Breaking News

2018 SEMA Industry Awards Nominations Now Open

By SEMA Editors

SEMA Industry Awards
MagnaFlow was named the 2017 SEMA Manufacturer of the Year and was recognized on stage at the 2017 SEMA Industry Awards Banquet.

Nominations are now open for SEMA’s prestigious industry awards, which are presented at the SEMA Show Industry Awards Banquet. The awards are Manufacturer of the Year, Person of the Year, Representative Agency of the Year, Warehouse Distributor of the Year and GEN-III Innovator of the Year. All SEMA members are invited to nominate individuals and companies who have made a significant impact on the specialty-equipment market.

The 2018 SEMA Show Industry Awards Banquet takes place Thursday, November 1, from 7:00 p.m.–10:00 p.m., at the Westgate Garden Patio & Paradise Event Center in Las Vegas.

Nominate Now!

Manufacturer of the Year: The SEMA Manufacturer of the Year Award has been established to honor a manufacturer for their outstanding contribution to the industry during the past 12 months corresponding with the SEMA fiscal year, July 1, 2017–June 30, 2018.

Person of the Year: The SEMA Person of the Year Award was established in 1969 to honor individuals for their outstanding contributions to the association and the automotive aftermarket as a whole. During the selection process, the task force takes into consideration the nominees’ service beyond their normal job function over the past year. Full criteria is available on the SEMA awards webpage, along with a listing of past honorees. In order to assist the Person of the Year Task Force in making its selection, a brief statement, including the nominee’s accomplishments, is required at the time of submission.

Rep Agency of the Year: The SEMA Rep Agency of the Year Award honors a manufacturers’ rep agency for its contribution to the industry for the past 12 months. Considerations include product-line knowledge, communication of critical information between supplier and the client network, updated catalogs, databases and price sheets and continuous training and education programs.

Warehouse Distributor of the Year: The SEMA WD of the Year Award recognizes a warehouse distributor that operates with the integrity and business practices that set the company apart as an industry leader. Over the last year, the ideal candidate will have been involved in industry events, serviced and communicated with suppliers and resellers with excellence and provided development opportunities for clients and staff.

GEN-III Innovator of the Year: SEMA is seeking nominations to recognize young innovators who exhibit the same pioneering spirit as the original industry founders, and whose work is changing the way the automotive aftermarket does business. He or she may have been the first to act on a new trend, invented an original product or devised and implemented ideas that better suit the current marketplace. Qualifying nominees must be younger than 40 as of December 31, 2018.

All SEMA members are invited to nominate the companies and individuals that conduct business in a way that furthers the interests of the entire industry. Nominations close Friday, July 13. The SEMA awards website provides photos from previous banquets and information regarding the rich history of award winners, award criteria and how to nominate industry leaders to win awards in multiple categories.

For questions regarding the SEMA Awards program, contact Lindsay Bianco at or 909-978-6692.