Breaking News

NHRA Breakfast: Four Legends to Share Their Stories

By John Stewart

NHRA Breakfast
The NHRA Breakfast will be held Wednesday, October 31, from 7:30 a.m.–9:00 a.m., at the Westgate Las Vegas Resort and Casino Paradise Events Center.

The 2018 NHRA Breakfast, held Wednesday, October 31, from 7:30 a.m.–9:00 a.m., at the Westgate Paradise Events Center, will showcase celebrity drivers who have been on the road to “Fifty Years of the NHRA Gatornationals.” The breakfast will feature drag-racing legends Kenny Bernstein, Joe Amato, Don “The Snake” Prudhomme and current NHRA driver John Force. FOX broadcast announcer Brian Lohnes will serve as the panel moderator, asking probing questions to provide attendees with a revealing glimpse into some of the best-kept stories of the historic Gatornationals. A continental breakfast will be served to a capacity crowd of attendees, on hand to share in the panel’s great stories, histories and laughs.

“To have John Force, Kenny Bernstein, Joe Amato and Don “The Snake” Prudhomme all on one stage is a very rare occurrence,” Lohnes stated.

The annual NHRA Breakfast is a key feature of the 2018 SEMA Show—the premier automotive specialty products trade event in the world—which draws the industry’s brightest minds and products under one roof, the Las Vegas Convention Center.

About The Panel

Kenny Bernstein: Nicknamed the “King of Speed,” Bernstein was the first driver to break the elusive 300-mph barrier at the Gatornationals in 1992. He’s won the Gatornationals four times in his career and was the first driver in history to win a championship in both Funny Car and Top Fuel.

Joe Amato: Amato secured 52 national event wins in Top Fuel and five world championship titles. He raced to three career victories at the Gatornationals. He was the first driver in the sports history to run 280 mph in 1987 and a 4.5-second pass in 1996.

Don “The Snake” Prudhomme: Prudhomme had 49 national event victories—35 in Funny Car and 14 in Top Fuel—as well as four consecutive Funny Car world championships. Five of those event wins happening at Gainesville Raceway. As a team owner, he garnered two Top Fuel world championships with Larry Dixon as his driver in 2002 and 2003.

John Force: A 16-time Funny Car world champion, Force has 149 career victories and counting, making him the winningest driver in NHRA history. He has secured eight career victories at the Gatornationals, most recently in 2017.