Sam Ard, NASCAR Xfinity Series pioneer and two-time champion.
  • AJ Foyt, won seven NASCAR Cup Series races including the 1972 Daytona 500.
  • Banjo Matthews, built cars that won more than 250 NASCAR Cup Series races and three championships.
  • Hershel McGriff, 1986 NASCAR West Series champion.
  • Ralph Moody, two-time NASCAR Cup Series owner champion as the “mechanical genius” of Holman-Moody.

Landmark Award

  • Janet Guthrie, the first female to compete in a NASCAR Cup Series superspeedway race.
  • Alvin Hawkins, NASCAR’s first flagman; established NASCAR racing at Bowman Gray Stadium with Bill France Sr.
  • Mike Helton, named third president of NASCAR in 2000; career included track operator roles at Atlanta Motor Speedway and Talladega Superspeedway.
  • Lesa France Kennedy, NASCAR executive vice chair and one of the most influential women in sports.
  • Dr. Joseph Mattioli, founder of Pocono Raceway.

Nitro RXNitro Rallycross to Launch Global Series in June, Announces All-Electric Class  

Nitro Rallycross (Nitro RX) will launch its inaugural global season on June 18–19 at England’s Lydden Hill Race Circuit for the first of ten races staged in six countries, including Sweden, Finland, Canada, Saudi Arabia and the United States. The 2022–23 Nitro RX season will also feature competition with the debut of the FC1-X in the new Group E division. Created by First Corner, LLC, in collaboration with QEV Technologies and Nitro RX, the FC1-X delivers the electric equivalent of 1,070 peak hp and accelerates from 0–60 in 1.4 seconds. In addition, the Supercar class and NRX Next class return for this season.  

2022–23 Nitro Rallycross Championship Schedule (subject to change)

  • June 18–19: England (Lydden Hill Race Circuit)
  • July 30–31: Sweden
  • August 27–28: Finland
  • October 1–2: Minneapolis
  • October 29–30: Los Angeles
  • November 12–3: Phoenix
  • December 10–11: Saudi Arabia
  • January 21–22, 2023: Quebec, Canada
  • February 4–5, 2023: Alberta, Canada
  • March TBA, 2023: Nitro RX 2022–23 Series Finale, TBA, USA

For more information, visit

Toyota GazooToyota Gazoo Racing Announces New Single-Make Series “GR Cup”

Toyota Gazoo Racing North America has announced a new single-make series, the “GR Cup,” featuring the Toyota GR86. Based in the United States, the GR Cup will feature seven race events with dates and locations to be announced later. Each competitor will run identical Toyota GR86 vehicles, emphasizing driver skill and car setup. For more information, visit

Las Vegas to Host Formula 1 Night Race in 2023

Formula 1 has announced that Las Vegas will provide the backdrop to Formula 1’s newest race when the American city hosts a night event beginning in 2023. The Las Vegas Grand Prix will take place on a Saturday next November and be one of three races in the United States, joining Miami and Austin. Las Vegas hosted races in 1981 and 1982, but this will be the first time F1 cars will race on the Las Vegas Strip. The 14-turn track will run for 3.8 miles with top speeds expected to hit around 212 mph. The design features three straights, a high-speed cornering sequence and a single chicane section, with the Grand Prix to be run over 50 laps. For more information, visit

Photo courtesy: NHRA

Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park to Close After 2023 NHRA Race

The Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park in Chandler, Arizona, has announced that the 2023 NHRA race will serve as the final event for the facility. The park will celebrate its 40th year of NHRA racing during next year’s Arizona Nationals. The park features four race tracks, including a 1/4-mile, NHRA-sanctioned dragstrip; a 1.6-mile road course; a 10-turn, 1.25-mile road course; and a 1.1-mile road course with a 0.375-mile straightaway. It also features a 2.4-mile IHBA- and APBA-sanctioned oval lake. A new overpass roadway for an I-10 extension will utilize the space now occupied by the track. For more information, visit

TascaPPG Renews Tasca Racing Sponsorship for 2022 Season

PPG has announced its renewed sponsorship of the Tasca Racing team for the 2022 NHRA season. Bob Tasca III, Tasca Racing team president and driver, will compete in 22 events across the U.S. in this year’s NHRA Nitro Funny Car division. The team’s Ford Shelby Mustang Nitro Funny Car will display PPG’s colorful livery in the races at the New England Dragway in Epping, New Hampshire and the Maple Grove Raceway in Mohnton, Pennsylvania.

For more racing news, visit Performance Racing Industry’s (PRI) website.