SEMA Awards $111,000 in Scholarships to Future Industry Leaders

  Paul Scooter Brothers speaks to scholarship students
  SEMA Chairman-Elect and former Memorial Scholarship Fund Committee Chairman Paul "Scooter" Brothers speaks to automotive students at the SEMA Show.
The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund, a program designed to foster leadership opportunities in the automotive specialty-equipment marketplace and support educational goals for students, has awarded 55 scholarships and 12 loan forgiveness awards totaling $111,000 for the 2010–2011 academic year.

“SEMA is privileged and proud to support the young talent that will ultimately lead our industry to future success," said Tom Myroniak, SEMA vice president of marketing and member services. "We're especially excited about this year's winners and believe that they will go on to make positive and significant contributions to our industry.”

The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund offers scholarships for students attending universities, colleges and/or vocational schools in either the United States or Canada. Awards in this program range from $1,000–$2,000, with $4,000 going to the top student.

The other program is a loan forgiveness award, which offers individuals who have been working for a SEMA-member company for at least one year the opportunity to receive $1,000 to pay for his or her existing student loan. For the 2010–2011 academic year, 55 scholarships were awarded, and 12 loan forgiveness awards were distributed.

Applications for the 2011–2012 program will be available at in December.

Scholarship Award Recipients
  • Adedotun Adeluyi, St. Francis College
  • David Arnouts, University of Michigan Dearborn, John Raffa Award
  • Katelyn Bailey, Lincoln Technical Institute
  • Kirk Barber, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis, Dan Borre Award
  • Andrew Baum, University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Yana Briggs, Art Center College of Design
  • Ryan Brimhall, Weber State University
  • Devin Butterbrodt, Iowa State University
  • Joseph Campbell, Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
  • Bradley Cannon, California State Polytechnic University: Pomona, Harlan Felder Award
  • Meghan Chamberlain, Oakland University, Truck and Off-Road Alliance Award
  • Thomas Colvin, University of Toledo
  • Jennifer Cook, Antelope Valley College, Performance Warehouse Association Award
  • Douglass Coppage, Georgia Institute of Technology, Bernie Karp Award
  • Cayle Damrow, University of Wisconsin-Stout, Street Performance Council Award
  • Christopher Day, San Bernardino Valley College, K&N Engineering Award
  • Krystle Dozier, California State University Chico
  • Lee Esten, Rio Hondo College, Eastwood Award
  • Thomas Fischer, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, Michael A. Kunzman Award
  • Daniel Fourie, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Top Student Award
  • Samuel Gage, Indiana University
  • Anthony Gregory, University of Texas Austin
  • Dylan Hellman, Art Institute of Colorado, Jim A. Borre Award
  • Jared Hokanson, Brigham Young University Idaho
  • Matthew Hovan, San Jose State University, Performance Warehouse Association Award
  • Amy Kao, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Donovan Krehbiel, Kansas State University
  • Soochan Lee, College For Creative Studies, Yee Award
  • Jessica Martens, University of Michigan
  • Brandon Mase, Pennsylvania College of Technology, Joe Amato Award
  • Ashley Matejka, University of Akron
  • Andrew Mattord, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Grant Maus, Montana State University: Billings College of Technology, Hot Rod Industry Alliance Award
  • Isaac McAllister, Virginia Western Community College
  • Walter McAllister, Virginia Western Community College
  • Jack McCulloch, Gwinnett Technical Institute
  • Thomas McDuffee, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale
  • Steven McKee, University of Missouri: Columbia, Jeff Moses – Automotive Restoration Market Organization Award
  • Aaron Miller, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Bradley Miller, Pennsylvania College of Technology
  • Dustin Montgomery, Indian Hills Community College
  • Kyle Morgan, Nashville Auto-Diesel College
  • Kale Nicodemus, Colorado State University Pueblo
  • Thomas Nolte, Wayne State University - Steve Woomer Award
  • Anthony Otero, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Matiaz Perez, Texas State Technical College Waco
  • Matthew Proctor, Weber State University
  • Andrew Raybon, Georgia Institute of Technology, Motorsports Parts Manufacturers Council (MPMC) Award
  • Alexander Richards, Southern Illinois University at Carbondale, L.L. Borrick Award
  • Logan Schwiger, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Clarice Smith, Purdue University
  • Cameron Sullivan, University of Alberta - Manufacturers Rep Council (MRC) Award
  • Collin Veele, Michigan Technological University, Wally Parks Award
  • Tahiem Williams, University of South Florida
  • Wei Yang, Purdue University, Melvin Burton Award
Loan Forgiveness Awards
  • Eric Bailey, Summit Racing Equipment
  • Matthew Bowles, Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., Wheel & Tire Council Award
  • Christopher Brown, Petersen Automotive Museum, Phil Weiand Award
  • Mike Clark, Dee Zee, Dee Zee Award
  • Sara Crooks-Naze, BCS International
  • Debra Dixon-Coen, Nissan USA, Trudy Thompson Top Female Award
  • Chris Gray, Marquez Design
  • Jaclyn Kilani, Garage Equipment Supply, Young Executive's Network Award
  • Yamuna McGuire, Skyjacker Suspensions, SEMA Businesswomen's Network Award
  • Lynn Meredith, TruXedo Inc., Professional Restylers Organization Award
  • Terri Northup, Auburn Gear Inc.
  • Brandon Whitsell, Competition Cams, Joe Hrudka Award