SEMA Memorial Scholarship Award Winners Announced

August 9, 2013

Contact: Della Domingo



DIAMOND BAR, Calif. (August 9, 2013) - The SEMA Memorial Scholarship Fund has awarded $137,000     to 52 individuals. The awards include 39 SEMA scholarships which are presented to current students, and 13 loan-forgiveness awards presented to employees of SEMA-member companies. In addition, one student was awarded a full-tuition scholarship for the 2013-2014 academic year to Ohio Technical College.

Since the program's establishment in 1984, more than $1.6 million has gone to over 1,000 deserving students.

The SEMA Loan Forgiveness Program provides recent graduates a boost to their careers in the automotive industry by assisting students of SEMA member companies with awards of $1,000 toward their student loan balances. 

The online application for next year's awards will be accepted November 4, 2013, through March 28, 2014.

For questions or additional information, please contact SEMA Education Administrator Juliet Marshall by phone at 909/978-6655 or email at

2013 SEMA Memorial Scholarship Award Winners

  • Tyler Arnold, University of Northwestern Ohio 
  • Caleb Barr, Oakland University (Professional Restylers Organization Award)
  • Nathan Blank, Milwaukee School of Engineering              
  • Jason Bradshaw, School of Automotive Machinists          
  • Brenden Bungert, University of Minnesota-Duluth (Louis L. Borick Award)
  • James Carter, University of Alabama at Birmingham (Nat Danas Award)
  • Justin Crider, Pennsylvania College of Technology (Joseph B. Amato Award)
  • Benjamin Curtis, Clemson University (Top Student & Wheel & Tire Council Award)
  • David Exelbert, Pennsylvania College of Technology (Steve Woomer Award)
  • Chester Fisher, University of Northwestern Ohio            
  • Justin Furman, Washtenaw Community College               
  • Matthew Fusco, Northwood University (Top Student Award)
  • Emily Gade, University of Northwestern Ohio (Harlan Felder Award)
  • Aubrey Hahn, Ohio Technical College (OTC Award)
  • Mandar Hazare, Clemson University      
  • Benjamin Hicks, Ferris State University (Dan Borre Award)
  • Jeremy Johnson, Columbus State Community College (Top Student Award)
  • Bradley Kemp, University of Northwestern Ohio             
  • Jeffery Kesterson, Oregon Institute of Technology (Top Student & Thurston Warn Award)
  • Carl Klamn, Centralia College (Jim Borre Award)
  • Andrew Komurka, Michigan Technological University (Emerging Trends & Technology Network Award)
  • Alicia Laeder, Northwood University     
  • Kevin Leparski, Southern Illinois University Carbondale (Louis L. Borick Award)
  • Ryan Levesque, Pennsylvania College of Technology      
  • Scott McDaniel, Wyotech-Long Beach (ARMO-Jeff Moses Award)
  • Joseph Merrick, University of Cincinnati-Main Campus 
  • Tyler Nelson, Brigham Young University-Idaho
  • Kyle Olason, North Dakota State University-Main Campus (Wally Parks Award)
  • Natalie Oliveto, Northwood University (Leo Kagan Award)
  • Michelle Perez, Skyline College (K&N Engineering Award)
  • Reginald Ponder II, School of Automotive Machinists (Motorsports Parts Manufacturers Council Award)
  • Andrew Prince, University of Northwestern Ohio
  • Raquel Rangel, Skyline College (SEMA Businesswomen's Network Award)
  • Garrett Rider, Metropolitan Community College-Maple Woods
  • Michael Robins, Northwood University (Michael A. Kunzman Award)
  • Robert Swasey, Brigham Young University          
  • Michael Sydow, Ferris State University 
  • Jacob Wahlstrom, Western Michigan University (Performance Warehouse Association Award)
  • Nicholas Wojcik, University of Northwestern Ohio (Joe Hrudka Award)
  • Harrison Yen, Art Center College of Design (Phil Weiand Award)

2013 SEMA Memorial Loan Forgiveness Award Winners

  • Eric Burnett, Holley Performance Products         
  • Devin Butterbrodt, Classic Instruments (Hot Rod Industry Alliance Award)
  • Bill Carter, Revtek Industries LLC             
  • Laura Conrad, Kahn Media (Trudy Thompson Award)
  • Nicholas Hoffmann, University of Northwestern Ohio  
  • Peggy Kachovec, Summit Racing Equipment (Manufacturer Representative's Network Award)
  • Mitchell Kaup, BluePrint Engines, Inc.   
  • Lee McGuire, Skyjacker Suspensions (Truck and Off-Road Alliance Award)
  • Raul Mendoza, Alamo Auto Supply (Melvin Burton Award)
  • Kelly Muldoon, Venchurs Vehicle Systems         
  • Kenna Primm, Roush Yates (Young Executive's Network Award)
  • Kirstin Stone, Turbosmart USA 
  • Jonathan Vennard, Bowler Performance Transmissions & Phantom Products     

About SEMA
SEMA, the Specialty Equipment Market Association founded in 1963, represents the $31.32 billion specialty automotive industry of 6,537 member-companies. It is the authoritative source for research, data, trends and market growth information for the specialty auto parts industry. The industry provides appearance, performance, comfort, convenience and technology products for passenger and recreational vehicles. For more information, contact SEMA at 1575 S. Valley Vista Dr., Diamond Bar, CA 91765, tel: 909/396-0289, or visit or

#  #  #