Breaking News


Contributions for the Council Cup-Cash for Kids golf tournament recently came from an unusual source: industry non-golfers.

Hot Rod Air Vice President and Hot Rod Industry Alliance Chairman David Stutts explains that while searching for HRIA members near California who were planning to attend the SEMA Installation Banquet & Gala Fundraiser, John Menzler of Comp Performance Group decided to step up with a contribution NOT to play. The idea took root almost as a gag, Stutts says.

“I sent John’s e-mail around to other select committee members,” Stutts says, “and I started getting a few hundred bucks here and there from other companies almost as a side joke.” Stutts adds that the non-golfers have helped raise about $400–500 so far.

Additionally, nearly all the SEMA councils have formed teams to challenge for the Council Cup. The Light-Truck Accessory Alliance (TORA) has even formed an affiliate team, the "SAC" Team, made up of members from Shur-Co., American Technology Components and Cap World.

Council teams include:

Automotive Restoration Market Organization (ARMO)
Ernie Silvers - Egge Machine Co. Inc.
Jim Barber - Classic Automotive Restoration
Dave Mihalko Jr. - Restoration Specialties
Alex Tainsh - SoffSeal Inc.

Hot Rod Industry Alliance (HRIA)
Chico Kodama - Mooneyes USA
Fred Tegarden - Gotta Show Products
Steve Duck - RCD Suspension
Jeff Farina - Original Parts Group

Light-Truck Accessory Alliance (TORA)
Anne Johnson - California Truck Works
Gary Long - California Truck Works
Dave Madison - TAG Leer
Tim Watts - Superlift Suspension

Manufacturers' Rep Council (MRC)
Joel Rosenthal - Gannt - Thomas
Bill Perry - Bill Perry & Associates
Andrew Schroeder - Ben Murphey & Associates
Danny Moniz - Volant Performance

Professional Restylers Organization (PRO)
Larry Riggle - Webasto Product North America
Kerry Howton - Arizona Sun Tops
Bob West - Westin Automotive Products
John LaBare - Westin Automotive Products

SEMA Businesswomen's Network (SBN)
Luanne Brown - eTool Developers LLC
S. Kellie Colf - Eaton Detroit Springs
Tammy Holland - Comp Performance Group
Don Colf - Eaton Detroit Springs

Young Executives Network (YEN)
Jason Bruce - Street Scene Equipment
Laurel Dasher - Uni-Marketing LLC
Lance Packard - Painless Performance
Dave Williams - Rampage Products

The TORA "SAC" Team
Ron DiVincenzo - Cap World
Kelly Kneifl - Truxedo by Shur-Co Automotive
Charlie Holden - Cap World
Todd Yeoman - American Technology Components