Breaking News

2015 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Winners Announced

By Della Domingo

The online application for next year’s scholarships will be accepted November 1, 2015, through April 1, 2016.

The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded $150,000 to 58 individuals this year. This includes 45 SEMA scholarships presented to current students and 13 loan-forgiveness awards presented to employees of SEMA-member companies.

Recipients of these scholarships will enter into the disciplines of automotive engineering and technology, automotive aftermarket, mechanical engineering, business management, electrical engineering, education, industrial engineering and design, automotive machinist, public affairs/administration, graphic design, communications, and computer and information sciences.

More than $2 million has been awarded to more than 1,000 deserving students since the program’s establishment in 1984. The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund and the SEMA Loan Forgiveness Program are dedicated to fostering the next generation of automotive aftermarket industry leaders and innovators by helping them get off to a successful start in their education and automotive aftermarket career.

The online application for next year’s awards will be accepted November 1, 2015, through April 1, 2016.

For questions or additional information, please contact Juliet Marshall, SEMA education manager, at 909-978-6655 or email

2015 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Award Winners:

  • Tyler Bagby, University of Central Missouri
  • Steven Baltzell, Western Technical College (Jim A. Borre Award)
  • Charles Becker III, University of Northwestern Ohio (Motorsports Parts Manufactures Council (MPMC) – Dan Borre Award)
  • Jordan Belcher, Appalachian State University
  • Matthew Bisbee, Lake Superior College (Top Student Award)
  • Courtney Bisnee, Lake Superior College
  • Skyler Brungardt, South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
  • Brenden Bungert, University of Minnesota-Duluth
  • Erik Cahill, California Polytechnic State University San Luis Obispo (Hot Rod Industry Alliance (HRIA) – John Menzler Memorial Award)
  • Cody Casale, Art Center College of Design (Phil Weiand Award)
  • Trevor Chaney, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Brain Choe, University of Washington-Seattle Campus
  • Joel Cosby, Western Governors University
  • Elijah DeWitt, Iowa Central Community College
  • Nicholas D’Orazio, Georgia Institute of Technology (Bernie Karp Award)
  • Austin Ellis, Colorado School of Mines
  • Elizabeth Ellis, Texas A&M University
  • Almon Evans, University of Northwestern Ohio (Joe Hrudka Award)
  • Logan Farmer, University of Northwestern Ohio (Leo Kagan Award)
  • Lael Gobble, Georgia Institute of Technology (Bernie Karp Award)
  • Austin Hiebert, McPherson College (Automotive Restoration Market Organization [ARMO] – Jeff Moses Award)
  • Cynthia Jones, Tyler Junior College
  • Jeffery Kesterson, Oregon Institute of Technology (Thurston Warn Award)
  • Carl Klamn, Western Governors University (Louis L. Borick Award)
  • Daniel Konzelman, Northwest University (Manufacturer’s Representative Network [MRN] Award)
  • Bryan Kuhn, Walsh University (Performance Warehouse Association [PWA] Award)
  • Anna Layer, Western Michigan University
  • Kevin Letterman, Stanford University (Louis L. Borick Award)
  • Lillian Macaruso, University of Northwestern Ohio (Leo Kagan Award)
  • Alison Queener, Kettering University
  • Garrett Rider, University of Missouri-Columbia, (Wheel & Tire Council [WTC] – Michael Kunzman Award)
  • Bobby Robertson Jr., McPherson College
  • Robert Rose, University of Northwestern Ohio (Dick Dixon Award)
  • Michael Shinkarenko, Spokane Community College (Steve Woomer Award)
  • Kaylynn Simmons, University of Northwestern Ohio (SEMA Businesswomen’s Network [SBN] Award)
  • Allen-Michael Skowron, Kettering University
  • Sarah Spoto, University of Rochester
  • James Stray, School of Automotive Machinists
  • Patrick Stroupe, Art Center College of Design (Phil Weiand Award)
  • Ryan Talaga, Northwood University (Nat Danas Award)
  • Stephen Toth Jr., Ohio University (Harlan Felder Award)
  • Byron Walker, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Travis Walters, University of Northwest Ohio
  • Thomas Wee, Rosedale Technical Institute (Joseph B. Amato Sr. Award)
  • Christopher Zendejas, California State University Northridge (K&N Engineering Award)

2015 SEMA Loan Forgiveness Award Winners:

  • Robert Baldwin, Motor State Distributing (Performance Warehouse Association [PWA] Award)
  • Benjamin Bosworth, Pratt & Miller Engineering
  • Eric Burnett, Holley Performance Products
  • Andrew Clutter, A.R.E. Accessories, LLC (Truck and Off-Road Alliance [TORA] Award)
  • Calen Cussimanio, Nissan North America
  • Collin Gentry, Meyer Distributing
  • Robert Martin, Motor State Distributing/Lane Automotive (Performance Warehouse Association [PWA] Award)
  • Gregory Masterson, Smart Inc./Chemical Guys (Professional Restylers Organization [PRO] Award)
  • Bryan Newman, Coker Tire (Young Executives Network [YEN] Award)
  • Steven Reini, Pratt & Miller Engineering
  • Michael Robins, Ford Racing/Ford Performance
  • Jessica Smith-Tarry, Summit Racing Equipment
  • Jordan Sneathen, SEMO Classic Mustang Inc. (Walley Parks Award)