SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund Announces Awards

(July 18, 2012)

Contact: Della Domingo



DIAMOND BAR, CA (July 18, 2012) - The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund awarded $145,000 to 84 individuals. The awards include 69 scholarships presented to current students, and 15 loan-forgiveness awards presented to employees of a SEMA-member company.

The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund was created in 1984 to assist individuals pursuing careers in the automotive specialty-equipment industry by providing financial assistance to help with educational expenses. Scholarships are available to students pursuing careers in a variety of fields, including accounting, engineering, race-car driver/crew, administration, information technology, sales/marketing, advertising, manufacturing, technicians, design/graphics, photo/journalism and transportation.

Since the program's establishment in 1984, $1.5 million has gone to 1,000 deserving students. Scholarship awards range from $1,000 to $2,000, with $4,000 going to the top student. A full-tuition scholarship, valued at up to $29,400, is awarded to one student attending Ohio Technical College (OTC).

The SEMA Loan Forgiveness Program aids recent graduates in getting off to a successful start in their automotive aftermarket careers by providing individuals who are employed by SEMA-member companies with $1,000 awards toward outstanding student loans.

The online application for next year's awards will be available December 3, 2012, through April 5, 2013.

For questions or additional information, please contact SEMA Education Administrator Juliet Marshall by phone at 909-978-6655 or via e-mail at

2012 SEMA Scholarship Award Winners

  • Thomas Akins, School of Automotive Machinists
  • Samuel Ames, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Andrew Baldwin, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Kirk Barber, Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis
  • Kyle Barlow, Northwood University
  • Ryan Baxter, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Casey Boyle, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • William Cannon, California State Polytechnic University-Pomona (Joe Hrudka Award)
  • James Carter, University of Alabama at Birmingham (Jim Borre Award)
  • Daniel Chae, Art Center College of Design (Phil Weiand Award)
  • Christopher Clark, Farmingdale State College
  • Alexandar Coralic, Cardinal Stritch University
  • John Crespo, San Bernardino Valley College (K&N Engineering Award)
  • Justin Crider, Pennsylvania College of Technology (Joseph B. Amato, Sr. Award)
  • Joshua Dahl, Brigham Young University (Young Executives Network Award)
  • Cayle Christian Damrow, University of Wisconsin-Stout (Wheel & Tire Council Award)
  • Nataki DeForrest, Wayne State University
  • Ian Dunlap, Metropolitan State College of Denver
  • Chad Ediger, McPherson College
  • Ryan Eggebrecht, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
  • Jose Garcia, Colorado State University-Pueblo
  • Michael Godfrey, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Joshua Greenplate, Pennsylvania College of Technology
  • Bret Guzik, Indiana University-Purdue University-Indianapolis (Motorsports Parts Manufacturers Council Award)
  • Bonnie Guzman, Universal Technical Institute of Texas
  • Kalila Haddad, McPherson College
  • Mandar Hazare, Clemson University (Wally Parks Award)
  • Robert Hemingway, California State University-Northridge
  • Nicholas Hoffmann, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Howard Hsia, University of Southern California
  • Nina Hunter, Weber State University
  • Catalina Hurtado, University of Akron
  • Jeffrey Jagusch, Northwood University (Michael A. Kunzman Award)
  • Nicole Kelsey, University of Arizona (Manufacturers Rep Council Award)
  • Jeffery Kesterson, Clackamas Community College (Thurston Warn Award)
  • Andrew Komurka, Michigan Technological University
  • Donovan Krehbiel, Kansas State University (Truck and Off-Road Alliance Award)
  • Kevin Leparski, Southern Illinois University Carbondale (Street Performance Council Award)
  • Jasmine MacLaughlin, University of Wisconsin-Madison (L.L. Borrick Award)
  • Christopher Marquis, Ohio Technical College (OTC Award)
  • DeAnne Martinez, Weber State University
  • Kenneth Marvel, Pennsylvania College of Technology (Dan Borre Award)
  • Andrew Mattord, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Brent Maynard, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Angelo McCartney, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Shayne McConomy, Clemson University (Melvin Burton Award)
  • Alex Miller, Georgia Institute of Technology (Bernie Karp Award)
  • Sara Mohon, Clemson University (Top Student Award)
  • Ryan O'Dette, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Kyle Olason, North Dakota State University
  • Jennifer Olfert, California State University-San Bernardino
  • Michael Palmer, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Brandon Peeler, Central Michigan University (Steve Woomer Award)
  • Michelle Perez, Skyline College (ARMO - Jeff Moses Award)
  • Derek Riddle, Ohio State University
  • Lissette Rios, University of Scranton
  • Michael Robins, Northwood University
  • Rodney Rose, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Angel Scharklet, Mid-Continent University (Yee Award)
  • Dave Schenker, Boise State University
  • Kylee Scott, McPherson College
  • Michael Scruggs, Clemson University
  • Christina Sepulveda, Nashville Auto Diesel College
  • Andrew Smallman, Kettering University
  • Jordan Sneathen, University of Missouri-Columbia
  • Steven Thomalla, Saint Cloud State University (Lund Award)
  • Shelley Thurk, California State University-Northridge (SEMA Businesswomen's Network Award)
  • Steven Troy, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Nedim Vrtagic, Ohio State University
  • Brandon Wight, McPherson College, Eastwood Company Award

2012 SEMA Loan Forgiveness Recipients

  • Jay Bargas, Denso Sales California
  • Kimberly Biniak, Prestolite Performance
  • Brian Botts, Warehouse West (PWA Award)
  • Laura Conrad, Kahn Media
  • Laurel Dasher, Powerteq (Superchips/Edge) Top Female Award
  • Debra Dixon-Coen, Nissan North America (Trudy Thompson Award)
  • Kyla Dockery, Holley Performance Products
  • Marco Gutierrez, Kahn Media
  • Michael Healy, Keystone Automotive Operations, Inc.
  • Jeremy Hepokoski, Roadwire (Professional Restylers Organization Award)
  • Lance Hunter, Bully Dog Technologies
  • Alberto Izarraraz, Falken Tire
  • Aron Martin, Johnny's Auto Trim & Rod Shop (Hot Rod Industry Alliance Award)
  • Robert Martin, Lane Automotive/Motor State Distributing
  • Nikki Nichols, GPI/ Carquest

About SEMA
SEMA, the Specialty Equipment Market Association founded in 1963, represents the $29.99 billion specialty automotive industry of 6,537 member-companies. It is the authoritative source for research, data, trends and market growth information for the specialty auto parts industry. The industry provides appearance, performance, comfort, convenience and technology products for passenger and recreational vehicles. For more information, contact SEMA at 1575 S. Valley Vista Dr., Diamond Bar, CA 91765, tel: 909/396-0289, or visit or