Breaking News


Results of the 2008–2009 SEMA Board of Directors election are final, with five individuals joining this esteemed leadership group. The new members in the manufacturer category are:

  • Ron Funfar, Hedman Hedders/Trans-Dapt
  • BJ Leanse, Big Country Truck Accessories
  • Tim Watts, Superlift Suspension Systems

The new members in the distributor/retailer category are:

  • Luanne Brown, eTool Developers
  • Ed Orzetti, Keystone Automotive Operations Inc.

Incumbents Chris Thomson of AIRAID Filter Company (manufacturer category) and Ralph Accinno of Racer's Equipment Warehouse (distributor/retailer category) were re-elected to the Board.

The SEMA Board of Directors for the 2008–2009 year will be as follows:

  • Chairman: Jim Cozzie, Zoom Performance Products
  • Chairman-Elect: Rick Rollins, Rollins Performance Marketing/Consulting
  • Secretary/Treasurer: Wade Kawasaki, Avanche Corp.
  • Ralph Accinno, Racer's Equipment Warehouse
  • Gale Banks, Gale Banks Engineering
  • Luanne Brown, eTool Developers
  • Donnie Eatherly, P&E Distributors Inc. 
  • Larry Erickson, Ford, Strategic Design Studio
  • Doug Evans, Source Interlink Media
  • Ron Funfar, Hedman Hedders/Trans-Dapt
  • Dennis Gage, "My Classic Car," Bradley David Productions
  • Anne K. Johnson
  • BJ Leanse, Big Country Truck Accessories
  • Tony Napoli, American Speed Center
  • Ed Orzetti, Keystone Automotive Operations Inc.
  • Bill Perry, Bill Perry & Associates
  • Richard Sherman, Baer Brake Systems
  • Mike Spagnola, Street Scene Equipment
  • David Stutts, Hot Rod Air Inc.
  • Chris Thomson, AIRAID Filter Company
  • Mark Toebben, DCi, Direct Communications Inc.
  • Tim Watts, Superlift Suspension Systems
  • Van Woodell, Weathers Auto Supply
  • Jeep Worthan, AutoMeter
  • Dave Wrobleski, Jim Wrobleski & Co.

"We all owe a debt of gratitude to the individuals who serve as volunteers on the SEMA Board of Directors," said Chris Kersting, SEMA president and CEO. "These are individuals who demonstrate dedication and leadership, and they give their knowledge and expertise to help make the industry strong and successful."

The SEMA Board of Directors is credited with identifying ways to help companies in the automotive specialty-equipment industry succeed and prosper. The SEMA Board of Directors is a guiding force behind key programs aimed at advancing the industry.

The entire SEMA membership votes and influences the future of the market. SEMA's membership delivered the highest voter turnout ever, with a 71% response rate in the manufacturer category and 62% in the distributor/retailer category.

"The election process gives everyone in the industry the opportunity to affect change," said Kersting. "We're pleased to see so many members taking an active role in the process, and we hope that they continue to turn to the Association as a resource."

For the first time in SEMA history, the Board of Director's ballots were made available to the membership electronically, giving them the ability to cast their votes conveniently and easily from the computer.

The newly elected members will take the oath of office just prior to the SEMA Installation Banquet & Gala Fundraiser, taking place Friday, July 25, 2008, in Irvine, California. Also during the event, outgoing members will be recognized, and the new SEMA Hall of Fame inductees will be honored.

Outgoing Board members are:

  • Matt Agosta, Steele Rubber Products
  • Dick Hill, Centerforce Clutches
  • Patrick Judge, Keystone Automotive Operations
  • Bill Wagner Jr., Winfield Consumer Products/Husky Liners
  • Jon Wyly, Arrow Speed Warehouse

To learn more about the event, visit