Breaking News

Who's the Top Tire Dealer? MTD Opens Nominations for Coveted Award

Nominations are now open for Modern Tire Dealer’s (MTD) 2010 Tire Dealer of the Year award, the industry’s most prestigious honor. In addition to the industry recognition, the Modern Tire Dealer Tire Dealer of the Year’s favorite charity will receive a minimum of $1,000 from MTD. The winner also will be featured on the cover of the September issue and spotlighted in a feature article.

Through the Tire Dealer of the Year award program, now in its 18th year, MTD has given more than $125,000 to charities in the winners’ names.

There is no higher honor a tire dealer can receive than joining the prestigious list of winners of Modern Tire Dealer’s Tire Dealer of the Year award. Last year’s winner was Bill Ziegler, president of Ziegler Tire & Oil Supply Co. in Canton, Ohio. Previous winners have included the late Les Schwab, founder of Les Schwab Tire Centers; Paul Zurcher, Zurcher Tire Inc. based in Monroe, Indiana; and Bob and Juanita Purcell of Purcell Tire & Rubber Co., Potosi, Missouri.

In selecting MTD’s Tire Dealer of the Year, judges will consider five elements:
  • Business success
  • Management skill
  • Marketing skills
  • Industry knowledge
  • Community involvement
Any independent tire dealer, except the previous winners, is eligible for the competition. It is not the size of the dealership that matters, it is the dealer’s knowledge, experience and commitment to his community that is most important.

To nominate a dealer, log onto and fill out the online nomination form. For more information, contact MTD Editor Bob Ulrich at or 330/899-2200, ext. 11.

Deadline for entries is June 4, 2010.